Go Back   IndusLadies > Indusladies World > India > General Discussions-India

View Poll Results: Is this correct or wrong?
Correct 9 36.00%
Wrong 16 64.00%
Voters: 25. You may not vote on this poll

Old 31st May 2008, 02:29 PM

City: pune
State: maharashtra
Post Re: Is this correct?

Dear Krishnamma

i havent personally read the lesson but i personally feel that if the lesson is more focoused on his initial days of his struggle, his will power, his ambition, and the hard work he has put in to survive through his bad days rather than his life after he became a star ( we can take the eg of Sudha Chandran), then it is fine. This lesson can be one of the small examples on fruits of hardship.
But i also agree to aruna's say that this incoming of the stars in the syallabus should not continue as that may impact the childrens mind regarding a career in films which isnt a good idea.

Bye
Sanyogita

Old 31st May 2008, 11:38 PM
IL Hall Of Fame

City: Al Khobar
State: Dammam
Referrals: 7
Question Re: Is this correct?

Originally Posted by padmininatarajan View Post

The whole issue here is that our country lacks role models!

There was a time when Freedom fighters set aside their personal lives to fight for the country and its independance. So some generations had these figures in their text books. Now all those figures have faded from living memory and their contributions have lost its significance.

Who do the kids hear about, read about and see as living people who have achieved something--film stars and sports stars. So they can easily identify with their achievements instead of people framed on the walls or statues covered with bird droppings and rubbish.

Remember this is a generation that believes in 'WYSIWYG'--what you see is what you get.

Anyway morals and values have changed their validity so much. Better than having corrupt and murderous politicians as role models don't you think?

Padmini Natarajan
Hi Padmini,

Ok what you are saying is correct. We are not having correct role models. But we have to think the side effects of that. already thousands of young girls and boys are coming to cities to become a super star and spoils their life. If you put them in the text book and repeatedly reading and by hearting the story the number will increase from thousand to lakhs. this is my worry.Otherwise no second opinon about his hard work.

thanks for your comments.

Old 31st May 2008, 11:46 PM
IL Hall Of Fame

Unhappy Re: Is this correct?

Originally Posted by sharadha View Post
Hi Krishn(amma),

I personally feel that it is correct partially. The children should take the essence of hard work and how he came thru the hardships to achieve his goal. He is a live example. "NALLADHU YAAR SONNALUM KETTUKKANUM".

The school teachers should see to that the children takes the good qualities in him as a live example for hard work and determination along with being a good human being.
Hi Sharadha,

If the children started taking everything in the correct sense means no problem at all. That is the main problem I am talking about. Because you have to

rome and sell the buttermilk but for licker you can sell it from your place.

மோரை தான் கூவி கூவி விற்கணும், சாரயம் இருந்த இடத்திலேயே வித்துடும். சரியா?

பாலை மட்டும் பிரித்து எடுத்துக் கொள்ளும் சக்கரவாக பக்ஷி இல்லை நம் குழந்தைகள். அது தான் பிரச்சனையே !

Old 31st May 2008, 11:57 PM
IL Hall Of Fame

Originally Posted by swarnalata.N.S. View Post
So long as the textbook lessons are not talking about his bad habits and his films, it is ok as the story of a man who rose from rags to riches and is still a good human being making it lesson for young children to know value of hard work, dedication and perseverence. Instead of putting sermons about some old historical character who the child cannot even visualise, keeping the example of flesh and blood ( and famous) man will help i think. Then the child will not treat it like only some story or fairy tale.
Hi Swarnalatha,

The visualising is the problem ma. The child will see the style, dance and unwanted things only. They learn that by keeping him as role model. Today in the news Dr. Anbu mani ramadas, is saying as per WHO 16% of college and school students are smoking. and he also added this is because of cinema. for this what do you say? our children will learn bad habits first and continue the same. Here I want to tell you about a Koundamani and Sendhil joke. ( I dont know you see Tamil Pictures)

To explain the bad effects of licker koundamani will put a small insect in one tumbler of licker and he will show it to sendhil.
After some time the insect will die.
Then he will ask sendhil, what is the moral?
Shendil will say, " if you drink licker, all the small insects which are in your stomach will die"

This is what going to happen in future. All our children will understand the lesson like this only no doubt. Sorry to say this.

