Go Back   IndusLadies > Indusladies World > India > General Discussions-India

Home Register Forum Blogs Directory FAQ Mark Forums Read

Recent Threads
Go to first new post Daily Prayer On Sai Baba.
by Priesh
Last post by deepss25
Today 10:45 AM
7,541 Replies, 38,370 Views
Go to first new post I am a pukka...
Last post by 4mangopeople
Today 10:44 AM
0 Replies, 1 Views
Go to first new post Foam crafts and others -...
Last post by pavithra55
Today 10:41 AM
8 Replies, 44 Views
Go to first new post Astrological predictions
Last post by Pragaspathy
866 Replies, 20,900 Views
Go to first new post மன உறுதி
Last post by deepa04
3 Replies, 15 Views
ramanichandran novels...
by smsdevi
Last post by madumitha
Today 10:37 AM
638 Replies, 98,495 Views
ஒரு
Last post by deepa04
Today 10:36 AM
3 Replies, 13 Views
mirror work on red saree
Last post by pavithra55
Today 10:34 AM
17 Replies, 194 Views
August 2010 Mommies
Last post by simply_doubtful
Today 10:31 AM
210 Replies, 4,307 Views
Set your priorities...
Last post by sita2223
Today 10:30 AM
33 Replies, 947 Views
Current Poll
Are you getting logged out of the site frequently?
Yes - 23.68%
9 Votes
No - 76.32%
29 Votes
Total Votes: 38
You may not vote on this poll.

Old 19th November 2008, 07:25 AM

State: Tamilnadu
leelal Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)
Default A Train journey with Indian Mobile Phones

During Diwali eve, I was travelling by a south bound train. I had booked an AC ticket in the day train to avoid the Diwali crowd.When I got into the train, I realized that the chair car coach was replaced by a AC birth coach for this trip. I felt very happy as a birth would be more convenient to travel with no extra cost.

Due to the festival eve, the train was full and in our cabin, instead of 8 seaters, we had 10 seaters. Couple of them had already occupied the birth, so rest of us were sharing the seats below.
I too occupied the top birth so that I can have a peaceful book reading and sleep for the next 8 hours.

A family with a 6 months baby was seated opposite and 2 more ladies and 4 gents in our cabin. Another 10 mins were left for the train to start.
I just settled myself and opened a good management book. Suddenly I heard a tamil music "Nakku mookku nakku mooku Nakku Mookku" bonk in a higher decibel. It was quiet loud that all of us started paying attention to the direction from where the noise came. It was form one of the gentleman's mobile seated in the side birth. He attended the phone only after 4 or 5 rings as he was going through the calling number to take it or not. The gentleman started his conversation in Tamil (Though I don't eavesdrop, it was unavoidable) about his unplanned absenteesam from office due to diwali rush and also abt the small bonus they got for the festival.. It was a cribbing session went on quiet long for abt 20 mins.

In between, second gentleman's mobile and another lady's mobile started beeping. One is the song from Dasavatharam "Om namo Narayanaya" and the lady's an English song.. The lady had the courtesy to answer the phone in a low tone while the gentleman was shouting loud to some of his subordinates about the sudden pop up of issues. He immediately opened his laptop, connected to internet using GPRS and started discussing abt the issues.. for next 30 mins. Alas , save us Rant
The lady seated below has been speaking softly and also only for short duration. Suddenly there is a vibration on the device that is held to my chest.. (as I keep the phone in silence mode in public travel). The call was from home on to check abt whether I have started. I simply sent a message home abt the status and left the call un-answered.

Tried to concentrate on first chapter of the book. By then one of the 2 mobiles that were on were silent now. As I moved to page 4, there was another music "Nakku Mookku Nakku Mooku" and this is from a different mobile. Every one was checking their pocket and handbag to check where the noise from. Later realised it's the person who has been sleeping in opposite birth. He was so deep in his sleep that he did not realise to attend the call. It kept on ringing for next 2 mins.Big Laugh
By now, there were couple of small message beeps and the concerned were checking their messages.
Not even we had reached Arakkonam ( 1 hour from chennai), couple of phones started ringing simultaneously. One that belongs to the family and the other on the Project tracker who was still working in his laptop.
The kid's father was proudly conveying abt his kid's activity status to his parents and when tentatively the train would reach Salem and also abt the crowd status. Though it was not loud, still audible.But he kept on passing the phone to his kid's ears and also to his wife to listen and talk to the other end.
I am sure there would have been lots of crosstalks heard as one was tracking issues in a loud noise and other having a casual talk.

Now its the turn of the second lady's mobile. "Nannare nannare naare naare.... from Guru.. She got up from her nap and responded the call. It was a casual call from one of her friend on what she has bought for diwali and more on diwali shopping for her family..
Now the college student's mobile started ringing. Its from his friend and the conversation was so long and loud. It covered all topics on current IT trends, lay offs, various job employment melas, about other friends who are looking for jobs in Bangalore and chennai, about the train crowd and diwali shopping. I think they don't worry abt the bill as BSNL and other operators have separate cheap schemes for college students and their parents tip them well.
Now after all this, I lost my hope on reading the book and closed it. Tried to concentrate on sleep.

Though we were 10 of them in the cabin, we were not talking as groups, not facing each other, but talking to our friends and relatives. I was also little irritated with headache. I wonder is it that I am not accomodative about so many mobile rings? I had the urge to talk to the people who had been talking loud to maintain some decibel levels, but controlled it as I might appear in-human.

