Go Back   IndusLadies > Family and Relationship > Parenting & Kids > Baby / Kids Foods

Home Register Forum Blogs Directory FAQ Mark Forums Read

Recent Threads
Go to first new post regarding twin babies
Last post by Vasumathy
Today 11:41 AM
11 Replies, 181 Views
Go to first new post Ask Questions To...
by laksn
Last post by Saraswathipv
Today 11:40 AM
918 Replies, 23,079 Views
Go to first new post What tradition do you...
Last post by priya78
Today 11:39 AM
96 Replies, 10,378 Views
Go to first new post Let's share our feeling:...
by Nitha J
Last post by Vishalini3
Today 11:39 AM
221 Replies, 6,598 Views
Go to first new post Saree painting - V
Last post by cheruku
Today 11:38 AM
4 Replies, 27 Views
Go to first new post TTC progress and two...
by seeba27
Last post by Vasumathy
Today 11:36 AM
2,476 Replies, 79,318 Views
Go to first new post My own Bridal Mehendi...
Last post by Yashikushi
Today 11:36 AM
16 Replies, 147 Views
Go to first new post Kolangal-When will it...
Last post by Yashikushi
Today 11:34 AM
96 Replies, 2,755 Views
Go to first new post A proud day for Varlotti...
Last post by muzna
Today 11:30 AM
71 Replies, 798 Views
Go to first new post 'Koora Pudavaya?' - K....
by Rrg
Last post by Rrg
Today 11:28 AM
4 Replies, 28 Views
Current Poll
which is the best method after IVF transfer
Acupuncture - 0%
0 Votes
yoga - 22.22%
2 Votes
walking - 11.11%
1 Vote
Bedrest - 66.67%
6 Votes
Total Votes: 9
You may not vote on this poll.

Old 25th June 2009, 06:01 AM
Private Message User
Forum Moderator

City: Munich
State: Bavaria
Traveller Reputation Level is 2 (Very Good Poster)
Default Re: Share your (LO's) favourite recipe

Hi girls,

y'day for my son's trip to a puppet show made these wonderful,easy to manage crepes from Delia. They are called Pancakes by her but my DS insists they're 'pancake dosais'... call them whatever they were soft and easy to make.

here is the link: BBC - Food - Recipes - Basic pancakes with sugar and lemon

Note: I whisked the batter only with hand. quite manageable batter.

After making the crepes i let them cool slightly, dusted with icing sugar, spread some chopped strawberries and folded them into half to pack. The remaining batter I put in fridge and made again for dinner. They came out well after refrigeration too.

Latha
Old 30th July 2009, 02:43 AM

City: singapore
State: singapore
chamu02 Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Post Recipie : Vegetable soup for infants

hai friends
i have suggested in my earlier post ,giving idly with soup for your kid's BF / dinner avoiding sugar or milk . Coz you already bottle feed him/her twice daily ,so have an oppurtunity in feeding veggies to your child in the morning and for dinner.Here is my recipie for the vegetable soup.
Ingrediants :

1-2 small pieces in each vegetable or Combination(s) of one or more of the listed below veggies :
Carrot
Peas
Red / White pumpkin
Marrow gaurd
Bottle gaurd
A leaf of cabage
Cauliflower
French beans
Potato / moong dhal (2 tblspoon)
Zucchinni
A wedge of tomato
Ginger - 1/4th inch
Garlic pod - 1 small
Method :
1 ) Pressure cook 1-2 small pieces in each vegetable or Combination(s) of one or more of the listed vegetables with some water, salt , garlic,ginger ,tomato and onion.
2) Once cooked open the lid , take away the ginger, garlic and onion as its syrup would have now been added to the veg. soup water which is enough for kids.
3 ) Now grind the vegetables, make a paste and add water according to the required consistency.
4) For kids more than a year , you can add 1 drop of lemon and pinch of peper to add more taste.
5) No need to stain the soup after grinding as it contains full of fiber.
6) You can feed idly , dosai ( for 1 year old and above -for it will be easy for them to chew ) with this soup - you have now added veg. to your kid's menu.
7) Once the kid is 9 months and above encourage him/her to chew and eat pressure cooked vegetables ,under elderly supervision ,instead of giving raw carrot and apple.
8) Initially your kid may waste all most 95% of what you give in a bowl , and may have a habbit of pick n eat from the floor . Leave him ,since this is the God given learning method for him and he will be quite satisfied if he feed himself atleast 1/2 a spoon out of 5 spoons what you give. Later after half an hour , you can feed him on your hand so that he dont feel hungry.
Now you can see your kid is interested in eating rather than resisting the food.
Try and get back to me.
Old 30th July 2009, 07:28 AM

City: Pune
State: MS
RachBaj Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Default Re: Recipie : Vegetable soup for infants

I have few more to add this
Tomato soup
Boil 2 tomatoes and make a puree
Sieve the puree and add water. Consistency for 1 yr kid can be thicker as compare to babies.
Add Salt and fine cumin powder for test.
Rice soup
Pressure Cook the Rice by adding 3 times more water than usual one. You can take ½ cup raw rice and add 1 & ½ cup of water to pressure cook.
Put the cooked rice in grinder and add water as per required consistency.
Add ½ tea spoon homemade ghee or shoodha ghee and pinch of salt for test.
This recipe is suitable for babies above six months.
You can add bit boiled potato to cooked rice and grind it together

Lentil soup (Tur Dal)
This one is very basic and easy. Pressures cook the tur dal with extra water.
Remove the extra water in bowl before smash the dal. Add ½ tea spoon ghee and salt to test.
The recipe is for 6-9 month old babies.
You can add boiled ½ carrots and ½ boiled tomatos to dal water and grind it.

Green peas soup
Take fresh ½ cup fresh green peas and cook with butter and little water.
Grind it by adding water as per required consistency. Add salt for test. For kids 1 yr and above you can add few drops of lemon juice and pinch of pepper powder.
Old 30th July 2009, 04:20 PM
Private Message User
Forum Moderator

City: Munich
State: Bavaria
Traveller Reputation Level is 2 (Very Good Poster)
Default Re: Share your (LO's) favourite recipe

Hi Chamu02, RachBaj,

Welcome to the parenting forum. I have merged your threads to an existing thread where we all post recipes that are favourable to our kids. Kindly continue to contribute your recipes only in this thread. This will help in organising the forum better.

Latha