1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

H4 Wife - Things to do?

Discussion in 'H4 Indian Ladies' started by shakila, Jun 8, 2005.

1. shakila

shakila Junior IL'ite

I am Shakila and following is my profile...

- I got a bachelors degree in India
    - I was working for a good company in India making decent earnings
    - I got married to a H1B visa holder, which put me in H4 visa status (yes, that dreaded H4) :x
    - Being H4, I can't work or earn a single dollar.
    - All I can do is stay at home and stare at the four walls (Not ready for kids yet)

Does the above profile sound similar to you? Are you a fellow H4 visa holder as well? Please share how you use your time without getting bored to death.

I meet lots of H4's who are in the same boat and this thread could be useful not only to me, but to fellow H4 travellers as well:idea:

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 12, 2006

2. simi

simi Junior IL'ite

Hi Shakila,

Looks like your frustrated sitting at home, having been a busy person in India. I too felt the same initially, later though did not get busy used to keep me occupied few hours atleast.

If you can drive, it will help in going out shopping at times. I do some volunteer work - no pay - just to keep occupied. I used to go to a library near my place and manage an online register for books issual. I knew about it through an ad they placed in a local journal. In return I used to get books for reading for free.
    I am part of an Indian community in our place where I co-ordinate for events conducted in the community. These helped in making some friends, with whom I go out shopping, have pot-luck lunch and dinners like get-together and pass our time.

Induslady and Sowmyapr like this.
  3. bharthi

bharthi Junior IL'ite

I want to try baby sitting!

I think almost everybody who lands in the US in H4 visa goes through the tedious task of figuring out how to keep themselves occupied :roll: