| |||||||||||||||||
| |||
| Hi Friends, I would like to start with the incident which has prompted me to start this thread. After I narrate the incident, I would like to know how many of you are in a situation similar to mine and would like to use this thread and this forum to resolve the problem. I have two kids and I love to watch movies with them....kids' movies, english movies , hindi movies. Of course , with most of the english and hindi movies we first check the rating 'U', 'A' or 'U/A'. or 'PG', 'PG13' etc. and allow them to watch only movies 'appropriate' for them. Of lately, I realised (as would have many of you) that we cannot rely on the Censorboard to know which movies our kids can watch. Even a 'U' movie has scenes/language inappropriate for kids.We take them to the movies thinking that it is fine for them and all of a sudden there is some uncomfortable stuff on the screen.I really feel frustrated, angry and cheated at that time. Even one embarassing scene in the movie spoils the whole fun. So I have made it a point to ask for reviews of movies from friends and relatives (not newspapers or net) regarding its 'child-friendliness' . If I have to take my kids for a movie, I purposely delay it for a week or two so that I can ask my friends/relatives or even husband's colleagues if it is alright for kids....is there any scence which is obscene?.....bad language? violence? Only when I get a detailed review regarding its appropriateness for kids, do I plan to go for it. So much for the introduction, now for the main incident... Most of the kids' movies are released during vacations and this time it was 'Bhoothnath'...a.much hyped and awaited movie for the kids. Obviously, I did not bother to check out the detailed reviews as it seemed to be a fun movie. So we took our kids to the movie in the opening week itself and.... did I regret ! The starting sequence itself was very scary and even I got goosebumps ! The rest of the movie was ok but only for the older kids. My younger one ( 6yrs ) was so scared after seeing the movie that for a whole month after that , he refused to sleep in his room though he shares it with his older brother. I realised the gravity of the situation only later, when, one day as I was cleaning up the house, he started to follow me throughout the house, carrying his toys/books with him. As long as I was in a room, he would sit there and play and as soon as I left the room, he would gather his toys and follow me to another room, where he would resume his play. As he followed me from one bedroom to another and to the living room and the kitchen (playing a little in each room), I realised what was wrong. He didn't want to sit/play alone in a room (being scared of Bhootnath ) as he did earlier. He even needed some one to stand outside the toilet while he was inside. It took a lot of effort to convince him and only now has he started to shed his fears. Obviously, I felt very angry about all this....How could they allow such a scene in a kids' movie...why didn't I ask anybody about the movie......why did my husband have to bring tickets for the opening week itself ......questions with no answers ! And friends, this is the reason for this thread. If you feel we should know the child friendliness of a movie before showing it to them inspite of it being 'U' ( I have stopped caring for these ratings now !).....then please share it here. I would like this thread to be a place where everyone can discuss whether a movie is fit for seeing with kids or not......hindi, english, kids', tamil, telugu, kannadda.....any movie. We all watch movies, just watch for those scenes which you think are not appropriate for the kids and let all the parents know. I'm sure it will be a GREAT help to all the worried mothers ( and fathers ). And one more thing, it is not just my thread. I have started it on behalf of all the worried mothers like me.I would like the discussion to continue amongst all the parents without bothering if a reply to the FB was given by the thread starter or not. I would like it to benefit all parents and children.Hope you understand. Any one who sees a movie can report if it is child friendly or not. Whether it has violence, obscene content, bad language etc. inspite of being 'U' or 'U/A'. Or one can enquire about a particular movie. In short, ( Or for all those who don't have the time to read this long post) : This thread is for discussing whether a particular movie is suitable for kids or not (inspite of a 'U' certification ). If you feel a particular movie is not good for kids to watch , please say so here to help a worried mother. If you are worried mother, please enquire about a movie here. Hoping to find lots of help here.. Regards, Sonalika P.S. By the way, my kids want to watch 'Krazzy 4' .....has anyone seen it? how about its 'child friendliness'.....
