Old 6th June 2008, 04:07 PM
Greeter

City: Al Khobar
State: Eastern Province
Default I am back ......I met our Kitchen queens.

I m now back in IL after a rather long break.I went to India for 2 months ...but it got a bit extended....
Returned to Saudi a month back...but we have now relocated to another city Alkhobar(yes, the place were Krishnamma resides), from Riyadh.It took a little long time for us to settle down....or rather still settling...

I got the golden opportunity of meeting our dear Chithra mami(Chitvish) on March 18th..a day before her B'day....in Chennai.
I spoke to her few days before visiting her....Just as her recipe and step by step instructions are so clear, so was her explanation of her address and route to her home...My DH accompanied me to her place.There was no confusion as we followed all the landmarks that she said.We landed right at her doorstep.

I didn't feel that we were meeting for the first time. I think that is the beauty with the ILites. And she radiates so much energy...that defies her age...(No mami, I don't mean to say that u r old...I know ur age,thanx to Cheeniya sir for that)
Our chatting ranged from IL and its members to spiritual discussions.
My DH and myself were so happy after meeting her.We would love to meet her again and again.
Yes, we got to taste her yummies...pin-wheel biscuits and ginger biscuits and mango badam milk. Need I say how it was..

I had plans of meeting Meena(meenaneelakantan), shanthi, cheeniya sir and other ILites in Chennai, but missed it due to hectic schedules for me there..Sorry....Will certainly make it next time.Spoke to them over the phone....Shanthi has such a sweet voice.
Meena, in particular, often spoke to me over the phone to know my schedule...I was disappointed that we could not see each other.

And after I moved here to Alkhobar, it was my turn to enter Krishnamma's kitchen...

I kept in touch with her thru PMs. I should mention that she and her DH were so much helpful to us. As soon as we arrived here, they visited us in the lodge where we initially stayed.It was so sweet of them.
I must say, u always feel at home when u r with them.they are very simple and nice. Again I never felt that we were meeting for the first time. They offered to help us in looking for an accomdation and we all went together hunting for it.
Now we have moved to an apartment, and keep in touch with each other .
We went to their home, and yes, there too tasted her mouth watering pongal and coconut chutney.I m happy I m near her...u know for obvious reasons...can get to have a lot of delicacies from her.
In Riyadh, I always chatted with Jayasree, whom I met thru IL, but our contact was only thru phone. Am thankful to her also.
There is our sweet, cute Aruna, who always kept me updated thru offline messages, PMs, sms and small phone calls.I feel so loved.
I would love to say a big Thank you to Malathy and Jey for bringing so many sweet people together. It is because of IL that I m richer with so many friends.

Bye...

Last edited by Saraswathipv; 6th June 2008 at 11:10 PM.

Old 6th June 2008, 04:13 PM

City: Glen Allen
State: Virginia
Smile Re: I am back ......I met our Kitchen queens.

Hi Saraswathi,

Looks like you've been very fortunate that you've met the Kitchen Queens of IL, Chithra aunty and Krishnamma !! WOWOOW !! That's really great !

Sure, you must have felt absolutely at home when you visited them (or when they visit you). From their sweet and helpful replies..we can absolutely imagine how marvelous it must have been to meet them in person.

By the way, did you take pictures with them? If yes, do post them in the thread.."Faces Behind the Names" thread.

Good luck in settling down in your new apartment and have a wonderful time tasting the delicacies prepared by Krishamma !

Krithika
Old 6th June 2008, 04:57 PM
Forum Moderator

City: Charleston
State: West Virginia
Default Re: I am back ......I met our Kitchen queens.

saraswathi,
Welcome back to IL after your vacation...with the news of meeting our IL Kitchen queens....
as Krithika pointed out, if any pictures taken during that time, kindly post it...so that we can see you and the Kitchen queens...

