finding a JOB with a dependant visa

Discussion in 'Indians in Malaysia' started by rajjoo, Sep 13, 2011.

1. rajjoo

rajjoo New IL'ite

hi ladies,

Did anyone get a job while staying on dependant visa? Share your experience on job hunt here.... i mostly go thru the reply of Malaysians only or Malay/Mandarin knowledge required - replies invariably.

Anyone has any good suggestions or business plan?

2. TeddyChiku

TeddyChiku Bronze IL'ite

Hi Rajjoo,

yes u can work if u have DP, some of my frens got job but depends...
    R u looking for job in which industry???

Cheers!!!!!

3. preethiitech

preethiitech Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Hi Rajjoo..

Yes, you can get a Job in dep visa! And you are right.. mostly they will advertise "Malaysians only!!" and "Mandarin/Malay".... But still there are other opportunities which the foreigners can utilize!

What is your qualification? Do you have experience? Is your husband a Malaysian Citizen? Which Industry are you looking into? How long will you be here? Are you willing for Contract employment?

These questions play a vital role while hiring a person with Dep. Visa ..

4. TeddyChiku

TeddyChiku Bronze IL'ite

Yes i agree with preethi...

5. Queen123

Queen123 New IL'ite

Hi ILs

We are moving to Penang for long term.
    Iam working as a Lead Engineer(Sowftware) with 4 yrs exp...Is it possible to get a job on dependent visa..
    Someone please guide me

6. preethiitech

preethiitech Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Yes, should be possible with MNCs in Penang. Happy moving to Malaysia

7. Queen123

Queen123 New IL'ite

Helloo,

We moved to Penang 2 months back and I started applying for each and every job in the job portals from the day 1.
    But not even a single call. :(
    Am not sure why..Can somebody pls help me with this..

8. celia17

celia17 Silver IL'ite

Things are bit slow here compared to india. They take much time to respond to resume,to set up an interview,give the results and give offer letters, all of it takes really long time.
    I used to get calls,they ll ask about my work experience but wont fix an interview. Or fix a date a month or two later.
    I got job after 4 months. you will have to wait.

9. SASA

SASA New IL'ite

I am currently in KL on a dependant visa.

Have a long work experience in India in senior management roles.

Can someone guide me as to which industries offer employment to spouses dependent visa and any good consultants who can help.