1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

We have nothing in common !!!

Discussion in 'Friends & Neighbours' started by hrastro, Feb 19, 2013.

1. hrastro

hrastro Platinum IL'ite

We have nothing in common !!! When I got married to my DH, his friends and their wives gave me a place in their lives !!! But I had nothing in common with the friends wives !!!

I did not have any idea about cooking.
    Or clothes - never bothered about them - except they should be easy to wash in the machine -
    Gold Jewellery - why should I buy gold jewellery, talk about Gold ETFs !!!
    Movies - I only know 90s hindi movies - just know some telugu yesteryears heroes - that too, I sometimes recognise, sometimes I dont!!!

What do I talk with these girls with whom I have absolutely nothing in common.

Me I studied all over India, am an engineer, MBA with foreign work experience and got married at 27, they started cooking at age 12 and got married at 22 !!!

I used to feel more comfortable talking to the guys regarding office, gadgets, books, finance and corporate stuff.... but I used to make an effort with the girls and they too slowly started to understand me.

Most importantly we had an open mind to accept each other.

I used to give wonderful compliments on their cooking and learned some recipes, they implemented my own ideas reg health and changed their cooking style...
    They used to ask me about the latest gadgets in the market, advice about finances, what to give as gifts for friends (other than clothes), places to visit...

Slowly we started getting comfortable with each other.

we went on several trips together. we brought up our kids together and slowly we built an understanding.
    They help me with choosing the design for a blouse, I help their kids with studies,
    I leave my kid at their place when I'm out of town, they leave their kid at my place when they need to leave out of town.