Lunch Ideas - Creating Balanced Vegetarian Meals

Discussion in 'Keep Fit & Maintain Shape' started by Shanvy, Dec 13, 2013.

1. pumpkin01

pumpkin01 Platinum IL'ite

My Ganesh ji at my new place....

9 people like this.
  2. sravanitenali

sravanitenali IL Hall of Fame

Dear Shanti akka and all....Happy Ganesh Chaturthi!!!

12020006_947279711985293_1252620915772725775_n.jpg
    12042679_947279885318609_7556530330639900307_n.jpg
    12032194_947279868651944_4163678522957489032_n.jpg

8 people like this.
  3. chocogal26

chocogal26 Platinum IL'ite

4. parineetha

parineetha IL Hall of Fame

I did a very simple pooja in the evening...Not well in the morning, so just pushed myself with whatever I could.

20150917_190502.jpg 20150917_190439.jpg
    Made sweet kulukattai, sweet pidi kulukattai, paal kulukattai with coconut milk and sugar & Dhal vada.

@shanvy - Kulukattai turned out to be super soft, couldn't control my excitement when it became me a huge hit at home with family and neighbors. I used the same flour though ;) Ganapathi bapa was gracious on me I guess :)))

5. Shanvy

lovely decoration and ganpathi from all ..@pumpkin such a nice one..this is your first one back in india?? how do you feel..

@sravanitenali kudos to you girl with a baby managing a diy ganapathi and the prasad.. keep it up..where there is a will the way paves...

@parineetha what do i say..look at the shape of the kozhukattais and i love paal kozhukattai. have some dough in the freezer..and a can of coconut milk that my dh bought for himself, but did not know what to do and has dumped here..so maybe a good idea..

And @gitasharma has also shared here ganapathi pooja pictures in her album..

i did merge mine in a pandal nearby for visarjan. i initially thought of doing it in bucket of water and using it in my own plants..but it was not possible..the clay was not great..

6. sravanitenali

sravanitenali IL Hall of Fame

Thank you so much akka!! and have to appreciate DH for helping me holding little one and also making a wood Mandap for me in 2 days time frame :)

7. parineetha

parineetha IL Hall of Fame

Ya @Shanvy you must try and indulge in the goodness of nice creamy texture of coconut milk..Paal kulukattai is one of my all-time favorite sweet. This is the first time I'm trying out myself, my Amma makes fantastic ones. when I'm there, I get to eat all delicious traditional desserts from coconut milk, all specially done for me yumsmiley

8. pumpkin01

pumpkin01 Platinum IL'ite

yes @Shanvy mam, we really felt blessed..... a satisfaction which I missed all those years :) and festival with family around makes more special :)

My DS started was very happy and tried to blow the diya many times as we told it's Baby Ganesh B'day .... ha haa

9. msm

msm Gold IL'ite

@Shanvy - need a help in using the Thinai I got from a shop here. Its umi/husk is not fully removed, I made a pongal using it without knowing this pbm, but couldnt eat beyond 2 mouths. How can we make it eatable, i.e how do I remove the husk anduse it? Any idea please? This is my second attempt in thinai, first time I bought from my hometown, this one is from Bangalore still both the times its husk is intact. How are you all using it?

10. Shanvy

@msm

you get the processed thinai that is better. this takes a little effort.

sprinkle water, wet and leave it for 15-20 minutes.. run it in the mixie..with the speed it would separate.say inching. (the same as idikaradhu with ulakkai and ural..) then in a winnowing plate you can remove the husk..

do the same until you find it huskfree..

http://www.indusladies.com/forums/recipe-central/232827-how-cook-thinai-rice-fox.html
    check this out too.