Go Back   IndusLadies > IndusLadies Central > Contests, Winners & Prizes > Finest Posts of IL

Home Register Forum Blogs Directory FAQ Mark Forums Read

Recent Threads
Go to first new post Procedure/Questions on...
Last post by auserid8
Today 10:52 PM
36 Replies, 4,366 Views
Namasmaranam!
Last post by saras123
Today 10:50 PM
4,069 Replies, 35,885 Views
Wife becoming a problem!...
Last post by vidhkarthik
Today 10:47 PM
17 Replies, 656 Views
Who am I part 3
Last post by NDrHema
Today 10:47 PM
7,682 Replies, 70,231 Views
Kolangal serial to end...
Last post by Gitunandakumar
Today 10:42 PM
1 Replies, 2 Views
Support - Prayer Group...
by kashvya
Last post by saras123
Today 10:41 PM
1,647 Replies, 20,560 Views
Strange...
by leenu
Last post by SriVidya75
Today 10:41 PM
110 Replies, 6,808 Views
Things women say/do that...
by ajain35
Last post by vidhkarthik
Today 10:33 PM
29 Replies, 1,168 Views
Tamil ladies in Bangalore
by indhu75
Last post by indhu75
Today 10:23 PM
2 Replies, 27 Views
Shirdi Sai Baba Thurday...
by Priesh
Last post by Priya_Mommy
Today 10:22 PM
8 Replies, 505 Views
Current Poll
which is the best method after IVF transfer
Acupuncture - 0%
0 Votes
yoga - 25.00%
2 Votes
walking - 12.50%
1 Vote
Bedrest - 62.50%
5 Votes
Total Votes: 8
You may not vote on this poll.

Old 1st April 2009, 06:48 AM
Private Message User
Blog Reviewer
Super Moderator

City: Atlanta
State: Georgia
SoaringSpirit Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)
Default Finest Posts - March 2009 Winner!

Dear friends,

Each one of us has their own peculiar way of appreciating beauty. Especially when we witness beauty in all its glory it is very much possible that the sheer magnificence of it gets the most unexpected reactions out of us. Our winner this month captured this human quirk marvelously.

Where mortals like us would try to conquer our beloved’s heart by singing songs like “khoya khoya chaand, khula aasmaan, aankhon mein saari raat jaayegi….” or the song from the movie Half ticket “Chand Raat Tum Ho Saath Kya Karen Aji Ab Yeh Dil Machal Machal Gaya” whilst walking under the cool gaze of a glorious full moon, our winner simply said “Doesn't it surprise you that there are infinitely many objects up there and each one can be distinguished from the other by name?” to his beloved!

We are sure you have guessed the winner by now. Yes of course, it is none other than Ojantrik, lovingly called OJ-da, for his masterpiece -

"Mathematics <vs.> Sankari -- A Moonlit Evening's Tale"

OJ-da has redefined romance with this post! When flowery language and showy words seem to be the order of the day in expressing one’s love or any emotion for that matter, OJ-da proves to us that love needs no language. He proves that deep and true love is like the eternal beauty of that full moon he witnessed that night which needs no words to describe it. It is a magical feeling that one must simply experience and soak themselves in.

It is difficult, if not impossible; to find enough words to describe OJ-da’s exemplary writing skills. His writing is a package that is one of a kind because it has no negatives bundled with the positives. It is a rare combination of positives with more positives. The impeccable language, the crisp narration, the content, the engaging style of writing, the humor, the connection he builds with the reader, the way he connects the reader to the topic, these are just a handful of the shiny qualities of an OJ-da write-up!

He has endeared himself to all of us not just by his writing but also by his warm persona, his easily approachable disposition and his aristocratic yet simple presence. His presence brings the old world Bangla charm to IL in all its glory.

Thank you so much OJ-da for your untiring efforts in entertaining us with your gems. We are not just pleased but blessed and proud to have you in our fold.

