money transfer from india

Discussion in 'Indians in Singapore' started by shirleyjo, Jun 7, 2012.

1. shirleyjo

shirleyjo New IL'ite

hi guys, i am new to singapore and love the greenary around here. i would like to know how to receive money from my brother from india in a legal way. i dont have a bank account here. and what is a nre account. if opening a bank saving account, what is the process. i am on a dependent Ep. sorry for loads of queries. everything is new here and i feel lost. can somebody kindly reply. thanks.

2. AkilaMani

AkilaMani Local Champion Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Hi shirleyjo,

I have no idea about this, but will enquire and let you know. I have heard that wire transfer is a good method, but unsure if you need a bank a/c for it.

Opening an a/c is a no big deal here. All you need is your DP and passport and a minimum balance of $500 (i think).

For the other details i will get back to you :)

3. Chandrika82

Chandrika82 Silver IL'ite

Shirley, do you want to transfer money to India to your brother, or get it from your brother? Transferring money from here can be done through websites like Icici bank's Money2India.
    As Akila mentioned, you can open a savings account with your DP, Passport and minimum balance of 300 dollars (DBS SavingsPlus Account).

NRE account stands for Non Resident External Account. To be able to open a NRE account you first need to be a NRI (Non Resident Indian), meaning, having stayed abroad continuously for 183 days. Whatever money you send to your NRE account, the interest earned on that amount is tax free. You can open a NRE FD from the money in your NRE Account, and earn a interest of upto 9.25% tax free.
    Further, the money in your NRE Account is repatriable. Meaning, you can transfer the money from your NRE account to your Singapore bank's savings account as well.

Let me know if you have further questions.

1 person likes this.
  4. janbornchild

janbornchild Silver IL'ite

Hi,