Go Back   IndusLadies > Good to Read / Write > Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction) > Cheeniya's Senile Ramblings

Home Register Forum Blogs Directory FAQ Mark Forums Read

Recent Threads
Go to first new post Glass painting (beginner)
Last post by ammubujji
Today 04:33 AM
73 Replies, 1,111 Views
Go to first new post wall hanging
by maha19
Last post by maha19
Today 04:32 AM
14 Replies, 142 Views
Go to first new post vanathi need help-...
Last post by Aadhusmom
Today 04:31 AM
23 Replies, 331 Views
Go to first new post Baba blessed me with the...
by nsairam
Last post by manjulapathy
Today 04:29 AM
11 Replies, 159 Views
Go to first new post Kolangal-When will it...
Last post by natpudan
Today 04:24 AM
93 Replies, 2,698 Views
Go to first new post Mixed Works : Room...
Last post by sudha kailas
Today 04:23 AM
133 Replies, 4,641 Views
Go to first new post TTC progress and two...
by seeba27
Last post by bfp2010
Today 04:22 AM
2,472 Replies, 79,210 Views
Go to first new post To Pee or Not To Pee
by Kamalji
Last post by paanzaa
Today 04:21 AM
37 Replies, 422 Views
Go to first new post Namasmaranam!
Last post by Sangam
Today 04:19 AM
4,072 Replies, 35,899 Views
Go to first new post Let's share our feeling:...
by Nitha J
Last post by Aadhusmom
Today 04:18 AM
215 Replies, 6,548 Views
Current Poll
which is the best method after IVF transfer
Acupuncture - 0%
0 Votes
yoga - 25.00%
2 Votes
walking - 12.50%
1 Vote
Bedrest - 62.50%
5 Votes
Total Votes: 8
You may not vote on this poll.

Old 14th April 2009, 04:10 AM
Private Message User
Forum Moderator

State: Tamilnadu
Cheeniya Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)
Default Re: The skewed priorities!

Dear oj
Thank you for responding to jaijui on my behalf. Contractor was never a wicket keeper but he was an able wicket protector. He was actually The Wall prior to Dravid. Nowadays, Dravid is more keen on protecting his wicket than scoring runs! If only helmets were in vogue during his time, Contractor would have been a greater wall than Dravid.
Old 14th April 2009, 08:04 AM

City: Chicago
State: Illinois
jaijui0 Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

yup u guys be right Contractor was not a wicket keeper ..but a great opening batsman .. hope u all got the crux of my comment though lol!
jaijui
Old 14th April 2009, 10:21 AM

State: TamilNadu
Referrals: 4
mithila kannan Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

Dear Cheeniya,
I just enjoyed the write up,building up a strong case,starting from the anatomy to the choice of career.It is a revealation for me that the protective gear started with the abdomen gear.Perceptions of need change with age,security for career ,security for life etc.Maslow's theory of heirarchy of needs is a bible for corporations to motivate the employees to do their best.
Shri.Rajagopalachari,lost his political career by advocating training based on family profession.Our dhobi woman,sorry,I am permitted to call her only as isthri woman has two daughters.One has completed nursing course while the other is on catering technology.People are quick to understand the job market.

LAKSHIMINARAYANAN
Giving ,my dear ,should be spontaneous
Old 15th April 2009, 10:02 AM
Private Message User
Forum Moderator

Originally Posted by jaijui0 View Post
yup u guys be right Contractor was not a wicket keeper ..but a great opening batsman .. hope u all got the crux of my comment though lol!
jaijui
I actually got more than the crux of your comment, jaijui!
Old 15th April 2009, 10:17 AM
Private Message User
Forum Moderator

Dear LN
In retrospect, it is my belief that the cricketeers wanted to protect their softest parts first! Then they thought of their hands and then the shin. Head being the hardest part of the anatomy, they perhaps did not consider it necessary to protect it. It is all quite understandable!

I am not entirely in agreement with good old Maslow. He oversimplified the operation of human needs. Guys like Prestige Padmanabhan portrayed ably by Sivaji Ganesan would make the reverse of Moslow's hierarchy of needs true! Even if they are starving, these guys would be talking of their self respect and what not. Thanjavur, where I was born, is full of them!