It would be unfair to not mention the “significant others” who had a direct or an indirect role in the penning of this wonderful winning post. First and foremost, Ms. Sankari, the inspiration and the reason behind this post! Thank you Cheeniya Sir for first spotting this gem and bringing it to the FP. Would love to see your picture in our IL T-shirt! And thank you Lalli and my partner Kamla for instigating OJ-da to write this post by your FBs to his Hexadecimals post.

Look forward to many more gems from you OJ-da.

Click here to have a look at the gift for this contest.

Lots of luv,
Kamla and SS

Last edited by Laxmi; 4th April 2009 at 05:05 AM. Reason: link for gift picture
Old 1st April 2009, 06:51 AM
Private Message User
Blog Reviewer
Super Moderator

City: Atlanta
State: Georgia
SoaringSpirit Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)
Default Re: Finest Posts - March 2009 Winner!

Dear friends,

How can we not mention the nominations that made this FP very special?

And how can we not thank our patrons like you who tirelessly and enthusiastically bring these gems to the FP so all of us can share the joy of reading? So thank you, thank you and thank you friends for making the FP such a vibrant and colorful place!

On the one hand Malathijagan weaved an insightful and beautiful connection with her visit to a prison and the other things that happened that day, on the other hand she described her visit as a free bird to the intriguing land of Egypt. Both were wonderful posts Malathi and strong contenders for the top slot.

Malini Iyer’s pearls of wisdom on making the most talked about relationship (mil-dil) a success was a total hit with everyone here. And Rihana’s lovely and oh-so-sweet post questioning us on whether we would marry our husband again called for some deep inward thinking sprinkled with a lot of fun and positivity.

If you have been a Mom or seen one at close quarters you will know what a ruckus the little devils cause when being fed. No wonder Gayathriar’s thoughtful post about what you fed your kid today was a stupendous success.

When Aishu shared her weight loss story here, I know for a fact that she inspired many to follow suit. What dedication and grit Aishu!

Sudhirakumar started a very timely and helpful thread on how to spend wisely and save successfully in these tough market conditions. Way to go Sudhira in bringing some great tips to save money out in the open.

While Sabitha_K took us all on a trip about how we should learn to not let our mental circuits trip over menial things like luggage or the lack of it, Oviya brought to us the lovely story about how her husband tripped all over her and fell head over heels in love with her. Both these posts by Sabitha and Oviya introduced a very cute and affable kind of humor into our lives.

We saw the grand entry of another male in this predominantly female domain. Laxminarayan Sir (LN Sir) made a thunderous entry not just into IL but also in the FP in his very first month here by his Saturday afternoon fever and his wonderful post eulogizing a woman and her many strengths. He even gave our thoughts a flight with his trip to the moon!

Padmini M’am was another new entrant that shone bright! She glued us to her writing not with the sticky cookies that she baked but with her engaging and warmth exuding writing. Soon after feeding us cookies she advised us on how to look slim. What an apt addendum Padmini M’am!

Nila welcomed us into her beautiful and envious childhood with her heart warming post about mouth watering Adais. Nila, I would love to visit you at least once just to eat those Adais!

Viji M’am has become a regular in the FP and rightfully so. With her affectionate and caring advices and thoughtful posts, she is a darling elder to have in our fold. Her “Good or tough, its my life” was simple and so very truthful. No long lecture and no heavy advices, just a simple mention of the fact! Very nice.

The return of Navaljee was as noteworthy as the entry of LN Sir. His woes about being on the wrong side of 50 had us in splits.

Bhiku bhai was at his humorous best when he took us all on a joy ride in his stolen car and made us think about diverse topics such as karma and terrorism.

Mindi’s lovely FB was the tip of the iceberg – Kanchenjangha! What a lovely Haiku Mindi.

Of course, the FP would not be complete without its regulars like Mithila M’am, Kamalji and Devika. You are permanent fixtures in the FP and we are extreeeeeemely glad that it is so!

Thanks friends for the lovely writings and the enthusiastic nominations. We look forward to them month after month after month..

Luv,
Kamla and SS

Last edited by SoaringSpirit; 6th April 2009 at 01:18 PM. Reason: spellcheck
Old 1st April 2009, 07:04 AM

State: Tamil nadu
swathi14 Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

Congrats OJ-da for the finest post award.

