1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

Smokies trip, Chicago

Discussion in 'General Discussions - USA & Canada' started by MeenLoch, Nov 19, 2007.

1. MeenLoch

MeenLoch Silver IL'ite

Dear ILs,
    We are visiting Smokies for this Thanksgiving. We ll go hiking the mountain. I need suggestions for things I must be taking ( Other than winter clothes, eatables etc) and a list of "must visit" places there.
    IF any of you have already visited the place, please suggest me. We are going by road from Houston. 14 hrs, with a halt at Mobil.

The next month it ll be a trip to Chicago. So I also need to know "must see" places there. I am a nature loving person. Human's creations also thrill me. Downtown I ll be going anyways. So I ll get to see sears towers and go on a boat ride. This is my first time. Please share with me you ideas.

2. MeenLoch

MeenLoch Silver IL'ite

Ok guys I am back from the trip. So I think I can answer this myself for future readers.
    At Smokies you have easy, moderate and difficult trails to trek on. For the difficult ones, one needs the trekking equipments. I went without any, so had to skip those ones.
    Book in advance for the hotels. Gatlinburg is the place you ll be staying at.
    3 Days are needed, atleast two to have a feel of Smokies.
    Send a PM if you have specific queries. LEt me try answering them.
    A good experience overall.

I went in winter, so could see the snowfall, but the temp was -3 deg Celsius..

It was quite a feast to eyes seeing fall colors all around...

3. vidhyalakshmid

vidhyalakshmid IL Hall of Fame

Hi Meenloch,
    I hope you enjoyed your smokey mountain
    trip. We went to smokies in 2005 spring.
    We drove from New Jersey.We stayed in
    Maggie valley,North Carolina(near cherokee)
    which is on the
    other side where you stayed(Gatlinburg)
    Actually Gatlinburg,TN is more expensive
    But we enjoyed the window shopping there.