1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

I dont want to hurt my MIL....

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by Thinkingbeauty, Apr 16, 2014.

1. Thinkingbeauty

Thinkingbeauty Bronze IL'ite

I have been trying to post a new thread. But struggled big time since I am new to IL.
    I am happily married with my husband and we are staying out of India for the past 1.5yrs. Very soon after marriage I came to know that my hus smokes. Then he told me he will never smoke when he is in his hometown. IT was just bcoz we were out that he smoked. When we returned back I saw it was a lie. He was smoking almost every other day.
    He had some problems in job so I thought may be due to frustration and I did not create a scene out of this. Later I came to know he drinks too. Initially he told me only beer, until I caught him having alcohol. I could smell that literally in his dress.
    He used to fool me saying it was his perfume which contains alcohol. He visits his friend’s house and drink. His mother is unaware of all this???
    Recently, we moved out of India and these habits became more frequent and off late I feel he can’t be without these things. If I say something he will create a situation on front of either my parents or his parents to fight with me… Because of this I have to keep quiet. I don’t want to fight in front of them. He knows this and so he shows anger on me when he does not get a chance to smoke.
    So I even had to find out from his mother when she will be going out and when she will return so that he can smoke before her return. Now since things have gone out of hand what should I do?? We are married since 4 yrs and his mother through me came to know some of these things… But whenever she calls me she asks me whether he smokes or drinks??? I have been telling lies since I don’t want to hurt my