Go Back   IndusLadies > Indusladies World > Indians in Asia-Pacific > Indians in Malaysia

Home Register Forum Blogs Directory FAQ Mark Forums Read

Recent Threads
Daily Prayer On Sai Baba.
by Priesh
Last post by sudha kailas
Today 11:45 PM
4,477 Replies, 21,732 Views
Breadmaking anyone?
by BeeAmma
Last post by Chitvish
Today 11:41 PM
24 Replies, 538 Views
Hair Volumising and...
by anumdas
Last post by anumdas
13 Replies, 258 Views
Kolangal serial to end...
Last post by malathyj
3 Replies, 12 Views
wall hanging
by maha19
Last post by maha19
Today 11:40 PM
12 Replies, 126 Views
Vishnu sahasranamam in...
Last post by Aana
Today 11:40 PM
7 Replies, 2,362 Views
My secrets of growing...
Last post by latharam09
Today 11:38 PM
155 Replies, 9,236 Views
November Coffee Meet Up
Last post by malathyj
Today 11:35 PM
64 Replies, 950 Views
A student in Boston...
by sapn
Last post by sapn
Today 11:32 PM
4 Replies, 55 Views
Another Ratty Tale
by Kamalji
Last post by Kamalji
Today 11:29 PM
0 Replies, 1 Views
Current Poll
which is the best method after IVF transfer
Acupuncture - 0%
0 Votes
yoga - 25.00%
2 Votes
walking - 12.50%
1 Vote
Bedrest - 62.50%
5 Votes
Total Votes: 8
You may not vote on this poll.

Old 15th October 2008, 09:30 PM

City: Butterworth
State: Penang
vashini Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)
Default Let's Learn Malay Language! (L-5)

Dear ILites,
Hari Om!
Selamat Pagi.
Lets have a very short lesson today. I'm going to teach you how to ask for name in Malay language!

What is your name ? - Siapa nama awak? - சியப நாம அவ? (k is silent here).
My name is Vashini. – Nama saya Vashini. - நாம சாயா வஷினி.

There are times people use to ask name by using apa to replace siapa, But it is advisable to use siapa as it is the proper way of asking it.

Those who writes feedback after this please use some of the Malay word you have learned from here so that while practicing it and we can also have some fun.

That's all for today...
Have a nice day ahead...
Vashini

Last edited by vashini; 15th October 2008 at 09:41 PM.
Old 15th October 2008, 09:37 PM

Default Re: Let's Learn Malay Language! (L-5)

Dear ILites,
Hari Om!

Please kindly spend your valuable time to let me know what you think about this thread. Whether I should go on with it or should I stop here. bonkTerima Kasih.

Vashini
Old 16th October 2008, 07:22 AM

State: tamilnadu
rathhi Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Default Re: Let's Learn Malay Language!

IBU VARSHINI,
SELAMAT PAGI.APA KABAR IBU?
SAYA TINNGAL DI INDONESIA.LIMA BULAN SUDAH.BELAJAR SEDIKIT BAHASA.
Just saw your thread.BAIKLA.continue the good work.
I can improvise.
TERIMAKASIH IBU.
bye,take care.
rathhi
Old 16th October 2008, 07:48 AM

City: jammu
State: j&k
muzna Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

daer vashini
that's a cool idea,
thanx for sharing this. i love learning new ones and as soon as i get time i'll take your tutorials

"For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he"_Sri Sri Paramhansa Yogananda
Democracy down the drain...is it?????
Old 16th October 2008, 08:20 AM

City: Kuala Lumpur
State: kuala lumpur
Anuraag Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

sayang,

Terima Kasih for the wonderful work you are doing. Saya dari India but tinggal at kl. saya boleh cakap sikit sikit bahasa........

please tell me how to get work done at home from the maids.....that is give instructions to them in Bahasa like........do the work neatly......wash your hands often........wash coloured clothes and whites seperately...etc etc.....please add anything else you can think of too. I look forward to this thread and so please don't discontinue it.....
jyothi
Old 16th October 2008, 10:17 PM

Rathhi,
Hari Om.
First of all let me welcome you to the thread.
Selamat Berkenalan. Saya khabar baik, terima kasih. Bagaimana pula dengan anda? Semoga anda dalam keadaan sihat sejahtera. Saya berasa gembira untuk membaca komen anda. Terima kasih atas sokongan yang anda berikan.

Dear Rathhi, it is common to use Ibu when addressing people politely in Indonesia. But it will be odd if you use it with Malaysians. We over here only use Ibu when we are talking to someone who we respect as a mother. You can use anda (you), or saudari(for girl) when you are talking to me.
In tamil Saudara = sagothera (for guy)
Saudari =sagotheri (for girl)

The reply in English :

Nice to meet you. I’m fine, thank you. How about you? Hope you are fine. I’m happy to read your comment. Thanks for your support.

Hope to hear more from you later. Keep up writing in Malay and enjoy learning Malaysian Language. If you have any doubts, please ask me.
Take care.

VaSHiNi

Last edited by vashini; 16th October 2008 at 10:24 PM.
Old 16th October 2008, 10:38 PM

muzna,
to this thread.
Thanks for your feedback dear. Please do visit us over here again when time permits you.
See you.

VaSHiNi

Last edited by vashini; 16th October 2008 at 10:40 PM.
Old 16th October 2008, 11:25 PM

Jyothi sayang,

Thanks for the lovely feedback dear. I get the idea to post this thread when I see a lot of Indians able to communicate in Malaysian Language just after few months living here. I’m happy I’m helping you with it. Surprise and happy at the same time to see the correct Malay spelling you used. Keep it up!
I’ll come back to you in the next Lesson for the things you asked.
Meanwhile,

Wash your hand often - Basuh tangan kamu selalu
Please do the work neatly - Tolong buat kerja secara kemas.
Wash coloured clothes and whites separately – Asingkan pakaian putih dari pakaian berwarna semasa membasuhnya.

Leave out the word “tolong” if you don’t want to use the word “please”.

Take Care and have a nice day ahead.
Terima Kasih.

VaSHiNi
Old 17th October 2008, 03:40 AM

City: h
State: h
jaykay Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

Dear Vashini,

Thanks a ton for your immediate reply and for posting the Tamil pronounciation.

Sorry for the late reply. Actually I was searching for this thread and could not locate it!!
Please keep up the Good Work. Thanks again.

Jayanthi
Old 17th October 2008, 05:34 AM

Dear Jayanthi,
Your are welcome. Hope you will never get lost again.
Thanks for your feedback yaar! I need to send two more previous post in tamil, but need time for it. Will post it when I'm finish?
Take Care.
Vashini