1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

where to settle in USA?

Discussion in 'General Discussions - USA & Canada' started by preeti81, Jul 27, 2012.

1. preeti81

preeti81 New IL'ite

We are a family of three, I am a nurse, husband is a physical therapist and have a baby 9 month old. We have been staying in Indianapolis for last five years. Got our EAD, going to be six months in September end , we are looking to use AC21 move to another state to eventually settle down and buy a house. I can only get to work in California, Florida and Texas due to license issues. Can someone recommend the best option of the three states and in the state, a good city to settle in. Looking for mild weather, good schools, desi community and reasonable cost of living. Thanks a lot for suggestions.

Last edited: Jul 27, 2012

2. OCdesigirl

OCdesigirl Gold IL'ite

Hello,

California has really nice weather, the cost of living is a bit higher than florida and tx, but it is worth it. California has plenty of indians, temples etc. The schools are good for the most part but it varies by city. I have visited tx once it was very dry and hot there. Florida has weather problems from time to time. Southern California has wonderful weather.

Hope this helps,
    Shobhna

3. AnithaPartha

AnithaPartha IL Hall of Fame

Hi,
    We never got a chance to choose the place to live in USA. My projects & company decides that. For my 1st onsite project, I went to Chicago. Then to Los Angeles, then to Irvine, CA and finally ended up in NJ/NY. Out of all sides, I liked CA. So, my vote goes to California.

4. preeti81

preeti81 New IL'ite