Last post by ganges
Today 03:26 PM
2 Replies, 11 Views
When Everything Goes...
Last post by ganges
Today 03:23 PM
22 Replies, 231 Views
Current Poll
Are you getting logged out of the site frequently?
Yes - 25.00%
11 Votes
No - 75.00%
33 Votes
Total Votes: 44
You may not vote on this poll.

Old 13th March 2009, 04:30 AM

City: Bangalore
State: Karnataka
amihere Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)
Default Wedding from Guruvayur

Is there anyone around whose marriage was from Guruvayur temple?
My marriage is fixed and is from Guruvayur.I would like to enquire about a few things like beautician etc.

Ami
Old 15th March 2009, 09:56 PM

City: los angeles
State: california
love Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Default Re: Wedding from Guruvayur

congratulations on your wedding.All my family members were got married in guruvayoor temple.Me too!

ok, regarding the beautiparlours in guruvayoor-I can't give you a 100%bet.There are some good parlours in THRISSUR.They will come to gvr for the bridal makeup.but u should book in advance.LA FEMME beautiparlour is good.And another one is BEAUTY TOUCH.Both r excellent.I am from thrissur, and I know them personally.Mine was done by BEAUTY TOUCH and my sister's was with LA FEMME.The price range will go little up to come to gvr.If you need any further info let me know.

cheers!
love.
Old 16th March 2009, 04:24 AM

Thanks for the info, Since contact details cant be posted in a forum, I will try to find out the details.But can you let me know of the approximate charge of both these parlours?

Ami
Old 16th March 2009, 11:24 AM

City: los angeles
State: california
love Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

Oh...i don't have any clue of the present charges.only thing i can say is it will be above 2500.you can contact NIMMY SHERIEF of la femme(Thekke madom road, tcr)

or

MINI of BEAUTY TOUCH.(near thiruvambady temple, patturaikkal)

if you want these chief beautitions to be your beautition on the D-DAY , make prior appointment with them too.Mini of Beauty touch is really a nice person to approach.

all the best!
Old 18th March 2009, 11:48 PM

Thanks a lot dear
Heart within and God o'erhead!'
Old 29th May 2009, 01:42 AM

AVM Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Default Anyone got married in Guruvayur Temple?

Hi All:
Does anybody in our forum got married in guruvayur temple? or attended a marriage there?
Can you explain how was that experience?
I am actually a tamilian getting married to mallu. We r getting married in guruvayur this yr aug 27th. This is the first time our family is having/attending a marriage in guruvayur temple.
We heard it will be like express marriage.. we dont get much time.. thalikettu and garland exchange..and thats it..
i am more excited abt this.. and it is like a suspense for me to imagine how it will be..

checked in google for pictures of the mantapa in temple.. just got one pic..
is it on the way to temple.. where even people who r gng for temple passes that way or is it a separate place for weddings?

any interesting information/incidents are welcome..
By the way anyone getting married same day in guruvayur?? it will be very interesting..

AVM

Last edited by AVM; 29th May 2009 at 01:44 AM.
Old 29th May 2009, 02:29 AM
Private Message User
Forum Moderator

City: Hyderabad
State: AP
Referrals: 6
Senorita Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)
Default Re: Anyone got married in Guruvayur Temple?

Hi AVM, first of all congratulations and wish you Happy Married life!

My cousin's marriage took place in Guruvayur Temple 5 years back (bridegroom's parents had an wish to god when he was born that they will perform his marriage there) so it happened there but not every one will be allowed into the temple only elders that to parents were along with them.

Marriage was performed nicely but it will be little jaldi fast type and simple one becuase so many people will be getting marriage same time but hope we should not see all that because its taking place in front of God and its lucky.. i think there wont be anu mantapa but will perfome in open place but that time seperate for marraiges only!

Chalo Hyderabad | Visit AP forum
Old 29th May 2009, 06:41 AM

City: xx
State: xxx
Vidya24 Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

AVM,

Congrats! It is very auspiscious to get married in Guruvayoor. Though not right in front of Guruvayoorappan, the weddings become very special and blessed. Yes, all Mallu marriages are fast and Guruvayoor weddings faster. These days an elective parctise is followed by brides getting married in front of Guruvayoorappan. They wear the Kerala mundu, but with no zari, just plain colour border. And no jewellery except tulasi malai. This is to show humility and piety in front of God.

Please note that this trend though catching up big time is entirely optional, and subject to approval from the groom's family. After this, the couple have a reception where they make up for the simplicity wearing all the gold, and gold zari mundus.

Lucky you! Getting married in Guruvayoor. It is a desire that all of us Mallus cherish, but few attain it. A great start to a married life.

Remember to worship in Mammiyoor, where the AbhayaMudra of Sati fell. The Grace there is Gowri Shankara, again very auspiscious for newly weds.

Last edited by Vidya24; 29th May 2009 at 06:42 AM.
Old 30th May 2009, 02:14 AM

City: ghissais
State: dubai
revathynair Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

hai avm
congrats and wishes for your wedding

my marriage was in guruvayoor.you are right it is little bit faster.
in guruvayoor there are three mandapas which are onthe way to temle and you can see the long que of brides and grooms

if you watch the film NANDANAM you can see the temple and mandapas and the function of marriage very clearly

consider it as a luck to get a great start to your life infront of guruvayoorappan

Last edited by revathynair; 30th May 2009 at 02:16 AM.
Old 30th May 2009, 02:50 AM

City: abudhabi
State: abudhabi
roopanair123 Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

hi congrajulations,

me too got married at Guruvayoor temple and that day was "Akshaya Trithiya" too..so you can imagine the number of marriages...i guess that year, the day witnessed 2nd largest number of marriages .....

yes..it was a bit faster..just the thalli kett and exchanging tulasi malas..all other rituals were back in the hall !!