Rajaji was a great visionary but it was sad that he could not foresee that the modern version of his Varnasrama Dharma would eventually signal the end of his political career. Very sad, really.
Old 15th April 2009, 10:23 AM

City: Pune
State: Maharashtra
meVaidehi Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

Today i saw you in Chitra mam's thread. You know what its our usual habit to make an imaginary picture of a person we are interacting with and i usually see them as some movie, social or elsewhere seen person. For you the face that immediately came to my mind was a character from Oceans the eldest member of the group and after seeing your snaps it matches to good extent except the beard and you are bit thinner.
For this thread, as you rightly said the priorities and also some preassumptions also have changed. Still if you go in villages Govt employees are still highly in demand even if they are clerk, peon, constables in marriage market. and now with recession hitting most of the industries they have a point to say so.
One more point to add as you mentioned about helmet, a few years back our cricketer from Haryana died in Pakistan due to a ball hitting him on head.

Last edited by meVaidehi; 15th April 2009 at 10:38 AM.
Old 15th April 2009, 10:40 AM
Private Message User
Forum Moderator

Dear Vaidehi
By saying that I am a bit 'thinner' you have really made my day. Long live that person in comparison to whom, I appear thinner! Nice to know that I was not wide off the mark with the picture you had conjured of me in your mind.

You are right about the matrimonial preferences in rural India. This trend might soon spread to cities too thanks to the recession as you have rightly predicted.

That unfortunate player was Raman Lamba and the incident took place in Dhaka. The guy was actually fielding at a far off location. He was just moved in to the close in position and the very first ball hit him on the temple. He succumbed after three days. Poor guy. He was 38 then.
Old 15th April 2009, 10:46 AM

City: Pune
State: Maharashtra
meVaidehi Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

Wow tussi kya Gazab ka minute details rakhe ho ji!!!!
Old 25th April 2009, 07:13 AM

Malathijagan Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

Dear Cheeniya sir,
As usual, I am a late entry! First thing that put me off was seeing the word 'Cricket'! Sports and games is not my cup of tea to wile my time in! I would rather be happily reading a spiritual book or listening to divine music or simply watching the beauty of nature rather than watch any game! But if any of our Indians bring in glory to our country, my eyes would be full, and I would be praying for their further successes whole heartedly. When it comes to sports and games, it is only the news channels I look for, that too unintentionally!
Any way, on second thoughts and knowing your nature I decided to go through your blog and as expected, it lead to varied topics!

Take my nonagenarian mother for example. The only question that keeps bothering her is whether we have had our food.
I fully agree with you on this matter! My MIL is such a type. All her thoughts are on food alone! Some times I pity her and her genre for the exposure they got during their times. I do understand their concern but as you said, some times it is very irritating. It makes me wonder whether we eat to live or live to eat. But I do not blame her for that. She knows nothing more than about food and at her age she doesn't seem to be interested in knowing about any thing else. Any way that is that.

As to why people did not feel like giving protection to their brains rather than giving importance to virility, is indeed an intriguing question! May be, they thought the ball would not go so high up to hit the head or may be in those days, players did not think of crooked ways of making some one out! May be bouncers were not a way of bowling 100 years back!
On the whole this blog was enjoyable too in spite of starting with cricket!
Malathi
Or to take arms against a sea of troubles.

Old 26th April 2009, 11:54 AM
Private Message User
Forum Moderator

Dear Malathi
I can easily relate to your feelings about sports in general and cricket in particular. I have observed intense lovers of this game slowly becoming intense haters thanks to all the behind-the-scene machinations that go on to prefix the outcome of the match. The problem is that the stakes have become so high that it is not played as a game any more but as a business. Gone are the days of W.G.Grace who played cricket as pure art form. Cricket has gone into total disrepute due to the power hungry and money hungry czars of the game. Compared to cricket, the fake WWF matches appear more authentic and true to life. Despite all this, most of us have become such addicts that we keep watching it notwithstanding the fraud that is played on the gullible. It is like being a chronic alcoholic or a drug addict who knows that his time will be up soon but still can't give up!

Your take on the limited exposure of the women of yesteryears is interesting. Some six decades back and before that, a woman was a monarch of all she surveyed within the four walls of her kitchen. The only way that she could establish her indispensability was through the quality of her cooking. She turned out day after day really mouth watering items of food but hardly got any appreciation from her usually grumpy husband. The appreciation, if at all, was only indicated by an empty plate that would hardly require cleaning after his eating! Over a period of time, this schedule got totally ingrained in her psyche and her main parameter for evaluating happiness became feeding people. It is but natural that such old timers continue to live in that world in which food is the measure of all happiness and contentment!