Moving to Irvine from Dallas,TX

Discussion in 'Indians in Los Angeles' started by Karthema, Dec 20, 2014.

1. Karthema

Karthema Junior IL'ite

We are moving to irvine area from dallas due to hubby's project work.. I have a 15 month old baby girl.
    What are the main things to consider before relocating?
    Are the apartments equipped with all the facilities? Any good apts nearby?
    Will winter be severe? Any indian grocery stores nearby?
    Kindly help..

Thanks in advance...

Hemakarthik.

2. brahan

brahan Platinum IL'ite

welcome to Irvine.

Irvine is a beautiful well planned city and is a good school district too. On the flip side the apartments are quiet expensive.

You can check for the apartments at

https://www.irvinecompanyapartments.com

Most of the apartments are very good with desi population around.There are lot of Indian Stores around. There is Anzar gallery, Nina Stores, India Sweets and Spices(Tustin). There are good Indian restaurants too.

Artesia which has the road containing everything from India(from dresses , shops servicing cooker/mixie , groceries to restaurant) is about half an hour drive from here.

Winter is not horrible here on a relative comparison to east coast. A jacket would suffice for outdoors.

Welcome to Irvine. I am sure you would fall in love with this place.

Bee

3. pinkRoseBud

pinkRoseBud Gold IL'ite

Hello,
    We are moving to Los Angeles in sometime. Wondering how is the public transport there.
    Thanks in advance

4. JustMyself

JustMyself Gold IL'ite

@pinkrosebud,

Public Transportation is just Ok. Neither bad nor too good. If you are planning to commute by public transportation, better to choose an apartment closer to bus-stops and enroute of the bus (to UCLa ?)

JM