1. Handy Kitchen Tips that You cannot Miss : Solutions for all your Problems
    Dismiss Notice

First time with gardening.

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by kkmom, Feb 19, 2013.

1. kkmom

kkmom Silver IL'ite

Hi,

I am new to gardening, Since I live in apartment I can go with planting in pots.

Last summer I just planted mint and coriander. In the open space in front of my house. THis time its new place, and only the balcony is left for me.

Can some one guide me where should I buy soil and seeds, and when is the right time to start my home garden.

2. Ansuya

Ansuya Platinum IL'ite

Kkmom, I am an amateur gardener too. The thing you should do is find out what hardiness zone you live in

USDA Plant Hardiness Zone Map

This will tell you when and what to plant, and also help you to make the most of your gardening efforts. The US is so vast, and encompasses so many different types of climates and soils, that you have to keep your zone in mind.

I find that my local landscape and gardening supply store is more than happy to advise me about what to buy and how to plant. I use an organic soil mix from them, and also take their recommendations. Even if you don't end up buying anything every time, they are usually helpful and chatty, being gardening enthusiasts themselves.

Of course, it depends on where you are. I tend to avoid the big box stores (like Lowe's and Menards) because personally, I don't think their service or products are as good as those offered by my local stores. The big box stores may be cheaper and more convenient, so it is personal preference and means that counts here.

My local food co-op also sells plants (mostly herbs, like you want to plant) and seeds. I trust them because they are devoted to local and organic/natural materials and processes. My favorite place for seeds and plants, though, is the Seed Savers Exchange

Seed Savers Exchange: Passing on our Garden Heritage