1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Just my thoughts on marriage

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by attitudegirl, Jul 28, 2013.

1. attitudegirl

attitudegirl Platinum IL'ite

Editor's Note: Thank you for sharing your story with us. It has been selected as the Best of Forums. Congratulations!

For viewership by a larger audience your story has been published here.

-------------------------------------------

Hi All!

I am new to IL..

Just wanted to pen down my thots.

How I came across this site beats me to think what kind of a person I have become as of today.. I was looking for ways to irritate my ILs like they irritate me. Am I the same person i was before marriage? Is this what my parents have taught me, imbibed in me. Will they be proud of me if they know?

To start with ,I was married at the age of 20 and had a DD at 21 and DS at 23. Life was full of ups and downs. I was so naive and good natured. Always my ILs used to take precedence in my thots. I always wanted to please them, be like a DD to them. Take care of them in old age, be a support to them. I wanted to listen to what advice they wanted to give me. But did i get any? I leave it upto anybody's guess...

Here I was neglecting my health, my kids, my DH cos all I could think of was, if I do something will they approve.. We shud leave them at Customs they'll do an awesome job at scrutinizing. I was so afraid, so scared.

Then after 9 years of marriage, reality bit me.. I was preg again I had screwed my health by this time.. Did anyone take care of me? I was punishing myself with so many bitter thoughts. I was so obsessed by my ILs attitude that I was punishing those around me too.

It was a reality chek for me. For better or for worse, I turned into a stronger person. I started to give a heck to those who are not important in my life. I am not put on this earth to please or entertain everybody. I'll do what I want to do not what they expect me to do.