Cost of Living in Singapore...

Discussion in 'New to Singapore' started by siddharth, Nov 6, 2008.

1. siddharth

siddharth New IL'ite

Cost of living in Singapore as i see it....i wrote this mail because there has been a lot of questions in this forum and outside on possible cost of living....

Cost of Living in <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:smarttags" /><st1:country-region w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">Singapore</st1:place></st1:country-region> as of October 2008!

Hi Friend,

Ok La! Though this has been a widely discussed topic here's another perspective on the same.

ASSUMPTION:

Expenses are given based on the assumption that “you are neither stingy nor lavish but want to maintain a decent lifestyle”!

HOUSING – Top in expense chart:

If you are single you can manage from 400 Singapore Dollars (shared or single room) to any cost upward depending on your budget.

If you are with a family rentals are at least 1500 Sing dollars if you are lucky and search very well but the general rental for a family of 3 or 4(parents with 1 or 2 kids) is 1700 in a decent HDB 2 room unit and it can be upwards to 2000 dollars if your HDB is very near MRT or a mall!

You can move up the ladder if you need more comfort and prefer a Condo (2500+) and so on.

BUT, OVERALL ALL LIVING UNITS IN <st1:country-region w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">SINGAPORE</st1:place></st1:country-region> ARE WELL PLANNED AND BUILT AND THERE IS REASONABLE COMFORT.

Most Units are also ready to move in with a TV, Fridge, Washing Machine, Basic Furniture and AC etc.

TRAVEL:

Travel anywhere in <st1:country-region w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">Singapore</st1:place></st1:country-region> is cheap if you use public transport (Bus or MRT).For complete details on using Bus and MRT refer to:

http://www.smrt.com.sg/main/index.asp

http://www.sbstransit.com.sg/

I would say a maximum of 60-70 dollar/month/person for to and fro work travel. Add a few taxi travels here and there and you can round off at 100 dollars per month for travel per person.

GROCERIES:

On an average monthly grocery expenses if you cook twice per day would be 400 -500 dollars. This includes cost of milk, vegetables, oil, rice, noodle, wheat etc.

UTILITY BILLS:

Utility bill covering Electricity, Gas and water would be anywhere between 150 – 250 dollars per month for a family of four.

MOBILE BILLS:

Cost of a prepaid mobile would be 25 -30 dollars per month with reasonable local and international talk time (visit M1, Star hub or SingTel website for more details) and there are also a host of post paid options.

EATING OUT:

Add 300 dollars for it per month (assume you eat out as a family 8 times /month)…this figure holds well if you prefer food courts or hawker’s centers but it ca be very high if you dine at restaurants!

OTHERS:

Add 50 dollars for internet and another 150 dollars for miscellaneous Doctor visit, surprise expenses etc.

So others are 200 dollars!

Let us make a monthly consolidation now:

<TABLE class=MsoNormalTable style="MARGIN: auto auto auto 4.65pt; WIDTH: 296pt; BORDER-COLLAPSE: collapse; mso-padding-alt: 0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=395 border=0><TR style="HEIGHT: 27.75pt; mso-yfti-irow: 0; mso-yfti-firstrow: yes"><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; BACKGROUND: yellow; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: windowtext 1pt solid; WIDTH: 86pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 27.75pt; mso-border-top-alt: 1.0pt; mso-border-left-alt: 1.0pt; mso-border-bottom-alt: .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: .5pt; mso-border-color-alt: windowtext; mso-border-style-alt: solid" vAlign=bottom width=115>Family of 4:Spending Head
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; BACKGROUND: yellow; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 95pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 27.75pt; mso-border-top-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom width=127>Conservative Life Style Expense
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; BACKGROUND: yellow; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 115pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 27.75pt; mso-border-top-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt" vAlign=bottom width=153>Generous Lifestyle Expense
    <TR style="HEIGHT: 12.75pt; mso-yfti-irow: 1"><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: windowtext 1pt solid; WIDTH: 86pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-left-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=115>HOUSING
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 95pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=127>1700
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 115pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=153>2200
    <TR style="HEIGHT: 12.75pt; mso-yfti-irow: 2"><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: windowtext 1pt solid; WIDTH: 86pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-left-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=115>TRAVEL
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 95pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=127>60
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 115pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=153>100
    <TR style="HEIGHT: 12.75pt; mso-yfti-irow: 3"><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: windowtext 1pt solid; WIDTH: 86pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-left-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=115>GROCERIES
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 95pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=127>400
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 115pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=153>600
    <TR style="HEIGHT: 12.75pt; mso-yfti-irow: 4"><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: windowtext 1pt solid; WIDTH: 86pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-left-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=115>UTILITY BILL
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 95pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=127>180
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 115pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=153>250
    <TR style="HEIGHT: 12.75pt; mso-yfti-irow: 5"><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: windowtext 1pt solid; WIDTH: 86pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-left-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=115>EATING OUT
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 95pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=127>300
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 115pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=153>400
    <TR style="HEIGHT: 12.75pt; mso-yfti-irow: 6"><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: windowtext 1pt solid; WIDTH: 86pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-left-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=115>HANDPHONE
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 95pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=127>50
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 115pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=153>100
    <TR style="HEIGHT: 12.75pt; mso-yfti-irow: 7"><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: windowtext 1pt solid; WIDTH: 86pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-left-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=115>OTHERS
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 95pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=127>200
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 115pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=153>300
    <TR style="HEIGHT: 13.5pt; mso-yfti-irow: 8; mso-yfti-lastrow: yes"><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: windowtext 1pt solid; WIDTH: 86pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 13.5pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-left-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=115> TOTAL
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 95pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 13.5pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-bottom-alt: solid windowtext 1.0pt; mso-border-right-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=127>2890
    <TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0cm; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 115pt; PADDING-TOP: 0cm; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; HEIGHT: 13.5pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent" vAlign=bottom noWrap width=153>3950

