| |||||||||||||||||
| |||||||
| Home | Register | Blogs | Directory | FAQ | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Queries on Religion & Spirituality Post your queries about religion & spirituality that does not fit in any of the abvoe sub-forums |
| REGISTER TODAY! it is SIMPLE, EASY and FREE! You could also WIN a T-Shirt! |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| |||
| Hi Ladies, I am starting a new thread where we can share the rituals and customs and celebrations people do perform on the Mahavir Jayanti. Mahavir Jayanti is the main Jain festival. Mahavirswami is the twenty-fourth Tirthankar.Mahavir Jayanti is also celebrated during the 8 day holy period of Paryushan. During this period, pre-defined readings are carried out from a holi scripture - Kalpa Sutra that contains biographies of Jain Tirthankars. Biography of Mahavir Swami, particularly His birth, is read on the day of Mahavir Jayanti. But I do have a question to all the ladies out here in Indusladies,ie is it strictly meant for the Jain people or who follow Jainism.I asked this question because I have heard from many Hindu people who mostly dwelt in the northern part of India,performing the rituals and customs of Mahavir Jayanti.Is there any Vrat or any special custom on the Mahavir Jayanti or if there are any restrictions on the food part like in many Hindu festivals non vegetarian food are prohibited. I am a very interested in the mythological history of Mahavir and Gautam Buddha and so wanted to know from the ladies about the real facts as the ladies may know better. Share your ideas experiences and thoughts Ladies!!! I will be waiting to hear from you. Sudarshana |
| |||
| Hi all, Mahavir Jayanti is the biggest Jain festival celebrated in India to commemorate the birth anniversary of Lord Mahavira. When I was in Sarni,One of my favorite aunt, Lata Jain use to celebrate Mahavir Jayanti.She is very religious woman. As Mahavir Jayanti occurs during the eight-day holy period called Paryushan, she starts the day with talks on Kalpsutra Vachan, a holy book that begins with the birth of Mahavir, to his early days, and his diksha or benediction.Then samuh chaitya vandan and aarti occur. She always participates in contribution of the expenses and tries for sponsoring the prasad. She does fasting also for 10 days.Daily she and her son siddharth go to Jain Mandir. This is how they celebrates Mahavir Jayanti. |
| |||
| Hi, Mahavir Jayanti is the Jain festival. But It is not that only they can celebrate it. I saw in Rajasthan, usually government organize Rallies and distribution of sweets, food to celebrate it. We were in Jaipur. There held music performances and other cultural programs. It extend for a week.A children’s program could also be held during this occasion, where they could display their talents. My cousin Sajal also sensitize about satsangs and discourses, and It was his chance to learn the Navkar Mantra – the most important mantra in Jainism. While reciting the Navkar Mantra, we bow down to the Panch Parmeshthis or the five supreme spiritual beings – those who have achieved the state of non-attachment towards the world; liberated souls; monks; nuns; and teachers of spiritual living (Acharyas and Upadhyays). Last edited by PandeyKranti : 15th May 2008 at 03:19 PM. Reason: Font formatting |
| |||
| Hi When I was in Kolkata,I didnt see much of Mahavir Jayanti unless than my mother used to keep a fast by not taking any non veg food.I heard that Rallies are being held but hardly be seen in Kolkata . But as per the topic depicts Mahavir Jayanti is not at all only meant for the Jains.I think most of the Hindus does celebrate it. |
| |||
| Hi Friends, Nice topic altogether. But I know that Mahavir Jayanti is not at all only for the Jain.Ya it is a big festival in Jainism and the one of the main festivals that Jains celebrate in the same way just like Ganesh Pooja for the Marathi people.Diwali for all of us or Durga pooja among the Bengali people. I am a punjabi by birth and I have seen my mom and grandma to do the fast for Mahavir Jayanti.Even I have some non Punjabi members in my family who equally are aware about the fast of Mahavir Jayanti. What others say.? |
| |||
| Hi All, Very true Thats why India is renown as "Unity in Diversity".Even When I was in Bhopal,We use to visit Jain Temple on Mahavir Jayanti.My mom do vrit on this auspicious day.Our family enjoyed "Sabudaane ki khichdi" which I also cook on Mahavir Jayanti. Usually All people in India asre of many festivals no matter what religion,language they belongs to. Cheers, Namita |
![]() |
| Display Modes | |
| |