Go Back   IndusLadies > Entertainment, Hobbies & Interests > Hobbies, Arts & Crafts

Old 22nd February 2008, 03:53 PM
IL Hall Of Fame
Forum Moderator

City: Charleston
State: West Virginia
Default re: Craft Works : Crochet works Collections

hey Varundhini, your collections are pretty good.

Shanthi, yours too...
i learnt crochet while my parents are in Bombay.
I made table mats with that.
Still long way to go to remember all.

My cousin also does crochet -- currently she made the thaambulam set with betal leaves, betel nuts, bananas, coconut,etc. She also made 'Vinayagar' in crochet and sent it through my mom.

Old 23rd February 2008, 12:30 AM
IL Hall Of Fame
Forum Moderator

State: tamilnadu

Originally Posted by rama_mani View Post
Hi Shanthi,

Thanks for your reply. Yes please send me the pdf format.

I am also interested in crochet and knitting work. I made sweaters, hats, baby's blanket. I am interested to do rubberbands, great design hairclips and hand bags.

And i am doing saree embroidery - chamki work, beeds work, thread embroidery etc.

Can u guide me from where i can get the model for the above. if thro net will you please give me the link.

I am waiting for your reply.

Ramamani
rama

I think this link has lot of patterns...please go through the posts we have given links .

check out the bags and baby blanket in the site...
Lion Brand Yarn Company
Old 23rd February 2008, 12:32 AM
IL Hall Of Fame
Forum Moderator

Originally Posted by Sriniketan View Post
hey Varundhini, your collections are pretty good.

Shanthi, yours too...
i learnt crochet while my parents are in Bombay.
I made table mats with that.
Still long way to go to remember all.

My cousin also does crochet -- currently she made the thaambulam set with betal leaves, betel nuts, bananas, coconut,etc. She also made 'Vinayagar' in crochet and sent it through my mom.

Sriniketan,

I love all those..but because of my health i cannot do much...vinayagar is really an idea to try yaar...
Old 2nd March 2008, 02:30 PM

City: Riverview
State: Florida

Does any ILite know anyone who can knit/crochet newborn clothes like sweater, bootie and cap for a nominal rate? I can provide the yarn for it too. Please feel free to PM me if you know someone...

-L.
Old 6th March 2008, 01:37 AM

hi everybody,

i am new to IL. just going through all the threads in the site one by one. yesterday i came across this crochet thread and thought of posting the beautiful crochet work done by my granny (who is 90 +) and my mother. both of them are experts in crochet and can reproduce any design just by seeing it. amazing thing about both of them is that both of them have not taken any formal training in this art. the first one and 4th one is a sofa back, 2nd one is a diwan cover, 3rd one is a double bedsheet.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SV200012.JPG (194.3 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg SV200013.JPG (195.3 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg SV200014.JPG (194.3 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg SV200011.JPG (201.2 KB, 16 views)
Old 6th March 2008, 01:52 AM

hi everybody,

some more work done by my granny and my mother. 1st one is for round dining table, 2nd one is the top for my jeans, third one is a scarf , 4th and 5th one are table runners.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SV200022.JPG (194.4 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg SV200009.JPG (197.5 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg SV200010.JPG (197.2 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg SV200021.JPG (193.0 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg SV200023.JPG (192.8 KB, 10 views)
Old 6th March 2008, 01:57 AM
IL Hall Of Fame
Forum Moderator

revathi,

Thanks for sharing. those days people just learn these things without any formal training, just seeing somebody doing it. curtains, toys, bedspreads what not..have seen a collection in a friends' house of her great grandmother

They are all mind blowing. do preserve them...
Old 6th March 2008, 01:58 AM
IL Hall Of Fame
Forum Moderator

btw how is your son doing his exams
Old 6th March 2008, 04:09 AM

State: Tamilnadu
Referrals: 4

Hi revathi

Its really wonderful to see the works done by ur granmother and mom ....My : bowdown to them.........pls pls convey my hearty wishes to them.......and iam feeling shy also....sicne i dont know to do any kind of art and i have never tried also.......
Old 6th March 2008, 04:20 AM

hi shanvy,

my son's only one exam has got over till now. he has done well.