Advice for starting an own boutique/clothing business of ethnic wear

Discussion in 'Entrepreneurship' started by craftmaker, Oct 29, 2010.

1. craftmaker

craftmaker New IL'ite

I am a home maker and was thinking of starting own boutique/clothing store of ethinc wear for women in a small scale based out of bangalore. I would like to get advice from people who are already into the business as I am totally new to this field. My plan is to start with mix and match wear of Short Tops/Kurthas/Salwars/duppatas.

1. Can someone guide me about where to source the material (traditional cotton as well as silk) in Blr. i know that there are a lot of wholesale dealers based out of Chikpet etc, but any personal recommendations?

2. Is it better to have a small tailoring unit of own or to outsource the work to some one else? What are the pros and cons for the two options? For option one, how to find good tailors who will work for you and for option two how to zero in on some one who will give a quality product?

3. has anyone tried selling apparel through ebay and similar portals? can you share your experience?

It will be really good if you can guide me and share your real time experience.

Jyothi

Jey likes this.

2. Moumita1

Moumita1 Silver IL'ite

3. skak

skak Bronze IL'ite

Kindly check your inbox,I have sent you a PM.

Akila.A

4. SammyNow

SammyNow New IL'ite

I sell unstitched salwars and sarees on wholesale basis in Chennai. Contact me if you are interested.

5. Janani2226

Janani2226 New IL'ite

Please PM your details with address along with catalogue and price details. I am interested in buying some salwars materials and sarees in wholesale.

6. Cutiesri

Cutiesri Gold IL'ite

sammynow,
    Are you dealing with kids dress too? please let me know your contact details.

7. laura07

laura07 New IL'ite

All Money matters

8. krohra

krohra New IL'ite

Can you Pm me about the wholesale suits n sarees

9. JananiRamkumar

JananiRamkumar New IL'ite

Hi Sammy,

Please send me the details of your catolog with price details.

10. krishaa

krishaa New IL'ite