Go Back   IndusLadies > Indusladies World > Indians in Europe > Indians in Northern Europe

Home Register Blogs Directory FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Indians in Northern Europe Discussion Forum for Indian Ladies living in the following countries - UK, Ireland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Denmark & Finland

REGISTER TODAY! it is SIMPLE, EASY and FREE! You could also WIN a T-Shirt!

Old 11th April 2008, 08:30 AM

City: nottingham
State: nottinghamshire
Default wooden mandir

hello everyone

can anyone tell where can i buy the wooden temple in uk. i always fancied to have a wooden temple in my pooja room with bells in its door. because of its weight i couldnt bring from india. so can u guys tell me where can i buy in and around london,birmingham, nottingham. thanks in advance

ramarsita

Old 12th April 2008, 05:32 AM

City: Milton Keynes
State: Buckinghamshire
Default Re: wooden mandir

Originally Posted by ramarsita View Post
hello everyone

can anyone tell where can i buy the wooden temple in uk. i always fancied to have a wooden temple in my pooja room with bells in its door. because of its weight i couldnt bring from india. so can u guys tell me where can i buy in and around london,birmingham, nottingham. thanks in advance

ramarsita

HI Ramarsita:

I'm not 100% sure if you will get the wooden mantapam here but in London, Eastham is probably the best place to check out.

Sindhu
Old 12th April 2008, 07:32 AM

City: Walsall
State: West Midlands

hello everyone

ramarsita

since you are put up in Nottingham, have you ever been to Leicester which i guess is just an hr from your place. I did find some pooja mandapams.Its a great place to shop for Indian stuffs ( be it anything).
Hope this information will be of some help.

bye..
Old 14th April 2008, 12:26 AM

City: Harrow
State: Middlesex

Hi Ramarsita,

There is a place in Wembley called VENISONS and they have a branch just next to Alperton Tube Station called SANSKRUTI.
lots of religious stuff and also household furnitures, figurines,statues of gods and goddess all from india.

Worth having a look at, but the prices are very high as well.

Maybe this will help.
Old 14th April 2008, 03:58 PM

City: hounslow
State: london

u can find also in Southall.
Old 15th April 2008, 01:15 PM

City: Harrow
State: Middlesex

Yes, southall too you can find any religious indian items.
Completely agree with Huma.

Alps
Old 21st April 2008, 12:26 PM

City: nottingham
State: nottinghamshire

thank you friends. sorry for not replying quickly. leicester is just an hour for me but you find mostly northindian style mandir( like marble, silver )with different type of gopuram. but i prefer south indian style which is mostly in wooden. i will definitely look at the shop mentioned by alpers and huma. we go frequently to london to see my friends.
Old 25th April 2008, 04:01 AM

City: hounslow
State: london

thank you friends. sorry for not replying quickly. leicester is just an hour for me but you find mostly northindian style mandir( like marble, silver )with different type of gopuram. but i prefer south indian style which is mostly in wooden. i will definitely look at the shop mentioned by alpers and huma. we go frequently to london to see my friends.

If you can't find it in Southall, you can go to East Ham.

Old 7th May 2008, 09:08 AM

City: London
State: none

i have seen wooden mandirs in many shops in Alperton west London. other areas u can get them are where there are many indians like East ham and Southhall. but first check out the shops in alperton. dont remember any shop names though but try popats.
Old 25th June 2008, 08:32 AM

City: slough
State: berkshire
Talking Re: wooden mandir

hi all,

you can try some shops in wembley because lot of gujrati's are there & i have seen wooden mandir's carved with silver in few shops.You can check those shops. thanks

Janaki