Question reg satyanarayana swamy pooja

Discussion in 'Festivals, Functions & Rituals' started by Flyingsparks, Aug 22, 2012.

1. Flyingsparks

Flyingsparks Silver IL'ite

Hi ilites,
    I have been longing to do satyanarayana pooja since 2 yrs..my dh is not keen on it so i also din't bother much to force him..
    Offlate many bad thongs hav happened in my life and a friend suggested to o this pooja at home..
    My mom advised me to do it on full moon day..

I want to do it by myself..i have the audio & video of it..i am planning to downlad the vrat proceedure & vrat stories from internet..
    My question is does my dh has to sit compulsorily for the vrat?? He is not talking to me right now & absolutely won't show any interest in doing the pooja..

I have to do it by myself that too when he is not at home..i am planning to invite few girlfriends of mine though..

Please clear my doubt..also suggest me what else can I or I have to do??
    Any remedies for absence of dh for vrat??

Thank you...

2. vijjis

vijjis Bronze IL'ite

hi,
    I think you are in texas.
    In India many people do it in temples when the husband is somewhere else out of the city and even husband
    can perform the vrath same way.yes it gives more benefits when done on pournami (as per astrologers and pandits)
    But according to the story itself one can do it in housewithout the presence of their husband
    According to the story of satyanarayana vrath they (the mother and daughter) perform the puja when their husbands are in jail

according to the story
    When the guards reached the merchant’s place, they saw all the king’s wealth beside the merchant and his son-in-law. Thinking them to be robbers, they arrested them and brought them before the king stating that they were responsible for the theft. The king, without giving any chance of explaining their case ordered both be confined to behind bars. Even their wealth was confiscated by the king.