1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Rifts

Discussion in 'Friends & Neighbours' started by coolsandy, Sep 8, 2014.

1. coolsandy

coolsandy Gold IL'ite

I was an above average student during my school/college days. Just a few achievements that every other above average student would have and nothing really great to boast about.

But, I have faced a few problems when I meet my friends' parents or cousins/aunts/uncles. Like assuming that, that particular friend/cousin is not good at studies or something; when we are together, their parents would point out them and say that "see... ur friend/cousin is achieving so much, and you are not doing anything at all " or something like that. And that causes tension between us, i.e, my friends/cousins and myself. Even without me knowing it or though I have not done anything, there is a rift between us and that would never fade away. I can sense that hatred in their faces.

Not just during school/college days, I see this happening even now. I happened to stay with a friend for few days. Neither of us is a really good cook, but I am much better than her. One of her neighbours is really close to her and visits her once or twice daily. They both share a very good rapport and she happened to taste my food once. All three of us were having lunch together, and she happened to mention to my friend, about me, that "she cooks very well and she seems to have an understanding about regional cuisines very well" and that sparked unwanted tension between us. My friend made a long face and was never the same to me again. We are still friends but not with that zing. That neighbour was really not inducing anything bad in our relationship, but it happened without even her knowing it.

I think it happened many times, too... rifts between two persons, created because of a third person. I really go helpless in such situations. How do you guys deal with it?

1 person likes this.

2. padmaja909