What is akshaya tritiya?

Discussion in 'Festivals, Functions & Rituals' started by shashiv, May 6, 2011.

1. shashiv

shashiv Gold IL'ite

What is Akshaya Tritiya?
    (also spelled akshya trithiya, akshay trutiya)

Goddess_Lakshmi.jpg
    Akshaya Tritiya is considered as an auspicious day by the hindus all over the world. The word Akshaya means imperishable that which has no end and is present in abundance. Tritiya means third day since it falls on the third day of Amavaasai of Vaisakh month. It is an important day on which new ventures can be started. It is also believed that whatever we begin on that day will flourish with prosperity. The day is a very good and auspicious day which cancels all other negative factors of planets. So it is not needed to check the panchangam. People in Tamilnadu celebrate this day with great enjoyment.

How to celebrate Akshaya Tritiya

Akshaya Tritiya is now not only celebrated by the hindus but also believed by other religion people. The people take a head bath and clean the house neat and clean and do poojas to Lord Vishnu and Goddess Lakshmi. Vishnu Sahasranama Stotra, 1008 names of Vishnu is recited on this day. Some people perform Lakshmi kubera homa, a homa done to kuberan (God of wealth) on this day. There is a belief that "if we fill our house with the fragrance of agarbathis and sambranis our life will also be filled with joy and prosperity". White color which symbolizes purity has got a great significance on this day. So people celebrate the day by wearing white costumes, jasmine flowers and do pal payasam.

According to the hindu scripture one should celebrate the day by doing the following things to bring prosperity and happiness:

• Donate your money to any orphanage
    • Do Annadanam, i.e. donation of food to the poor. Giving food to the hunger is the biggest donation.
    • Donate the old clothes, umbrellas and slippers to any ashram
    • Begin any new project, for example, conducting marriages, construction of the house, joining in any new course, starting film poojas, etc.
    Buy gold and silver ornaments, if you cannot buy in sovereigns atleast buy in grams.
    • Buy your monthly provisions

Whatever you donate on Akshaya Tritiya will be returned back in double to you.

Prosper by helping the needy on Akshaya Tritiya

help_people.jpg

The real essence for celebrating Akshaya Tritiya on the puranas is to help the poor. It is wrongly understood by the people that this day is only for buying gold. The real meaning of Akshaya Tritiya is to do something good for the poor people. We all eat a variety of food each and every day, this day is meant to just think of the poor who live in poverty. The hindu scripture says that "giving a glass of milk to a poor child is better than performing abhisekams with pots of milk.

There are lots of advertisements from jewellery shops about the great discounts and special offers on the day. But the people forget to donate on this day.

Let us bring prosperity on Akshaya Tritiya by helping the ones who are really in need of that. Help a poor and your heart will be filled with happiness which you never feel when buying or wearing gold. :cheers

You should also checkout...
    When is akshaya tritiya 2013 date?
    Buying gold this akshaya tritiya
    Best special offers for akshaya tritiya 2013

Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2013

2. vjbunny

vjbunny IL Hall of Fame

Hi Shashi..
    Happy Akshaya Trithiya...Your article is very nice n true:thumbsup

3. shashiv

shashiv Gold IL'ite

Hai vjbunny,

Thanks for first comment.

4. Padhmu

Padhmu IL Hall of Fame

hi shashiv,

thanks for sharing wonderful facts about akshaya tritiya.

5. pavi6285

pavi6285 New IL'ite

hello frds..
    is there any slokas to tell in akshaya tritiyai?
    pooja procedure?

6. vandanasrinivas

vandanasrinivas Silver IL'ite

Thanqqqq sooomuch for sharing dis great info...

7. Angellic

Angellic IL Hall of Fame

Thanks alot for sharing this nice info :)

8. anjumanjunathan

anjumanjunathan Silver IL'ite

every one should read this ....really a great msg thnq......

9. TheDIAHA

TheDIAHA New IL'ite

Shashiv ji,
    Thank you for taking time to share this post on Akshaya Tritiya! I was very helpful to note that the focus should be on seva (service) to others rather than on personal gains.