Tiffins

Discussion in 'Recipe Central' started by Surya, Dec 30, 2005.

1. shantisubra

shantisubra Gold IL'ite

Re: Corn Dosa

Hi Surya

Where do I get corn kennels i.e. the soft type? If we buy raw corns from vegetable shop and remove the seeds manually and try. Will that to be soaked in water or steamed? How it will grind as they are quite hard!!!!!!!!!!

Pls. guide me. I love those hot steam corns sold by Philipino girls in shopping malls available in Dubai.

Thanks and for your time and awaiting your advice.

Warm Regards
    Shanti
    27-4-08

2. gsaikripa

gsaikripa Gold IL'ite

Sprouted Moong Dhal Pan Cake

Ingredents:
    SPROUTED Moong dhal-1 cup
    ginger-1 pieces
    green chillies-2
    jeera-1/2 tsp
    coriander leaves-one handful
    soaked white channa or soya- 2 tbsp
    salt-as required
    oil -2 tsp
    garnish-carrot grated-few &coriander chutney
    Method
    In a Mixie,grind all ingredents very nice & pour like idli batter

Heat a tava.

Smear with oil & water on the tava & spread a thick dosa like oothappam

Pour the oil-around it.

When the bottom starts turning golden,turn it for few minutes.

serve with carrot & corainder chutney .

Last edited: Apr 29, 2008
  3. Jithiks

Jithiks Gold IL'ite

Hi Saikripa,

That seems to be a very intereseting recipe..especially with the sprouted moong dhal!

What is akka jeera?? Can I use regular jeera instead of that?

By the way, do we have to soak the jeera before grinding it with the other ingredients?

Krithika

4. gsaikripa

gsaikripa Gold IL'ite

hai Krithika,
    thanx for ur reply.
    u Can also use regular jeera .

5. Jithiks

Jithiks Gold IL'ite

Add "Pizzazz" to your life

Hi IL'ites,

How about adding "Pizzazz" to your life? Wondering how..

Just make Pizza..that's all there is to it !

Here is how..

Veggie Pizza - (With Bell pepper & Olives)

Ingredients:

Pizza dough- 1 packet - (we get these in the freezer section of many stores )
    Pizza Sauce - 2 tblsp
    Olive oil - 1 tsp
    Canned black Olives - pitted- 1 can
    Bell pepper- One- thinly sliced
    Salt & red pepper - according to taste
    Shredded Pizza Cheese - 2 handfuls
    Dhaniya powder (optional)- this a mixture of dhaniya, red chillies & channa dhal dry roasted & coarsely powdered

Preparation method:

1. Thaw the pizza dough for 40 mts to bring it to room temperature.

2. Meanwhile, cut the olives and slice the bell peppers into thin long strips.( If you buy canned olives, drain & rinse them completely before chopping them.) Since the canned olives are already salted, just add salt only to the bell peppers.

3.Microwave the bell peppers for 1 minute and keep it aside.

4. After the dough is brought to room temperature, unwrap it from the plastic wrap.

5. Sprinkle a lot of ‘all-purpose’ flour on the counter top, before you place the dough so that it does not stick.

6. Knead the dough for a few seconds before starting to roll it.

7. Apply a lot of flour to the roller and start rolling the dough into a circular shape. It may be a little tough initially, but as we keep pressing & rolling, it softens and becomes pliable. It can be a 10 inch or a 12 inch pizza depending on how big we are able to spread it out.

8. Pre-heat the oven to 425*F. Place this rolled pizza dough gently on the pizza pan.

9. Gently apply olive oil on the dough, then spread the pizza sauce using a spoon in a circular motion, from the corners to the center.

