Go Back   IndusLadies > Indusladies World > Indians in Asia-Pacific > Indians in Japan

Home Register Forum Blogs Directory FAQ Mark Forums Read

Recent Threads
Go to first new post Game about...
by Tulasi
Last post by Huma
Today 07:14 AM
1,985 Replies, 13,448 Views
Go to first new post Madhubani Wall hanging
Last post by Yashikushi
Today 07:13 AM
15 Replies, 135 Views
Go to first new post Innovative gardening
by Srama
Last post by Raji01
Today 07:13 AM
5 Replies, 33 Views
Reverse glass paintings
Last post by Yashikushi
Today 07:11 AM
10 Replies, 82 Views
Paattukku paattu
by kb2000
Last post by aharia
Today 07:07 AM
2,101 Replies, 29,328 Views
Jab We Met !!
Last post by Drpreethis
115 Replies, 9,001 Views
word ending with...
Last post by Huma
861 Replies, 8,700 Views
Fabric painting on...
by swapu
Last post by Yashikushi
Today 07:06 AM
21 Replies, 206 Views
Do I need to ?
by saathi
Last post by Drpreethis
Today 07:04 AM
17 Replies, 564 Views
Foods for the 6 to 9...
Last post by Ashzia
Today 06:59 AM
163 Replies, 30,422 Views
Current Poll
which is the best method after IVF transfer
Acupuncture - 0%
0 Votes
yoga - 0%
0 Votes
walking - 0%
0 Votes
Bedrest - 100.00%
5 Votes
Total Votes: 5
You may not vote on this poll.

Old 4th February 2009, 01:34 AM

City: Singapore
State: Singapore
namrata123 Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Default Coming to Yokohama

My name is Namrata and I am from India. I am presently living in Singapore with my husband and we will be relocating to Yokohama within the next two months.

Can some one kindly guide me, regarding yokohama and is it a nice place to live? also, i am presently working in singapore and i heard from someone that it is not possible to get a job in japan, is that true?

also any other useful information will really ease lot of things going on my mind regarding moving to yokohama.

take care,
Namrata
Old 4th February 2009, 05:58 AM
Private Message User
Greeter

City: --
State: --
Referrals: 4
Saraswathipv Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)
Default Re: Coming to Yokohama

Hello Namrata,

Welcome to Indusladies.

There was a similar discussion here before by a few members. You may want to check it here.. From India to Yokohama .

NewMemberGuide will help you understand our site better.

Old 4th March 2009, 10:22 AM

City: mumbai
State: maharashtra
kvds Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

Hi Namratha,

I came 2 Yokohama 2 weeks back. This place is quite good. Language is a barrier here as Japan speaks n' understands only Japanese. But yes, there are p'pl here who speak bits n' pieces of English. Even though language is a problem, wat we saw is the Japanese are very helpful and they try 2 help us thro' actions, maps etc... Regarding job.... Japanese language knowledge is a must 2 get any job here. So once u land here, u can join in some classes.

Cheers!
DivyaSriram
Old 4th March 2009, 10:44 PM

City: Tokyo
State: MN
Hopikrishnan Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

I am a Tamilian living in Tamagawa ( by Toyoko line train to Yokohama) for a year and a half now. Kamata has an indian store at a short walk from the station. Their prices may be shocking to new arrivals; but then all prices will be shocking for a while. Finding a medical clinic where someone ( a nurse or a doctor) speak English is a challenge. As for jobs, go to the local newspapers and see what they have. For example, see the link
Work in Japan.com : DAILY YOMIURI ONLINE (The Daily Yomiuri)
At least there are web newspapers that you can read before coming over.
Eigo ( english ) deki masu ka ? can be your first question ( meaning "have you English ability ?" to anyone. There is also point-and-speak Japanese book you can buy. This is an excellent resource. All you have to do is to point to the picture where the content is displayed in both english and japanese.
best wishes
Hopi