Go Back   IndusLadies > Indusladies World > Indians in Asia-Pacific > Indians in Australia & NZ

Old 20th July 2007, 03:41 AM

City: Delhi
State: Delhi
Default Indian Schools in Melbourne

I am currently in India and will shift to Melbourne in August.
Are there any Indian schools in Melbourne.
Old 1st August 2007, 06:31 AM

Default Life in Melbourne

My family is migrating to Australia from India in August.
Could anyone on the list guide me about the weather of Australia in coming months.

Please provide some pointers on how is life for Indians in Melbourne.
Would my family feel lonely or out of the place.
Old 1st August 2007, 10:19 AM

City: Gaithersbug
State: Maryland
Referrals: 4
Default Re: Life in Melbourne

As I have lived in melbourne for over a year, I know that anytime of the year Melbourne can have all the four climates in one day as they say. Presently, it is winter time with night time temperatures around 5-10 degree celsius and day time between 15-20 degrees. From November onwards upto March summer time with day time temperatures going beyond 30 degrees. People use fans or air-conditioners in summer.

There are quite a few suburbs with predominantly Indians like the suburbs of Glen Waverly, Preston, Dandeenong etc. There are many Indian restaurants all over Melbourne and you can find lakshmi Vilas, madras cafe , banan leaf etc. at Dandeenong and Glen Waverly. Many Indian grocery stores are also there in these suburbs where you can get everything that is available in India. You can get not only groceries, but also pooja items and ofcourse DVDs of latest movies of Tamil, Telugu, Hindi etc. There are several theaters (like Hoyts cinema at Melbourne Central, Village cinema in Glen Waverly) in the city where you can watch latest Hindi movies. Tamil movies are screened in selected theaters and they generally run for shorter periods.

There are number of temples in Melbourne. The most famous are the Shiva-Vishnu temple at Carroms Down (you have to go from Dandeenong), Shrdi Sai Baba Mandir at Camberwell (close to the city and can be reached by tram No.75 from the city centre), Hare Krishna Temple close to the city. The best place to get all details in the internet is Indiaoz - A One Stop Information Source for Australian Indians - Events, News and More

TDU

" God give me the
Serenity to accept what I cannot change, the
Courage to change what I can and the
Wisdom to know the difference"

Last edited by Jey; 4th August 2007 at 10:05 AM. Reason: Removed Quotes. Quoting not necessary if it is clear as to what you are responding to.
Old 1st August 2007, 11:46 PM

Default Re: Life in Melbourne

Thanks for this valuable information.
I would try to take house around the areas that you have mentioned.
Old 27th August 2007, 02:23 AM

City: Melbourne
State: Victoria
Smile Re: Indian Schools in Melbourne

Originally Posted by kams View Post

I am currently in India and will shift to Melbourne in August.
Are there any Indian schools in Melbourne.
Hi Kams,

What do u mean by Indian Schools?

Cheers!
Manisha
Old 3rd September 2007, 04:38 AM

Default Re: Indian Schools in Melbourne

hi manisha
I mean to say if there are any schools which follow Indian style of education.

For example in Dubai DPS is located
similarly Kendriya vidhalaya exists in London and many other places

Similarly are there any Indian education based schools here

Also pls let me know in which part of Melbourne you are located
Do you have ny kids

How do u find kids development here?

Thanks for replying
Kams
Old 6th September 2007, 10:19 PM

City: melbourne
State: vic
Default Threading

Anyone know any salons in Melb that do eyebrow threading?Most places only seem to do eyebrow waxing...
Old 7th September 2007, 02:06 AM

City: bangalore
State: karnataka
Referrals: 25
Default Re: Threading

dear love shack,
let me tell u a secret, i had tried this threading and always found them to remove half of our eyebrows to give a bloated look on our face, so i took a string just enough to hold on two hands and standing near to the mirror, now rolled it like a 8 form untill i had some twists, slowly after putting some powder there, increased the pace of one hand widening it and holding near the extra growth..i threaded just enough for me to make it look natural and i felt great satisfaction out of this, if you feel u r not getting any one, please give this a thought...sunkan
Old 26th September 2007, 02:06 AM

City: Melbourne
State: Victoria

Hi loveshack.

U could try Shenaz.I go to her.

Sruthi

Originally Posted by loveshack View Post
Anyone know any salons in Melb that do eyebrow threading?Most places only seem to do eyebrow waxing...
Note: Removed the contact numbers and address of the beautician, since she sent an email that she is not doing threading anymore. The phone calls received are disturbing to her. - Induslady

Last edited by Induslady; 31st October 2007 at 08:44 AM.
Old 26th September 2007, 06:57 PM

City: melbourne
State: vic

Thanks for that....

Last edited by Induslady; 31st October 2007 at 08:45 AM.