1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

Cost of Living in Detroit

Discussion in 'General Discussions - USA & Canada' started by GomathiNandha, Dec 18, 2014.

1. GomathiNandha

GomathiNandha New IL'ite

Hi All,

My husband has got his H1 and he would be moving to Detroit by end of Feb 2015. Me and my son would join him by end of April 2015 (after the school gets over as H4 dependants).I need your valuable suggestions.

1. I'm currently working and i would resign by end of February 2015. Is it possible to WFH or find a job with H4 status.
    2. My son is into Senior KG now and he has to be enrolled for grade 1? How is the schooling at Detroit and what would be the average cost?
    3. Is it possible to manage with one salary and what would be the average cost of living?

Awaiting for your valuable responses!

Best Regards,
    Gomathi

2. GomathiNandha

GomathiNandha New IL'ite

I have 7+ years of experience in Recruitment and HR Operations. Do you i need to do something (learn new things / do a course meantime in India) to equip myself to get a job in US.

3. butterflyice

butterflyice Local Champion Staff Member Platinum IL'ite

1. It's illegal to work on H4 status. You cannot work here or find companies to sponsor you for a job.

2. I have no idea about the quality of schooling in Detroit.

3. Yes, its possible to manage with one salary ( I am assuming your husband is into IT). AFAIK Detroit is not an expensive city to live in.

4. poornimakv

poornimakv New IL'ite

Hi butterflyice,

I would be travelling to buffalo grove along with my son in another 2 months. I am sailing in the same boat as Gomathi. Please tell me how is the cost of living in Buffalo Grove. Will it be possible to manage and do a little bit of saving with one salary. Also please let me know good indian grocery stores around :)

5. GomathiNandha

GomathiNandha New IL'ite

Hey butterflyice,