Go Back   IndusLadies > Indusladies World > Indians in Europe > Indians in Northern Europe

Home Register Forum Blogs Directory FAQ Mark Forums Read

Recent Threads
Go to first new post A Complete Handbook of...
Last post by ramyasrini8
Today 09:40 AM
3 Replies, 82 Views
Happy Birthday...
by aharia
Last post by shakambari
Today 09:40 AM
25 Replies, 118 Views
racold geyser
by krnind
Last post by indhu75
Today 09:39 AM
1 Replies, 752 Views
The News Paper Vendor
by Kamalji
Last post by sushmasantosh
Today 09:38 AM
32 Replies, 396 Views
Tips 4 Become A Baby...
Last post by ramyasrini8
Today 09:37 AM
10 Replies, 201 Views
Kolangal-When will it...
Last post by shakambari
Today 09:37 AM
85 Replies, 2,616 Views
Your Pet Peeve about...
by Srama
Last post by tashidelek2002
Today 09:34 AM
17 Replies, 126 Views
Guru Peyarchi 2009-2010...
Last post by nandu_sen
Today 09:33 AM
2 Replies, 3 Views
Happy birthday shakambari
Last post by shakambari
Today 09:32 AM
13 Replies, 28 Views
Indian non veg recipes...
Last post by ramyasrini8
Today 09:32 AM
5 Replies, 106 Views
Current Poll
which is the best method after IVF transfer
Acupuncture - 0%
0 Votes
yoga - 0%
0 Votes
walking - 0%
0 Votes
Bedrest - 100.00%
5 Votes
Total Votes: 5
You may not vote on this poll.

Old 11th September 2009, 06:59 AM

City: Bangalore
State: Karnataka
Chetana13 Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Default Moving to UK - What to carry from India

Hi all
We would be in UK soon(october start) for an years time. I would be moving there with my hubby(IT guy) and two kids aged 3 and 4 months respectively. I would appreciate if you can share your experience with me. I need help on the following issues.
1) My hubby's workplace would be at Southbanks, but i guess it being central london, it would be practically not possible for us to take accomodation there. Can anyone suggest me as to what places we should be looking at...our priority is putting my son(3 year old) in school , having a safe neighbourhood with tube station nearby. My hubby can manage a commute of 30 minutes Presence of Indian community would be great. Any pointers here would be helpful.
2) What all should i bring from India? After going thru the threads in forum i managed to get the idea that it would be better if i carry my own mixer and pressure cooker. Anything else comes to mind please do let me know.
3) Would like to know if you get Ragi(for my baby) from grocery stores there.
4) Since we are going to be there for just an year, i was wondering whether we would be requiring a car? Is the tube sufficient?
5) Should we be looking at flats or houses(our budget it abut 1000 pounds). We r planning to get a furnished accomodation. Is it true that houses have got pests problem?
6) My son would turn 3 on 23 october. Is it possible for him to get into a public school after that. Since the session there has already begun would it be an issue for him to get admission.
It would be really great to have ur help
take care
chetana
Old 12th September 2009, 11:00 AM
Private Message User
Forum Moderator

Sindhurao Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)
Default re: Moving to UK - What to carry from India

Hi Chethana:

Welcome to Indusladies! While I haven't lived in London, I think I can help with some of your queries.

2) What all should i bring from India? After going thru the threads in forum i managed to get the idea that it would be better if i carry my own mixer and pressure cooker.
As far as gadgets are concerned, the above 2 should be fine. Some basic utensils to start with always helps - kadai, seasoning ladle, serving spoons, etc. Also, if you use homemade powders for sambar, rasam, vangibath, etc. carry some quantities of them until you can find suitable brands. You get most items, it is only a matter of looking for them.
3) Would like to know if you get Ragi(for my baby) from grocery stores there.
Yes, you do get ragi in the UK.
4) Since we are going to be there for just an year, i was wondering whether we would be requiring a car? Is the tube sufficient?
You wouldn't need a car if you are in London. But if you plan to travel around in the UK while you are there, you might find a car handy especially with 2 kids. Here London Ilites may have suggestions for you.
5) Should we be looking at flats or houses(our budget it abut 1000 pounds). We r planning to get a furnished accomodation. Is it true that houses have got pests problem?
Flats or houses, either of them should be fine - with children house maybe a good idea though I have no idea as to whether you will get houses / flats within your budget. You may have to go farther in the suburbs. Again, London Ilites can correct me if I am wrong here.
6) My son would turn 3 on 23 october. Is it possible for him to get into a public school after that. Since the session there has already begun would it be an issue for him to get admission.
The children get into reception (equivalent to nursery in India) at the age of four. So your son can get into pre-school. This will be for a few hours - usually 3 days / week. I think it depends on the month the child is born.

I hope this helps.

Sindhu
Old 16th September 2009, 04:46 AM

Chetana13 Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Default re: Moving to UK - What to carry from India

Dear Sindhu

Thanks for the information. It surely is helpful. We haven't been really able to pinpoint as to where we guys would be putting up there. It would be really great if someone can guide me here. Most of my hubby's colleagues are either thinking of Feltham or Ilford. Any feedback about the same would be really helpful.
Also would like to know as to which airlines is the best in terms of baggage allowance.

take care
chetana
Old 26th September 2009, 05:34 AM

City: andover
State: hampshire
madhukrishnan9 Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Default Re: Moving to UK - What to carry from India

Hai chetana,
I have moved to uk very recently so i think i can help you in some of your queries.

Its very much better to carry your pressure cooker and mixie the least being mixie(here the mixie is used for making smoothies)

Also you can get some basic medicines(for fever,headache etc) from india so that you wont run out of them in case of emergency.

I had also stayed for 2 weeks at ilford so i can say you can very well go with the idea of looking for apartments at ilford.you can find many indians at this place so you will feel at home.There are also many indian shops(groceries,clothing etc) temple,theatre so its like living in india itself.

Anything else u want to know plz ask

happy and safe journey
Old 6th October 2009, 03:49 PM

City: dublin
State: dublin
aarthi7 Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

hi chetna,
i have lived in london for 4 years,,but now in ireland...
with regard to your queries,
i would suggest wembley park which is in ZONE 4 and would be a 40 min commute from central london,,it is like being in india outside india,,i have lived there for 4 years and i found it very good,,you get every indian thing there ,i am sure you can feel it when you get there.
also wembley and alperton have a good indian community,
with regard to schools,the admission cut off is 4 years on or before september1,so you have to enrol your son in a private montessori,which i guess are in plenty,,admission shouldnt be a problem as these are privtae schools.
as somebody pointed out,commuting within london wouldnt require cars,but if you wish to travel within UK and out of london,a car might just be handy,,but it doesnt mean you have to buy a car,there are umpty number of car rental companies from where you can rent cars based on your needs..
i would put it this way,,
by far,london,specially wembley had been my dream place for living outside india,,not sure how things are now..
anyways,hope i gave you a bit of info what u needed

with reg to airlines,i heard from my friends that KINGFISHER AND JET AIRWAYS give a good baggage allowance(around 35-40 kg,i guess but am not sure)
aarthi

Last edited by aarthi7; 6th October 2009 at 03:52 PM. Reason: added info
Old 30th October 2009, 05:53 AM

City: la
State: ca
lesasue86 Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

Hi chetna! i have been to london twice in these two years. You find lots of Indian localities over there, especially in central london. Yes you get every thing in london. And a house will be a better option as you will be living only for a year. Better to get a used car and sell it, when you are planning to return to india