Regardless of the country of your origin you should be able to more or less fit in to the above two categories.

It should be borne in mind that there are people earning a 1200 dollar monthly salary and surviving and saving in <st1:country-region w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">Singapore</st1:place></st1:country-region> and also people earning 10000 per month and still finding life tough!

It all depends on what you want and what your priorities are in life!

But one thing is for sure – in Singapore quality is not compromised for cost…for example food at a Hawker Centre is as good and clean as it is in a restaurant except for the ambience…comforts of SMRT /SBS are very good and you should generally find life easy when it comes to travel and eating!

Good Luck to your living in <st1:place w:st="on"><st1:country-region w:st="on">Singapore</st1:country-region></st1:place>!

DISCLAIMER: The above estimates are based on individual experience and observation. If you are a student expenses are different and if you are single it is different…Also there are several other factors which come in to plan to find cost of living which are unique to you…please do factor in those things suitably when you estimate.

Power bill has increased and so the utility column has to go up by 50 dollars if required.

Finally, where there is a will there is a way....lots of families live in Singapore for 1200 -1500 dollars and some find it difficult with even a 6000 dollar expense....so, it all depends on what you want as said before.

Good Luck and welcome to singapore....

Regds,
    Sidd

2. vkrithika1

vkrithika1 Gold IL'ite

dear siddharth,

very useful information.I will be shortly moving to sing from bglr.

How far is National public school(nps) from simey area.
    and how far is Giis from simey area.

please guide me.

3. uthra

uthra Junior IL'ite

hi kamala,
    i think the best way to understand the distance would be to search for maps of singapore on the internet and they may give you results .

4. sobharam

sobharam New IL'ite

Hi Sidharth...,

Thanks for such a detailed post..

5. AbhiSing

AbhiSing Gold IL'ite

Hi Sidd

That was interesting.
    I would like to add some more, if you don't mind.
    1. An extra S$ 50-100 (to include peak hour and booking surcharges for a cab).
    2. S$ 50 more if your workplace is at the other end of Singapore from your home.
    3. S$ 100 more if your company does not cover your medical expense for you and your family, since a visit to a GP would cost anywhere between S$20-50 for a simple consultation(fever/headache/flu).
    4. S$ 50 more for cable TV (basic tier with sun/zee/vijay etc)

6. bluemoon

bluemoon New IL'ite

Cost of living in Singapore?

Hi all Singaporeans,

I'm a student here in Chennai. I wish to attend a workshop cum internship for 2 months period in singapore.

My participation depends on my budget and how far my family can afford or going to allow me.

I really need ur help in dis matter. As a citizen of S'pore, can u ppl pls gimme a rough idea about the cost of living there.

My stay is going to be for min 2 months. My stay is for purely career reasons, so i want to make it as cheap as possible. Is there any provision of PG wid the Indians? How much wil it cost if i hav 2 stay outside along wid food..

Any i/p, ideas, suggestions in this regard wud b really helpful as i've not been outside south india. So i'm really concerned abt my comfort level. Pls do reply..

BM

7. imranwhozsane

imranwhozsane New IL'ite

Hi !

How have things changed since your last post... With all the recession etc.

I just wanna know - Will I be able to manage with a salary of around 5000 SGD$

To be honest - I am a non veggie. Very restless so I am not the types to sit at home and watch whats on TV - I am an extrovert - going out - meeting people - making friends - building my social circle etc.

I am not too high on the extravagance front - no plans of buying a car, livign in a souped up apartment etc.
    Just a decent lifestyle - but yes - I love my outings...

Would you be able to guide me on the same... ?

8. siddharth

siddharth New IL'ite

Things have eased out a little bit since i made the post a while back...

For example rentals have come down by 5-10% recently...

5000 SGD is good and u can manage easily with some savings also...do remember that more than half if singaporeans get around thr 3500 SGD salary margin per month.

Good Luck.

Regds,
    Sidd

9. imranwhozsane

imranwhozsane New IL'ite

Yeah I also thought 3500/- should be enough to maintain a decent lifestyle..
    Correct me if am wrong ... From what I understand the Taxation for a Non resident is 15% flat ...
    And for a resident is much cheaper...
    So when you say Singaporeans manage with 3500 SGD $ their tax burdens are less...
    Does that apply for Non residents like me ?!

10. joshila

joshila Bronze IL'ite

thanks siddarth ....good info ....I think this wld help one to get a rough idea...
    So I wld like to know what wld be school fees avg for a child ? I think I need to add that up also :D