1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Career Vs Family

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by SGBV, Oct 23, 2014.

1. SGBV

SGBV IL Hall of Fame

Off late, I find there is no meaning in my career growth. I am losing interest both in my career and the money that I earn because I feel I am able to win both of them at the cost of losing my own family and happiness.

I read a status in the FB sometimes back, since then I am confusing...

It stays " I was dying to finish school, then I was dying to get a degree, then I was dying to get a job, I was dying to earn and I was dying to live a decent life... Now that I was actually dying, and lately realized that I forgot to live my life.

See, I have been a diligent student, staff and a responsible woman all throughout my life. Responsibilities have never been a burden to me, as I usually enjoy taking them. My handwork and responsibilities were highly paid off so far. However, I badly miss my family, the happiness, the kids and their initial stages of life.

Now that, I am being the primary bread-winner in my family. Not that my husband stays at home. He works, we have a business that he takes care of. But my salary is much higher and reliable source of our income.
    I have a couple of EMIs that eats almost 1/2 of my salary.
    Then I have 2 maids and a guard. It is very expensive here to keep maids and guards. They eat almost 1/4 of my salary and then the associated transport and boarding fees (whenever I had to stay out of home) and all that makes me empty handed at the end of the day.
    Our family's regular expenses run only through my husband's earning and it is sufficient enough so far.

Initially I was posted in a much higher position than this. Earning a lot, but after my son was born, I could no longer take this responsibility that requires a lot of travelling and stay over trips to all over the world. That was an internationally recruited position.