Dear Kamla & SS,

Apart from announcing the winner, you have shared all the FP nominations in a very beautiful way.

andal

LIFE IS TOO WONDERFUL TO BE SPENT WORRYING.
Old 1st April 2009, 07:13 AM
IL Hall Of Fame
Private Message User

City: Madurai
State: Tamilnadu
varalotti Reputation Level is 2 (Very Good Poster)

Dear OJ Sir,
Hearty congratulations. Yours is a master-piece. The barber-shaving example is the best to explain Russel's paradox. In fact the great mathematician Godel used a variant of this to demolish the then theory that all maths could be codified.
Well the illustration we had for the paradox was not as romantic as the barber. Our example was about a library. The library had an index in which all the books that were in the library were listed. But then that index is also a book. So will it find a place in itself?
Mathematics apart I am simply bowled by the way you built up the story and commanded the language to do whatever you wanted to. The simple, neat composition will stay in my mind for a long long time.

Well done OJ sir. Looking forward to reading many such things from your desk. Pranams to Sankari Madam.
love,
sridhar

Last edited by varalotti; 1st April 2009 at 07:24 AM.
Old 1st April 2009, 07:23 AM

State: TN
aishu22 Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

Dearest Mals,
Thanks a ton for nominating my thread.Its a great honour that my post featured in the Prestigious FP. to you.
Sorry for not acknowledging it earlier, i really didnt check out FP this month due to busy schedules.

Kamla and SS,
Thanks for those lovely words.I wish i stay fit forever!!

When Aishu shared her weight loss story here, I know for a fact that she inspired many to follow suit. What dedication and grit Aishu!

Thanks friends for the lovely writings and the enthusiastic nominations. We look forward to them month after month after month..

Luv,
Kamla and SS
Old 1st April 2009, 07:26 AM

State: TN
aishu22 Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

Hearty Congrats OJ sir!!!!!!!!
Old 1st April 2009, 07:29 AM
IL Hall Of Fame
Private Message User

City: Madurai
State: Tamilnadu
varalotti Reputation Level is 2 (Very Good Poster)

Dear Kamla and Soaring Spirit,

Month after month you two ladies keep me in awe.Over your meticulous replies, the religious indexing,the soft words you use to remind the ILites that the nomination does not belong here or that they should provide the links and to crown all, your coming up with the winning post.

And the almost poetic way in which you make the opening and declaring announcements.

Just now I read the winner post. To have selected that post.. well it shows how you read all the posts, so carefully and chose the winner.

To choose the FP of a month is not as easy is identifying the good amongst the bad. It is the most arduous task of spotting the very best among the good, better and the best posts which are nominated by a few hundreds of ILites throughout the month.

You two are doing a thankless job, my dear friends.

May I take this opportunity to pray Goddess Meenakshi to bless you and yours with health, long life,happiness, prosperity and fulfilment.

love,
Old 1st April 2009, 07:37 AM

State: TamilNadu
lakshiminarayan Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

Dear oj,
My heartiest congratulations on winning the Finest Post award of the month of March.I thoroughly enjoyed reading that delightful post,which richly deserves this award.

mithila kannan

Last edited by lakshiminarayan; 1st April 2009 at 07:38 AM.
Old 1st April 2009, 07:41 AM

State: TamilNadu
Referrals: 4
mithila kannan Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

Dear oj,
My heartiest congratulations to you on winning the Finest Post of he month of March.I thoroughly enjoyed reading that delightful post.
All the best to you.
Rgards
mithila kannan
Giving ,my dear ,should be spontaneous
Old 1st April 2009, 08:56 AM
Private Message User
Super Moderator

City: Philadelphia
State: NJ
Kamla Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

Dear dear Oj-da,

It gives me an enormous pleasure to Congratulate you on your being the Winner of FP for the month of February!

You may have won for your one piece, but let me add that all your posts are real winners. You have an inimitable style of writing and English seems to take on a special charm when you pen it!

Hope you will keep enthralling us regularly with your delectable writings.