"Romantic Roses and Candle"

Discussion in 'Knitting & Crochet' started by mimur9, Oct 14, 2010.

1. mimur9

mimur9 IL Hall of Fame

Dear all,

I am proudly presenting crocheted "Romantic Roses & Cupid Candle" set.

I have uploaded some pictures to give an idea. Are you cupid striken? here i am sharing the procedure.

Materials needed

1. Toilet tissue roll's cardboard center
    2. Polywool thread (Whitel, Red, Rose, yellow and Green)
    3. needle

For the Candle :

First made the candle body using SC and inserted the cardboard centre of the toilet tissue roll

start with White yarn : 4 ch, make a ring with slst. make 6 sc in the ring.
    R-1 : place 2 SCs in each st.
    R-2 : SC in first st, 2 SC in next, repeat till end of the round
    R-3 : Sc in each st, placing 2 SCs in each curve of the round. Thus make the top flat portion of the candle by increasing the row in this manner till it covers the round end of the cardboard.
    keep making SCs in each st. on every round till it covers the height of the cardboard completely.

Flame :

with yellow make 8 ch, slst in 2nd ch frm hk, sc in next, hdc in next st, dc in next 2 st, hdc in next, sc in last st.

Now attach this to the top flat portion of the crocheted candle body.

Insert the card board inside the candle body.

Roses :

with Red / Pink : 31 ch, , sc in 2nd ch from hk, 2 dc in next, till end of the row. Roll into a flower and sew it in place.

Leaf : with green, 12 ch, sl st in 2nd ch frm hk, sc in next st, hdc in next 2 sts, dc in next 3 sts, hdc in next st, sc in next 2 sts. repeat the same on the opposite side of the initial 12 ch.

abbreviations used " SC = single crochet, DC = Double crochet, HDC = half double crochet, hk = hook, sl st = slip stitch.

So, ILs get set go and set your table for a Romantic Dinner. All the best.:thumbsup

Last edited: Oct 14, 2010

2. mimur9

mimur9 IL Hall of Fame

some more photos

3. Vchintaravi

Vchintaravi Gold IL'ite

4. mimur9

mimur9 IL Hall of Fame

Vahe guru. Thank you Chinta Aunty. I am overwhelmed with joy seeing your appreciation, the first one for this thread.

Last edited: Oct 14, 2010
  5. sandh

sandh IL Hall of Fame

hai mira............kalakkiyittundu ketto............i liked your candle and roses very much.............sandhya:thumbsup

6. mimur9

mimur9 IL Hall of Fame

Thank you so much Sandhya dear.

7. mssunitha2001

mssunitha2001 IL Hall of Fame

It is ssssssssssooo BEAUTIFUL !!!!!!!!!

Lovely !!!!!!!

I wish to serve you an [​IMG] for your wonderful job.

8. Priya2704

Priya2704 New IL'ite

hey Mira... looks so lovely.... m sending u mu address parcel it :) ;)

9. leelagk

leelagk Gold IL'ite

hi mira:whistle...kai kodu!!!:thumbsup:thumbsup:thumbsup

excellent:) ...at last you made it my gal:2thumbsup::2thumbsup:!!!!

nd you thought of the cardboard as a good alternative for polyfill...nice idea:bowdown...group of colorful roses are making the candle base so beautiful....really you hav a superb superb artistic mind...touch wood!!!!

10. mimur9

mimur9 IL Hall of Fame

Thank you Sunitha for the deliciously cool appreciation. [​IMG]