Go Back   IndusLadies > Family and Relationship > Religion & Spirituality > Functions Festivals Rituals

Home Register Blogs Directory FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Functions Festivals Rituals Discuss about the various functions , festivals and rituals that take place in the Indian Culture

REGISTER TODAY! it is SIMPLE, EASY and FREE! You could also WIN a T-Shirt!

Old 4th April 2008, 05:34 PM
Shopping Assistant

City: Jersey city
State: New Jersey
Default Re: Let us welcome the Tamil New Year SARVADHARI !

Dear Chithra amma,

Really so nice gesture of you explaining each and every traditional&customs.

We feel we always have some one for us to ask our doubts, as we all are very far from our family& elders.

Happy Tamil New year to all Our ILites....:)).

Did you check out the Indusladies Shopping Mall?

Last edited by gokusha : 4th April 2008 at 05:34 PM.

Old 4th April 2008, 10:17 PM
IL Hall Of Fame

State: tamil nadu
Referrals: 28

Dear Corallux,
As far as I know there is no stipulated puja to be done on New Years Day.
It is customary to keep all auspicious things like - gold or silver or plain coins,rice, dhal,fruits, vegetables, coconut, a mirror etc in front of the deity & look at it, first thing in the morning. Then light the lamp. Make any sweet & offer naivedhyam.

Originally Posted by corallux View Post
Dear Chithraji,

Happy New year to you.

It is Gudi Padva/Ugadi on 060408.

Could you please help with more info on the pooja procedure for that day (home & Business)?

Thanks a lot for all your help.

Corallux
Old 4th April 2008, 10:34 PM

City: Glen Allen
State: Virginia

Dear Chithra aunty,

Let me first wish you ...

TAMIL PUTHTHAANDU NALVAAZHTHUKKAL!

WISH YOU A VERY HAPPY AND PROSPEROUS TAMIL NEW YEAR!

You have listed down the deepam shlokams...and I have a small doubt..

one of the shlokas

1 - deepo jyotih param brahma deepo jyotih janaardhanaha
deepo harathu me paapam sandhyaa deepo namo(a)stutae

தீ(3)போ ஜோதி பரம் ப்(3)ரம்ஹ தீ(3)போ ஜோதி ஜனார்தன:
தீ(3)போ ஹரது மே பாபம் ஸந்த்(4)யா தீ(3)போ நமோஸ்துதே

you have written deepo twice in the first line..

whereas the same shloka that I am having, it says...deepam in the same place.

While lighting the lamp (dipa,) the Hindu prayer is:

Deepam-jyothi para-brahma
Deepam jyothi Janardhanaha Deepo Haratume Papam Sandhyaa deepam namo-stute

"I prostrate to the dawn/dusk lamp whose light is Supreme Knowledge which removes the darkness of ignorance and by which all can be achieved. "

Does both mean the same meaning as "Lamp" even though one says "deepo" and the other says " deepam"?

Can you please clarify this?

Krithika (Jithiks)

Old 4th April 2008, 10:50 PM
IL Hall Of Fame

Dear Krithika,
Yes, both mean the same. It is called "Pata bedham".
Old 5th April 2008, 04:33 AM

State: Tamilnadu

Thankyou Chitraji for posting the slokams.
I am proceeding to Sabarimala on 9th and this years new Year will be in presence of HIM.
Happy New Year Wishes to all our ILs.
Old 5th April 2008, 05:44 AM
Greeter

City: 6th of october city
State: Cairo

To all my Tamil Friends Happy Sarvadhari
To all my non Tamil Friends Happy Ughadi
To all my ILities Happy Hindu New Year...........
Old 5th April 2008, 05:56 AM

City: Navi Mumbai
State: Maharashtra

Dear chits,

You are my guru where puja procedures are concerned. I follow your words like a good disciple. Your second post if full of "???" why.... Some other regional font you have used? I cant read it.
Old 5th April 2008, 06:02 AM
IL Hall Of Fame

Dear Mals,
Second is fully in tamil! First is good enough for those who can't read tamil.
Chits.

Originally Posted by malspie View Post
Dear chits,

You are my guru where puja procedures are concerned. I follow your words like a good disciple. Your second post if full of "???" why.... Some other regional font you have used? I cant read it.
Old 5th April 2008, 10:23 AM

City: North Brunswick
State: Garden State

Thanks much Chitra Mam..

You are awesome :)

Wish you and your family a very prosperous and Happy New Year !!

thought this might help too :)

Old 5th April 2008, 10:27 AM

City: North Brunswick
State: Garden State

Chitra Mam.. is the following same for US people too

"On 13th sunday, at 6.28 PM, Suryan shifts from Meenam to Mesham.This is the time our New Year is born."