Advice Required on Living in Saudi.

Discussion in 'Indians in Riyadh Province' started by Pras, Sep 2, 2007.

1. Pras

Pras New IL'ite

Hi All,

Warm Greetings to all !

I just become a member on this site and found the content immensely useful. So thought of popping a query and taking suggestions...

I am a IT Professional from India and currently posted in Singapore.

I have an offer from Riyadh, Saudi Arabia and the job profile as well as the pay seems to be ok.

I am a single male and I want to know from members the following questions:

1. Is it easy to find furnished accomodation as a Bachelor and is it easy to locate hotels/laundromats etc and approximate cost of living.

2. At some point in time, I intend to get married and bring my Spouse into Saudi- Can u advise me on the what I have to look for my employers to get my spouse into Saudi.

3. Is it possible to bring parents into Saudi esp for non muslims?

4. Any other advice on living...cost of livings etc - do take the liberty of letting me know.I would be much obliged for this.

Thanks and Regards,
    Prasad

2. Kitchuppa

Kitchuppa New IL'ite

Hi Prasad,
    It is good to see you asking some suggestions and advice. I am living in Saudi for the past 10 years and I can probably tell you a few points.
    As I am in Eastern Province (Alkhobar) I dont know much about Riyadh. But things are almost same everywhere here with more liberated society in eastern province because of Aramco the Oil Giant.
    1. You will have to ask your employer to give you proper profession in your visa like Engineer, software professional etc., and based on this only family status will be provided by the country.
    2. Getting furnished accommodation will be easy but may be costly. If you have plans to get married and bring your spouse probably you can try for flat suitably and furnish yourself.