| |||||||||||||||||
| |||||||
| Home | Register | Blogs | Directory | FAQ | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| H4 Indian Ladies Discuss here everything associated with residing as H4 Visa holders |
| REGISTER TODAY! it is SIMPLE, EASY and FREE! You could also WIN a T-Shirt! |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| |||
| Hi friends, anyone here doing voluntary work? Where else can i work apart from the library. Please share your experiences. Do we need to make a resume to apply for voluntary work? I completed my masters in literature before i moved here 8 months back. Can someone suggest what kind of voluntary work i can do .I never worked in India so have no experience .Please guide. Thanks |
| |||
| Hi Deepshikha Apart from libraries you can work in hospitals (in admin and cerical jobs), or you can work as a virtual guide, work at a senior centre. I have myself worked in a hospital. but there is a committment that you have to make, its like for 3 months, and then its mostly 1-2 days in a week... ~Abha |
| |||
| Thanks Abha, Do i need to prepare a resume to apply for voluntary work. Can someone tell what should be included in the resume? Since i have no work experience how can i show that i am the right person for the job? Thanks again. |
| |||
| Hey Let me tell you clearly yaar, you dont have to prove any work experience to work as a volunteer... they dont need a resume... they make you fill out a form, they take interviews... but its for time pass, you get the volunteer job anyways... the work generally involves helping the employees, there wud be no specific work created for you... so dont expect too much. they might give you some Calling work, or data entry work very rarely... you can do it for time pass, and in fact you will get bored of it only in a few weeks... i dont want to dampen your spirits but i just want to tell you not to expect too much so as to be disheartened later... ~Abha |
| ||||
| Hi, Please check this website for more details.I am working in a Library.One of my friend's wife is assisting a professor in the university.May be you can get some thing you like VolunteerMatch: Where Volunteering Begins Bipasha |
| |||
| Hi, I have volunteered in the local adult school. Its quite nice. They took me thorugh an initial training of 2 months and at the end of my tenure there, I also will recieve a certificate of completion of the tutoring program. The interview was reall timepass coz they anyways get to know you during the training. I also had to pass a couple of maths tests as i wanted to teach maths.I didnt have to make a resume :) Pallavi |
| |||
| Hi, Even I want to get into volunteering so please let me know how you approach these non profit orgainsations and get leads. I checked volunteermatch.com abut most of the companies do not have any current openings, is their any other website that I can check for voluntary positions. Thanks Swati |
| |||
| Hi, I have volunteered for almot 4-5 years and the best way I have found is to look in your local newspaper. The sunday edition of our local newspaper includes volunteer opprotunities section and based on your interest, you can approach that specific organisation. Hope this helps and yes it is a great way of keeping yourself busy and does add to your resume when you finally begin to search for a job - it did for me. Good luck. |
| |||
| Hi , i use to live in San Jose and i have friends who are doing their volunteer work in shakara foundation as she mentioned to me. i will call her up this weekend and find out more details but you can do a google search and find out more yourself. shefali |
![]() |
| Display Modes | |
| |