10. Now, cover the whole pizza with olives & bell pepper evenly. Sprinkle some coarse red chilly powder .

( I sprinkle some dhaniya powder too on top of this to make it more spicy- of course this is totally optional)
    11. Spread the pizza cheese generously so that it covers the entire pizza. ( you can also use just plain mozzarella cheese

12. Add a pinch or 2 of basil leaves on top for a nice flavor.

13. Place the pizza pan (with the pizza) inside the oven for 10-12mts, depending on the capacity of your oven.
    It is better to keep a close eye on Pizza while it is baked.

14. After pizza is baked, remove it from the oven and let it rest for about 2mts. With a pizza slicer, cut it into even number of slices.

Note: If we want a more crispier pizza, then place the rolled out dough on the pizza pan (after applying olive oil ,)separately inside the oven for about 5-6 mts, take it out, then add the sauce, toppings and cheese, pop it back into the oven for 6 more mts. This way, we get a crunchier pizza.

I’ve done this recipe with so many variations of veggies. In the above method, I’ve given olives & bell pepper.

You can also use red & yellow bell pepper along with these. This adds a beautiful splash of color and gives a rich taste to the pizza.

The above recipe is a big hit every time I make at home for my children.

Krithika

6. Jithiks

Jithiks Gold IL'ite

Broccoli & Mushroom Pizza

Hi IL'ites,

For the Broccoli & Mushroom Pizza, just follow the same method as above.

Cut the broccoli into small florets, MW it on high for 1minute.

We get the chopped Mushrooms in the market, wipe them with a damp cloth thoroughly. (Washing them in water will make it soggy)

Saute the Broccoli & Mushroom in olive heat on medium heat for just 2-3 minutes, then add salt, coarse red pepper.

We can add this topping after we spread the pizza sauce to the pizza .

Follow the same steps as given in the previous pizza recipe.

Mushroom is a favorite for my children once again.

Note: Mushrooms need to be used within a few days after we buy them..this way they retain the color and freshness.

Krithika

Krithika

7. Jithiks

Jithiks Gold IL'ite

Onion,Bell Pepper & Tomato Pizza

Hi IL'ites,

For the Onion, Bell pepper & Tomato pizza,

1. slice all these veggies into thin strips.

2. In a pan, pour 1tblsp of olive oil, add cumin and fennel seeds (this is a slight indianised version) . To this add the onions.

3. Saute the onions, till it becomes transluscent.
    4. Add the tomatoes and let it cook for a minute, then add the bell peppers
    5. To this add salt, dhaniya powder and dry basil leaves.
    6. Let them get a caramelized coating and good flavor.

Now we can use this topping for the pizza and for rest of the recipe, follow the same method as given before.

Krithika

8. SupriyaDinesh

SupriyaDinesh Silver IL'ite

Hi Jithiks,
    Thank you for the pizza recipes..Before starting i need to buy lot of items...surely will try them and give u feedback..

what brands are good for pizza dough and pizza sauce?

9. Jithiks

Jithiks Gold IL'ite

Hi Supriya,

The pizza dough which I buy are the store brands..meaning @ Trader's Joe, it is their brand and @ Walmart..they have their own brand. It is usually 99cents per packet and kept in the frozen section.

As for pizza sauce, again each store carry their own brand , then there is the RAGU brand.

If you have Trader's Joe nearby, then it is better you buy all the ingredients necessary for Pizza here..since the quality is good and the prices are also reasonable. If not, check out in any nearby stores.

For Pizza Cheese, you can get Kraft Brand/store brand. It comes in Regular,2% and low fat too.

Mexican cheese, that is a blend of Four cheeses can also be used for Pizza, Tacos and Burritos too.

Generally for Pizza, many people prefer to use the plain Mozzarella Cheese alone. These are also available in separate packets.

Btw, all the cheeses I have mentioned above are already shredded. So when you go to the stores, ask/look for shredded cheese..this is much easier.

If not, you can buy cheese in big blocks and shred @ home too.

Krithika

Last edited: May 3, 2008
  10. yenetishashi

yenetishashi Senior IL'ite

Re: Aappam:

hey what is aappam ??
    is this dosa variety or idli