Go Back   IndusLadies > Indusladies World > India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai

Home Register Blogs Directory FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Chennai What is life like in Chennai? What are your favorite places to shop and eat? What is society like in Chennai?

REGISTER TODAY! it is SIMPLE, EASY and FREE! You could also WIN a T-Shirt!

Old 8th December 2006, 07:51 AM

State: Tamil Nadu
Default Hey all living in and around Tambaram - Handicrafts exhibition

Do you all know that Poompuhar is conducting a handicrafts exhibition for the first time in Tambaram. The exhibition is for 10 days in Surana Thanga Mahal in Rajaji Street near National Theater.

Handicrafts on display are Panchaloka Idols, Tanjore paintings, furniture, jute products, furnishings, paintings, sarees etc. Price range is from Rs.10 to Rs. 2 lakhs

No God, No Peace; Know God, Know Peace
RajmiArun
My Virtual Diary, Our trip Down South

Old 8th December 2006, 10:35 PM

Default did you see it?

Hi Raj,
Did you visit that exhibition?? I saw it in the hindu about that. One more thing I saw in the hindu was about the jute weavers and their jute products.
Did you see that?
My sister wanted to know about those weavers. She wants jute silk sarees for her boutique in Trivandrum. Have you any idea??
Latha
Old 24th January 2007, 04:05 AM

City: Monmouth Jct.,
State: NJ
Default Not abt exhibition..

Hi Ladies,

My query is not related to the above, but, regarding an item available in Chennai.

I saw my friend has bought this OM, SRI and swastik symbol from Chennai which we can fix at the door or pooja door. pls pls tell me where can I find them very commonly all the time. She said that she had bought at the entrance of GRT, but, a few yrs back, when I came, did not see anything.

So, Mrs.C or varloo or any other shopping experts, pls suggest me.

Old 16th February 2007, 07:07 PM

State: tamilnadu
Default Re: Not abt exhibition..

Originally Posted by Ami View Post
Hi Ladies,

My query is not related to the above, but, regarding an item available in Chennai.

I saw my friend has bought this OM, SRI and swastik symbol from Chennai which we can fix at the door or pooja door. pls pls tell me where can I find them very commonly all the time. She said that she had bought at the entrance of GRT, but, a few yrs back, when I came, did not see anything.

So, Mrs.C or varloo or any other shopping experts, pls suggest me.

Dear Ami
Sorry for the belated reply.Just saw your post.Yes.. the stickers you mentioned are commonly available in Chennai in the platforms of pondybazaaar .

Honeybee
Old 16th February 2007, 07:19 PM

Default Re: Hey all living in and around Tambaram - Handicrafts exhibition

Thanks, sowmya for yr reply. I am not sure what you have meant is the same the one I am talking. I am looking for brass metal which has a square shaped glue at the back to stick in the door and NOT the paper stickers. Did you mean the same becoz, one of our neighbor looked everywhere and could not find the same.

Rgds.
Old 16th February 2007, 07:24 PM

Hi Ami,

I saw your post and sorry for this belated reply. Yes you get these in Pondy Bazaar platforms, Giri traders-Mylapore, in some other shops too. If you can specify me your locality I can ask my friends over there and let you know where it is available

No God, No Peace; Know God, Know Peace
RajmiArun
My Virtual Diary, Our trip Down South
Old 16th February 2007, 07:30 PM

Thanks a lot, Rajmiarun..

My parents live in Saligramam and hence, is that available in Vadapalani which is the closest shopping area? Or any particular shops in T.nagar will also do. The problem was that, my mom's neighbor checked in some shops and they all told the same answer that it was sold out. Since my parents are quite old enough, cant ask them to check each & every shop.

Rgds.
Old 16th February 2007, 08:37 PM
IL Hall Of Fame

State: tamil nadu
Referrals: 28

Dear Ami,
Please come home - that is my standard gift to everyone who comes to my house for the first time !
It often goes out of stock & reappears all over again in Chennai shops !
Old 16th February 2007, 09:23 PM

Thanks, Mrs.C for yr warm invitation.

Of course, have already put YOU in my list to visit whenever come to Chennai. Just to relish some goodies, atleast!!! Just kid.,

Thank you for the response.