I started thinking about a 1.5 decade ago when mobiles were rarely available and the tele-density was very low.

We used to write letters to update our parents/relatives abt the trip, call our neighbour's phone to inform any emergency news.
Now that each member of the family holds couple of mobile phones (personal, official) and carries out conversation for every silly thing, I am proud to say India is growing and there is tremendous potential.. for more growth.

At the same time, we are lacking civic or social sense on using the technology without disturbing public.
My God, I was just waiting for my destination to reach and popped up a headache pill along with a striong coffee.......
Old 19th November 2008, 07:49 AM

City: Westerville
State: Ohio
SupriyaDinesh Reputation Level is 2 (Very Good Poster)
Default Re: A Train journey with Indian Mobile Phones

Hi Leelal,
Thats a vivid description.Mobile phone has become a part of daily routine and now that the signal is good throughout the journey,no need to ask about its usage during travel.May be next tim eyou can use ear plugs for your journey.Enjoyed your post.
Old 19th November 2008, 09:28 AM

City: Pune/Chennai
State: Maharashtra
vsar Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Smile Re: A Train journey with Indian Mobile Phones

Nice Thread.
We Indians are very poor when it comes to Mobile Phone Manners. We keep the phone with loud ringing tone and speak loudly without bothering about the surroundings.
Old 19th November 2008, 09:52 AM
IL Hall Of Fame
Private Message User
Forum Moderator

State: tamilnadu
Shanvy Reputation Level is 2 (Very Good Poster)

leelal,

Could visualise and identify. i don't even mind the naaku mukku, have you heard some hello tunes yaradu..............and some dialogue and some have caller tunes also..my god..cannot blame people's taste yaar..

but you are right. even today when i was at the bank, there is a board inside that says no cell phones inside the bank..and i see this gentleman's phone... mukunda mukunda and then he starts on a conversation so loud, that the branch manager came out and asked him to continue outside, that helped us..

Looks like lot of them like loud jarring tunes,,and they want everybody to be privy to their affairs...

Some do listen to fm so loud that you become noise deaf (colour blind )....

phone manners/etiquette what is that???

Mobiles were/are a boon for communication and keeping in touch, the problem arises when it becomes more..and we the people want more than mobiles....that is where the problem starts....

Just when I think I have learned the way to live, life changes - Hugh Prather

Join me at Sanguine Squiggles to celebrate the woman of substance

Old 19th November 2008, 05:09 PM

City: **
State: **
Gowri66 Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

Leelal,
Good one !! Enjoyed reading your words !!

Liked Shanthi's words a lot !

Success is Sweet, but it's Secret is Sweat

Last edited by Gowri66; 20th November 2008 at 01:01 PM.
Old 19th November 2008, 05:39 PM

City: Sunnyvale
State: California
Mythraeyi Reputation Level is 2 (Very Good Poster)

that was such an apt description of mobile phone usage in India nowadays. I enjoyed reading it.
Old 19th November 2008, 06:08 PM
Private Message User
Forum Moderator

City: xxxxx
State: xxxx
Cutepavi Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

hey Leelal,
Felt like i was in the train!! and got a little bit of your head ache... i always used to feel irritated on other's phone and their loud talking...

i never understand why people dont understand why they dont understand that people near them are least interested in hearing their stuffs!!!bonk
Old 25th November 2008, 04:08 AM

City: Jamshedpur
State: Jharkhand
aarthilr Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

Recently read in a newspaper that physical interaction between people has greatly reduced due to large usage of cell phones and internet.People prefer to use these trend setting technologies rather than getting introduced to new people in a train journey or reading a book or silentlly observing what's happening around.

Aarthi
Old 26th November 2008, 04:15 AM

State: Tamil Nadu
Referrals: 18
Varloo Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

naakka mukka is bearable. Hubby says one of his colleagues has a different caller tune- it asks the person to answer the call politely first then slowly ruder and ruder and then gives abuses... whew! What a taste! Hubby had a message alert tone- message appa message appa message app- please appa, mesage appa......... So irritating.
One of my niece's friends came to stay with us for a few days till she could get accomodation in a hostel. She used to come home by 9.30 and she would not even complete a sentence to me that her phone will ring. She will be talking on the phone or replying to messages- she could never talk to us who are in front of her. All the 10 days passed like this. She said that she could not avoid talking or messaging or her friends would think that she is arrogant. The calls would come even after midnight. If you cannot even spare a few minutes for a person who is taking you without any hitch for some time, what is the use?
It is more irritating to hear such tunes in a temple, or during a pooja or in a cinema theatre.
When we travel to Kerala, all we could hear co passengers talking is- the train is nearing this station, are you in the parking lot etc. only.
Old 26th November 2008, 04:36 AM

City: pune
State: maharashtra
roopadadia Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

Leelal, that was an hilarious description that you have etched.

One of my colleague had changed her DH ring tone to "Hi Ash darling calling". Her DH was not aware of this and next day he was in the conference room and suddenly his phone started ringing. He had forgotten to put it in silent mode and imagine he is there explaining something to all in the conf room and his cell ringing with the above message. Everyone burst out calling and she got a royal firing when she went home in the evening.

Her hubby works for a MNC at a senior level.