MTech in IIT or MS/Phd from abroad??

Discussion in 'Education & Personal Growth' started by sweety127, Jan 9, 2015.

1. sweety127

sweety127 Gold IL'ite

Hi ladies,

I am in govt of india scientific services and want to upgrade my credentials. I already got opportunity to pursue MTech from an IIT last year but was not able to pursue it due to personal reason sand till date regretting my decision

Now I want to v badly do my highers. I am a Mechanical Engineer and this time want to consider my prospects of doing highers abroad as well.

So which is better MTech in IIT or MS/direct phd from a good foreign university ??

Thank you

P.S: I had been in Research n Development sector so have bright chances of getting enrolled in Phd directly.

2. indoc

indoc Gold IL'ite

Since you are from Mechanical and if you are not under QIP program or sponsored .... then my advise will be M.Tech from IISc, KGP or IITK (in that order)...

and I will really think twice before joining new IITs and this includes IITG too, which is nothing but buildings, no quality staff.. The less said about new IITs like IITP.. idiots with no postdoc experience are also faculty there.

You can also try IITB which has M.Tech+Ph.D dual degree program and some PhD programs in IITB are in collaboration with Aussie universities....

MS/Direct PhD from foreign university depends on university..

2 people like this.
  3. sokanasanah

sokanasanah IL Hall of Fame

If I understand you correctly, you have two decisions to make here:

(1) MS / MTech or PhD ?
    (2) India / IIT or abroad ?