Old 1st June 2008, 12:01 AM
IL Hall Of Fame

Question Re: Is this correct?

Originally Posted by Nandshyam View Post
History is about people's achievements, isn't?

Their achievement is what will be recorded for future.

Ambani, Narayanamurthy, TATA, Wipro CEO.. anyone who have achieved something and is a good example for future generations to be role models can be and should be included in their text books..

They all are hardworking people, who proved that sky is the limit and the word impossible doesn't exist.
Hi Nandhu,

If the children compare with Ambani, Narayanamurthy or TATA no problem. Surely they will come up one day. But as I said before, if they want to become super star like Rajini Kanth?.......... They will spoil their life as well as their parents and their whole family's life. Now thousands are coming to cities and this will increase in furture. that is all.

Old 1st June 2008, 12:05 AM
IL Hall Of Fame

Originally Posted by sanyogita View Post
Dear Krishnamma

i havent personally read the lesson but i personally feel that if the lesson is more focoused on his initial days of his struggle, his will power, his ambition, and the hard work he has put in to survive through his bad days rather than his life after he became a star ( we can take the eg of Sudha Chandran), then it is fine. This lesson can be one of the small examples on fruits of hardship.
But i also agree to aruna's say that this incoming of the stars in the syallabus should not continue as that may impact the childrens mind regarding a career in films which isnt a good idea.

Bye
Sanyogita
Hi Sanyogita,

I too dont know about the full lesson. I got this information, and some questions on that particular lesson with some photos. In that post itself the boy is telling 'thilaivar' and 'thilivar' for each and everything. So they will fight with other students who are Vijay Kanth's fan or Kamala Hasan's fan. They will not understand the moral of the lesson.
That is why fairy tales are better I think. If they keep this lesson for film Institute students means, no problem at all.

Old 1st June 2008, 03:10 PM

Default Re: Is this correct?

Originally Posted by krishnaamma View Post
Hi Sanyogita,

I too dont know about the full lesson. I got this information, and some questions on that particular lesson with some photos. In that post itself the boy is telling 'thilaivar' and 'thilivar' for each and everything. So they will fight with other students who are Vijay Kanth's fan or Kamala Hasan's fan. They will not understand the moral of the lesson.
That is why fairy tales are better I think. If they keep this lesson for film Institute students means, no problem at all.
Hi Krishanaama

You have said that the boy is saying "thilaivar" and Thilivar for everything, I'm sorry but being a non south indian i have no idea what that means. if it is something not good then maybe you are right, children pick up unwanted things pretty easily, infact not only children but also adults. Maybe it is human nature i suppose. and yes fairy tails are far.... more better. honestly even today i just love them.

ok bye for now, my son is waking up.
good night
sanyogita
Old 2nd June 2008, 04:51 AM
IL Hall Of Fame

Smile Re: Is this correct?

Hi sanyogita,

"Thalaivar" means "head person" ok ya?

Last edited by krishnaamma; 2nd June 2008 at 04:51 AM.
Old 2nd June 2008, 07:37 AM

State: tamil nadu

Krishnaamma ! That was very funny joke ( Koundamani-senthil) Yes i see tamil movies but dont remember that one !

Like you say there may be danger that children will pick up wrong ideas only !
I am reminded of one Reader's Digest bit :
The teacher will tell class about Thomas Alva Edison, his full life story from childhood , being drop out, suffering hearing problem,poverty etc to making electricity and becoming famous and all . Then he will ask kids : What did you learn from his story ?
One boy will say : " I learnt it is not necessary to go to school to become famous scientist "
Old 2nd June 2008, 03:11 PM

hi Krishnaamma

Thanks. got a new word for my vocablury.