Go Back   IndusLadies > Family and Relationship > Religion & Spirituality > Functions Festivals Rituals

Old 28th May 2008, 08:25 AM

City: Stamford
State: Connecticut
Default Re: Durga Puja in kolkata

Durga pujo to aste chollo...can anybody tell what is the exact date of Durga puja in India in 2008....
Old 28th May 2008, 01:03 PM

City: xxx
State: xxx
Default Hanuman Jayanthi on May 30th

Hello Indusladies,

I was confused when i saw that Hanuman Jayanthi is being celebrated more than once from April to May in Hindu temples both in India & USA.

Actually it being celebrated here as "Hanuman Jayanthi" tomorrow evening i.e on 29th May ( early hrs of 30th may in India).

Then i came across the below link on the web which says in Andhra Pradesh, the 41-day Hanuman Jayanti Deeksha begins on April 20 and ends on May 30, 2008...also tells "How to observe Hanuman Jayanthi".

So this might be the reason.

Hanuman Jayanthi 2008

Thought this link would be also useful to all Hanuman devotees .

I invite all of you to throw some light on this topic and share the pooja vidhanams.

"Jai Sree Ram "

"Jai Hanuman"

ManuuRaghuu
Old 28th May 2008, 01:52 PM

City: chillU.S
State: U.S
Default Re: Hanuman Jayanthi on May 30th

hi maanu
thanks for starting this thread.I didn't remember it.
Actually I heard that any festival starts only after sun rises.
Even though if the festival starts the night before the day but we will celebrate it in early hours.i.e only after sun rises.

Last edited by dweepa; 28th May 2008 at 01:54 PM.
Old 29th May 2008, 04:34 AM

City: Abudhabi
State: Abudhabi
Default Re: Durga Puja in kolkata

DURGA PUJA 2008
DATE
FESTIVAL
6th October 2008
Durga Puja - Saptami
7th October 2008
Durga Puja - Mahashtami
8th October 2008
Durga Puja - Navami
9th October 2008
Durga Puja - Vijaya Dasami
Old 29th May 2008, 09:18 AM

City: xxx
State: xxx
Smile Re: Hanuman Jayanthi on May 30th

Hi Dweepa & all,

Thanks to you too for replying.But i have seen that in the Hindu Temples here in USA any pooja pertaining to a festival is done the before evening...(early hrs of IST) Hence we are celebrating the festivals and doing pooja in the evenings at home i.e during the time when pooja is being done at the temple here and visit the temple later.

Should we change the practice.I invite all of you to discuss on this matter and also on Hanuman Jayanthi.

ManuuRaghuu
Old 31st May 2008, 11:49 AM

State: Tamilnadu
Default Needed info on Vadhiyar (Priest) in Chennai!

Hello Friends,

For an Upanayanam to be performed in Chennai, need a good info on Vadhiyars (Iyengar) in Chennai, affordable (not too high grade), good in Vaideeham (Rituals). Kindly provide the contact details if possible. Thanks.

FP Winner-Apr08

Vanaja

Last edited by srinivasan_vanaja; 31st May 2008 at 11:53 AM.
Old 8th June 2008, 07:18 PM

City: chicago
State: il
Default Griha pravesh

Hello, I was wondering when is a good day to do griha pravesh in chicago area from june 16th to july 30th. Also what should be done? I dont want to make it too formal by calling priests, just wanted something simple.

Chitra
Old 10th June 2008, 09:49 AM

City: --
State: --
Question Significance of Shivratri for vaishnavites

I have known that Vaishnavites do not fast during Shivratri. Why is it so? Is it wrong for a Vaishnavite to fast during this festival?

According to me, Shivaratri is a festival celebrated for the prosperity of the husband and to have a good married life.

When questioned I have only got back the answer that it is because Vaishnavites are the followers of Vishnu and that is why Shivaratri is just like a regular festival for them and therefore they do not fast. This reason has not been very convincing to me !

Hope to see your views on this !
Old 2nd July 2008, 08:41 AM

City: chillU.S
State: U.S
Default Where can I get old telugu calendars(1970-2000)

Can I get old calendars in any store in India? or online?
Old 15th August 2008, 08:44 AM

City: Singapore
State: Singapore
Default Aavani Attam

Tomorrow is avani attam can anyone please tell me the auspicious time when the new punal can be worn as per singapore time.Also please let me know if there is any site where we can find all the festivals and the auspicious time as per different countries.

Thanks in advance