What/How Did You Reduce, Reuse Or Recycle To Help Save Our Earth Today????!!!??

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Chitra29, Mar 12, 2012.

1. Chitra29

Chitra29 Moderator Staff Member Platinum IL'ite

Hi ILites
    To save our Earth and our Environment we have to follow the three mantras of waste management techniques that is
    • Recycle
    • Reduce
    • Reuse

Recycling is one of the effective waste reducing techniques.
    Recycling is processing of unwanted( Waste ) material into a new useful product.
    Recycling reduces the consumption of already depleting or scarce fresh raw material and reduces the amount of garbage.

Reduce using fast depleting natural resources like water, wood, petrol, diesel and of course LPG cooking gas etc.

Reuse if you can again to reduce accumulation of garbage.

Here I would like to know and also learn from you
    1 What/How did you recycle today?
    2 What/How did you reduce using priceless natural resources or how efficiently used it?
    3 What/How did you reuse material?

Please do share your experiences and ideas here.

The information shared by you all will teach one another how effectively recycle/reuse available materials!!
    Also please do update regularly.

chitra

Last edited: Mar 12, 2012

2. myworld

myworld Silver IL'ite

i agree with your three mantras recycle,reduce,reuse[kitchen waste are dumped in garden]
    myworld

Last edited: Mar 13, 2012
  3. Chitra29

Hi myworld
    Everyday if we practice these three mantras atleast a good amount of waste can be reduced.

For my part today I recycled an invitation card into a gift card with thread work.
    I reused the backside of a bit notice to write down the shopping list.

So many views but got only one reply.
    Come on share your ideas.
    chitra

4. knbg

knbg Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Dear Chitra ma'am,
    A nice thread....and updation by our friends would give us more ideas to do our small yet important part to save our earth.....

I always think twice before buying anything made of plastic.....( be it beautiful boxes, show pieces etc.....) This keeps me free from the head-ache to dispose it off responsibly.

I am now using re-cycled paper bags for packing snacks to my DS.

I use a faucet with holes in my kitchen tap...that way, while washing dishes water covers more area.

I have regulated the water in-flow in my taps by adjusting the regulator knob into medium level.....

I avoid using dish washer.

I make use of day-light and fresh air by keeping the windows open.

Hope to learn more from this thread.

5. Chitra29

Hi Bhargavi
    great ideas!!!

After seeing your reply first thing I am going to do is to fix my kitchen tap with holes.

While cooking I used to keep water in a wide mouthed vessel to wash my hand and then use that water for plants.

Also I collect the waste water after washing rice, vegetables, greens etc in a bucket and then pour it in garden.

Today my toothpaste got over. I didn't throw away in trash. I usually collect all lids. So the lid went into that box and the tube is with empty milk cover bin. So that it will be disposed off to recycling plastic waste vender.

Yes I avoid using lights during day time as far as possible.

Thank you for inputs.
    Expecting more from you all.
    chitra

6. homemaker

homemaker Platinum IL'ite

A very interesting and a needed topic...

Thanks for those useful ideas..

I always have the habit of closing the pipe when am brushing,and turn it on only when i gargle..Though it save a few drops i think thats useful..

When i buy a oil in a packet(in chennai) after transferring the whole stuff i used to keep the packet and use it for kneading the chappathi dough,so the dough will get the needed oil from the packet and also oil is not wasted.

If it is in a bottle ,I used to get that last drop by putting upside down and leave it for few minutes.

And as Chithra mam said,I also have the habit of collecting all those bottle caps/buttons/coconut fiber/small boxes/etc...I call it as a Art box which i will use to create a craft work..I have posted some of recycling works in IL too....

Waiting for more idead...

Annam

7. Viks

Viks Silver IL'ite

Amazing ..

1. I too make sure the tap is closed while brushing, and use the water for plants after rice or vegetables have been washed
    2. I have rain water harvesting system in the house so all the water from the rain gets collected and charges the borewell and also the excess water from the plants pot on my garden goes down to the borewell.

3. I have solar water heater installed and hence less/no electricity or gas is used for hot water for bathing and washing.

4.Always buy refill packs of handwash, health drinks so that there is less plastic waste in terms of garbage.
    5. Do home composting thus reducing the throw away waste.
    6. have big windows so keep them open during day time for light and air:)

will add more whenever I remember of any
    thank you

8. pranatim

pranatim Platinum IL'ite

Very nice thread and a lot to learn
    1. Stopped using plastic since two years I have kept my promise till now.
    2. Using kitchen's water like washed vegetable, rice for my pots.
    3. Making compost from kitchen's waste.
    4. when not in the room switches off light and fan.
    5. While going out of station empty refrigerator and everything and switch off main switch.
    6. I decorate old card board boxes and store things in them.
    7. Last week created a card which is an airline tag and used it for close and open in a door (sounds funny but useful)
    Will come with some more ideas.

9. Chitra29

Hi Annam
    Thanks for your inputs.
    Eventhough its a cup of water you saved for that day when you add for a period will be a good saving!!! as the proverb says "Little drops of water make an Ocean".

Like you I used to save the foils(cover) of cornflakes, boost, horlicks etc after cleaning it with a clean dry cloth.
    I use these for packing food items like chappatis, sweets etc for my DD & DH.

Its not for one day update. Keep giving new ideas more often!!!

chitra

10. Chitra29

Thank you Viks with ideas.
    Of course its proven that Rain water harvesting improves the water table by many folds.

Yesterday I visited an Exhibition on Renewable Energy at Chennai Trade centre.
    Saw those solar water heaters & lighting system.
    As you have suggested I'm thinking of installing solar water heater and also lighting system.

Keep updating whenever you do a recycling/reusing/reducing

chitra