__________________ Rate a movie...help a mom Last edited by essvee; 20th June 2008 at 06:17 AM. |
| |||
| Hi Vanathi, Thanks. It's nice to know someone with similar thinking. It's really sad that the media in our country is so irresponsible towards kids. The newschannels too show gruesome pictures and the ad people show useless ads on kids' channels. How much can we protect our kids? I think all members of this forum (all those who watch movies), and not only parents of young kids, should contribute here.
__________________ Rate a movie...help a mom |
| |||
| Hi Everyone, Let me start this discussion of movie watchability with 'Krazzy4'..... Movie: Krazzy4 Rating: U/A Kid Friendliness: 3 / 5 Comments: A very very silly movie . Kids might enjoy as they enjoy all silly things. 3-4 inapproptiate scenes including a dance sequence by Rakhi Sawant are the things I would worry about. Those who are watching at home might forward the song. Kids would like ShahRukh's and Hrithik's 'krazzy4' dance number.
| ||||
| Hi Essvee, You have raised a very good question. Not only movies but also the exclusive children's channels also are telecasting some objectionable content. About the news channels, the less said the better. The murder/sensational stories they telecast are gory with too much blood. Hope the censor board sits up and takes notice. |
| ||||
| Sonalika, Very Good Topic indeed. Glad to know that ur son is out his fears now. Even though my lil one is very small for all this but definitely will keep in mind. My 2 cents I hate one thing in most of the cartoon(also in some movies like Shrek, even in Cars), there is a kissing scene & love scene which they really don't want to know or see about at this young age. I hate this Johnny Bravo cartoon which my nephew used to watch, very inappropriate for kids(he used to watch when he was 5-6 yrs). I know this thread is to help/discuss whether a particular movie is suitable for kids or not, sorry for posting something irrelavent but thought of sharing my feelings. ![]() Cheers Dhivya |
| |||
| Dear Orion80, I'm glad that you too think this way.You're right....even news channels and kids' channels are not worth watching anymore. I'd really like them to censor/rate the ads and the movie trailors/ promos too. Nice that you pitched in with your views. Quote:
| |||
| Hi Dhivya, Your views are not irrelevant at all !! This is the very reason and concern for starting this thread in the first place. Please feel free to express and share your feelings. It's always good to know some like minded people. These scenes (even if just one) just spoils the fun of an otherwise entertaining movie. I find it totally unwanted in movies like spiderman, which I otherwise enjoy watching with my kids. And of course, the quality of cartoons has really deteriorated especially the dubbed ones. The translation is so odd and at times , disgusting. It's impossible to protect our kids from all this....the exposure is so vast, but may be we can be a little careful from our side. Quote:
__________________ Rate a movie...help a mom Last edited by essvee; 31st July 2008 at 02:36 AM. |
| ||||
| Very nice thread here.. In case of movies ,atleast we get time to decide whether to take kids or not.But with the idiot box at home,kids have an easy access to such inappropriate stuff. I am really disgusted with the Mr.Bean series.Yes,hard to believe.... an episode features the guy literally nude. ![]() Of course Pogo has some really good programmes like Noddy,Oswald, etc .. but when are they telecast,after kids leave for school(a good relaxation for the maids at home )And switch over to Disney,they host more cerials than any of the Sun channels.What is happening yaar??Children need some entertainment and not this kind of adult stuff.Rather they could play a volume of Tom &Jerry... ![]() And here goes the topper of this list "JETIX"Dunno what kids gotto learn from this? PS:If anybody associated with the above channels is here,kindly swap the timings atleast ![]() |
| |||
| Dear Sonalika Your views are just like mine. But these days, even the cartoon films are with violence, scary and more than that using abusive language. One day I was surfing TV with my daughter by my side. Filmy songs were nothing but cabaret, films are full of murder, blood and scary. Dont ask about serials. Finally when I came to F TV, the models were wearing a very attractive decent dress and just walking. Atlast we settled in watching F TV. ![]() ![]() .this is the real situation. Uma |
![]() ![]() |
| Display Modes | |
| |