10 kurals a week..
Old 6th June 2008, 10:52 PM
Greeter

Thanx Krithika for the fb,

U R right...I m fortunate to meet the beloved kitchen queens.
As u said , it was bcos of their sweet replies and easy interactions that u want to meet them.
Mami has posted a photo of ours in the "faces behind the names" thread that day itself.I was too happy to sit in that now famous oonjal.
Haven't taken a pic with krishnamma yet. It will come soon. There will be many more meetings with her.

bye.

Originally Posted by Jithiks View Post
Hi Saraswathi,

Looks like you've been very fortunate that you've met the Kitchen Queens of IL, Chithra aunty and Krishnamma !! WOWOOW !! That's really great !

Sure, you must have felt absolutely at home when you visited them (or when they visit you). From their sweet and helpful replies..we can absolutely imagine how marvelous it must have been to meet them in person.

By the way, did you take pictures with them? If yes, do post them in the thread.."Faces Behind the Names" thread.

Good luck in settling down in your new apartment and have a wonderful time tasting the delicacies prepared by Krishamma !

Krithika
Old 6th June 2008, 10:54 PM
Greeter

Thanx Srini for the warm welcome....
U can see chithra mami's and my snap in the thread mentioned. It was posted on 18th March.

Originally Posted by Sriniketan View Post
saraswathi,
Welcome back to IL after your vacation...with the news of meeting our IL Kitchen queens....
as Krithika pointed out, if any pictures taken during that time, kindly post it...so that we can see you and the Kitchen queens...

Old 7th June 2008, 12:29 AM

City: singapore
State: singapore

Hi Saraswathi
u seem to b more fortunate enough to meet our "kitchen queens".u truly must hav enjoyed each n every moment with them.
just interacting with them in this forum makes us feel so close to them as if v know them frm a long time,n meeting them personally is like icing on the cake.
u r really lucky dear friend.

raji
Old 7th June 2008, 03:55 AM
Greeter

Hi raji,

thanx for stepping in.....
its really a pleasure interacting with such good people.
yes, I m lucky...hope u too get the chance soon.

Originally Posted by babyraji View Post
Hi Saraswathi
u seem to b more fortunate enough to meet our "kitchen queens".u truly must hav enjoyed each n every moment with them.
just interacting with them in this forum makes us feel so close to them as if v know them frm a long time,n meeting them personally is like icing on the cake.
u r really lucky dear friend.

raji
Old 7th June 2008, 04:47 AM

City: Navi Mumbai
State: Maharashtra

Hi Saras,

You are certainly blessed with good friends as you also tend to one in return.

Meeting Chitvish is always a pleasure, though I have yet to shine in glory of meeting her.

Every member who meets her end up saying she is warm and friendly and they never feel they are meeting her for the first time. Chits spins her magic wand of love and warmth in which everyone gets wrapped cozily with her yummy dishes which she keeps dishing out for her friends zealously.

Good to know that you have relocated and settled at your new place.

Would like to c u more in IL.
Old 7th June 2008, 04:53 AM
Greeter

Mals.....

I m certainly blessed.....so are all in IL.

wish to meet you too one day.

thanx and bye

Originally Posted by malspie View Post
Hi Saras,

You are certainly blessed with good friends as you also tend to one in return.

Meeting Chitvish is always a pleasure, though I have yet to shine in glory of meeting her.

Every member who meets her end up saying she is warm and friendly and they never feel they are meeting her for the first time. Chits spins her magic wand of love and warmth in which everyone gets wrapped cozily with her yummy dishes which she keeps dishing out for her friends zealously.

Good to know that you have relocated and settled at your new place.

Would like to c u more in IL.

Last edited by Saraswathipv; 7th June 2008 at 04:53 AM.
Old 7th June 2008, 05:12 AM
IL Hall Of Fame
Forum Moderator

State: tamilnadu

Saras,

Me and meena were waiting for your call for the meeting. it did not happen. But just saw your picture posted in faces behind names. So now could place a face to your handle.

Don't embarass me by saying that i have a sweet voice and all...

Nice to know you are settling. And going to be a greater cook after meeting the two kitchen queens...

Lullabies; Being Tough; Acharya Devo Bhava