Embroidery : Kantha work- instructions

Discussion in 'Embroidery' started by theartisticone, Jan 21, 2009.

1. MadhuRao

MadhuRao Silver IL'ite

2. swathi14

swathi14 IL Hall of Fame

Hai

Excellent explanation about Kantha work. i am really tempted to do this. Kindly suggest on which saree the work will look great.

I thought of buying a Kasavu saree or tussar silk. Can anybody suggest the sari material?

Wonderful and tempting thread. I have copied the designs posted here. Thanks to all.

Andal

3. artvani

artvani Platinum IL'ite

please post kantha work borders also. Thank you

Last edited: Jan 21, 2009
  4. jaymg

jaymg Gold IL'ite

Hi Madhu,

I have somebody in Wilson Garden in a tiny galli but it is difficult to describe the place. But of hand, I can think of the embroidery guys in Ibrahim Sahib street. I am going there this weekend and will chk with them and let you know

5. jaymg

jaymg Gold IL'ite

Hi Madhu,

Of hand I would suggest the embroiderers on Ibrahim Sahib street, but I will chk and let you know

6. jaymg

jaymg Gold IL'ite

Hi Su,

Great effort. The colours for the blouse are perfect!!!

I will post pics of a sari not done by me but ordered from Kolkata after maybe you have finished all the stitches

7. jaymg

jaymg Gold IL'ite

Hi Andal,

Tussar silks are usually the preferred medium but nowadays crepes and silks like Bangalore silks and art silks are also being used for the embroidery

Correct me if I am wrong Su

Last edited: Jan 21, 2009
  8. rama_shiva

rama_shiva Bronze IL'ite

Thank you very much for sharing this:bowdown

rama

9. meyyammai

meyyammai Gold IL'ite

hi su..:thumbsup thanx for sharing the instructions even i didn't know that there are so many variations i think i have a lot to learn from u

10. shobana 007

shobana 007 Gold IL'ite

hi su mam,
    while surfing i got these borders,i think it will useful.artvani mam,i think u need this.