1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

East Indian plants for charity

Discussion in 'Personal Services in Bay Area' started by curryleafman, Aug 10, 2012.

1. curryleafman

curryleafman New IL'ite

I am planning on growing various East Indian plants this winter to sell next year. My plan is to donate 100% of the money to a [TBD] charity in India.

I have grown curry leaf/tulsi plants this past year and people were very happy with the quality of them so I am going to try to expand the types/number for the coming year. If I am not satisfied with the quality of the plants then I will not offer them, and of course you can decide if you think they are worth it or not. I am not a professional or anything like that-I am doing this because I enjoy growing unusual plants and I enjoy the appreciation I get from people when I bring them a memory from their home country. Also my wife is an east indian national.

Proposed plants and prices:
    Curry leaf - 5
    Drumstick - 3 Note: This is hard to grow reliably and it is kind of tender.
    Tulsi (Holy Basil) - 2 Note: If you have a special pot(not too huge) you want it grown in I will grow it directly in the pot and give you the pot back in ~6 weeks for $3
    Parijat(nyctanthes arbor-tristis) - 10 Note: I have just started this one, but it needs to be grown in a pot. Price will depend on how well I can grown it.
    Jasminum Tortuosum -8 Note: This is used in Pudja and it grows well outside.
    Crossandra infundibuliformis Firecracker Plant $2

If you would like to be notified when the plants are available you can drop me a mail and I will let you know. Also, if there is any plant you are interested in let me know and I will see if I can add it if there is enough interest. If there is enough interest I could grow also some indian vegetable plants at reasonable prices(maybe .50 per peat pot). I have to watch how much I commit to because I only have so much space in my garage:)