Old 11th January 2008, 06:15 PM

City: Portland
State: Oregon
Default Re: QA testing: Pre requisites doubts

Sub : QA Courses needed for MCA graduates

Can anyone tell me/discuss the ways to get into QA career??? I have done MCA in 2003 and took a break all these years since i was on H4 visa.Recently i recieved EAD.People either ask for recent experience/recent college education to offer jobs.So i want to start my career with QA.Can anyone tell me what courses do i have to take to start my career in Testing field.

vaishu

Old 18th January 2008, 10:59 PM

City: vijayawada
State: Andhrapradesh

Originally Posted by chittidallas View Post
Hello Friend,
I am working in QA testing. People who are new to IT, well i would say QA testing would be the good start to enter into IT.
QA Testing is of 2 types.
Manual testing
Automated testing.
Automated testing requires programming knowledge skills whatever may be the project.
Manual testing does not require programming skills but requires basic Computer knowledge sometimes varies with the type of project.
So, u need to attend for training which is necesasry before u start ur career in IT/QA....manual testing would be a good start for them who have no knowledge in IT before. including SQL skills is MUST. For some projects which used UNIX, basic UNIX skills is nexessary but not all the time. that is very easy to learn....
To learn SQL : W3Schools Online Web Tutorials is the good website for basic SQL skills.
One more website for IT: IT QuestionBank or Free Training are also some of the good websites u could go through.

If you need any other information, let me know.

Good Luck...
Chitti.

Hi Friend,

I want a small information from u , i have seen ur post about testing about this i want to know i completed my M.B.A & also have working experience for 4 years in different organisations ( customercare related ) i got a long gap in my career this time i want to enter in IT field i want to learn Testing Tools now i am 28 years old , can i start my career with testing tools ? i am having basic computer knowledge.Will u please guide what to do ? what courses do i have to take to start my career in Testing field.

sravy
Old 19th January 2008, 09:17 AM

City: hyderabad
State: ap
Thumbs down Re: QA testing: Pre requisites doubts

ya u can surf in Freshersworld.com ™ :: A Complete Portal for Fresh Engineers. ,, any more help needed?
Old 19th January 2008, 06:32 PM

City: abc
State: def

jaanu,
That was a gr8 site with loads of info...Thanx a bunch...
Old 20th January 2008, 09:47 PM

City: dallas
State: texas

Hi Sravy,
Yes, You could start your career in testing tools. As you already mentioned that you are having basic computer knowledge, u could attend for training and continue there on....

- Chitti.
Old 25th January 2008, 03:38 AM

City: vijayawada
State: Andhrapradesh

Hi Chitti,

Thank your for the reply , ok i will enquire about the course & i will join soon thank u once again. If any doubts i will contact u .

Old 25th January 2008, 12:55 PM

City: x
State: y

I m also planning to do some Software testing course .Can anybody help me with the names of such training centers in and around Newyork.?.Has anybody done software testing course in US?.If so can u pls. share your experience and the cost and the time(duration of course) u have spent for it.?.

Many thanks for all those who r already sharing their experience.

Selvi

WHERE THERE IS A WILL THERE IS A WAY :

Last edited by selviik; 25th January 2008 at 12:57 PM.
Old 27th March 2008, 12:42 PM

City: Edison
State: NJ

Hi Chittidallas
I am planning to presue job in QA.
I have couple of questions can you clarify some of them.
1) I took training in QTP,winner,TD. I don't have much experince in manual testing.
2) Is it very necessary to know manual testing to get a job?
3) can you share some of your job experince as a QA tester.
4) Is there any website for manual testing?
any help of this topic highly appericated.

Boone.

Last edited by boone; 27th March 2008 at 12:43 PM.
Old 28th March 2008, 11:25 AM

City: x
State: y
Talking Re: QA testing: Pre requisites doubts

Hi Boone,

I could see that u r residing in Edison,NJ.If u dont mind can u pls tell where did u do your QTP training(if in US)?.I m planning to take one so your information wud be very much useful.

Selvi

WHERE THERE IS A WILL THERE IS A WAY :

Last edited by selviik; 28th March 2008 at 05:51 PM.
Old 28th March 2008, 04:12 PM

City: dallas
State: texas

Could anybody guide me the basic skills required for Mannual tester .B'coz I want to start my career as a mannual tester.
Any help of this topic highly appericated

thanks,
smith21181