Go Back   IndusLadies > Good to Read / Write > Articles & Middles by Indian Writers

Old 17th June 2008, 01:05 AM

City: bangalore
State: karnataka
Referrals: 25
Default Milagu Rasam, Urulai Roast, Keerai Masiyal And Chutta Papdam

It is his birthday as a new bride she wanted to impress him with my culinary expertise but then..
how to ask him what he likes, he may evade and not tell the actual just to keep me guessing, ok she thought she would ring up manni she may be able to help her.
So as she rang her up manni came up with all things like chocolate romba pidikkum, aduvum flurys lerundu he loves it a lot.
Ok now the list was getting ready she jotted down, as her manni went about his favorite list.

So she ordered the flury”s cake and samosa anything with potato manni had said so she would make the potato French fries which she was famous at, so all things were getting ready before he could arrive, she went by tram got down at park street collected the cake and hot samosa from the k.C.Das next to the railway booking office in esplanade and walked home happy she could meet at least some of the demands as a surprise.

She peeled the potatoes put it in hot water with some salt,
she had collected the rajni gandha on her way, abhimaan record, he loved those songs a lot, especially both sang theri bindiya re…rey hai hai. She got his shirt and pant from his tailor burton requesting him not to tell about this to his babu and happy she could swear him to secrecy.

Hurried to finish her bath so that she would be fresh and happy looking and arranged all the stuff on the table before he could arrive the usual she lit the lamp and agarbathi with mogra in air, the house was getting all the birthday look, he walked in his usual whistling from outside telling her his arrival, she opened the door, when he saw her the love was just flowing from his eyes, he saw her with flowers on her hair so fresh, and his favorite blue sari
And she looked the most beautiful and welcome, oh what a welcome smile he always loved in her, with her even teeth so bright.

He walked in to see the cake and all the stuff around, he was very surprised to see these things, and said hey come here, and kissed her on her forehead, and asked who told you all these I don’t remember mentioning any, she evaded and said I have my ways, now go and finish your bath and come back to cut the cake…

He finished his bath and she gave him the new dress she got for him and it was so perfect he told even burton his tailor never informed, mmm all have ganged up well with you I see..

She could not help laughing as all was falling in place as she had planned and the next moment has arrived for her to get him to cut the cake, as he arranged the candles, and asked him to blow, the door bell rang, she hurried to open to see her husband’s friend karthik and his family there.

Though she felt the lone happiness is to be shared now, any way she called him in and went about getting things ready, once karthik saw the cake and other things he said hey young lady, so what is cooking inside, hope it is his favorite milagu rasam, urulai roast, keerai masiyal and chutta papdam, which he loves to eat on his birthday tooo.

MM??

SUNKAN
Old 17th June 2008, 02:09 AM

City: pudukkottai
State: tamilnadu
Default Re: Milagu Rasam, Urulai Roast, Keerai Masiyal And Chutta Papdam

hello akka

looks so much like athim
for his birthday
the eats he liked best
the chutta papadam esp...
runny through
beautiful memories....?

sathya
Old 17th June 2008, 02:09 AM

City: ind
State: ind
Smile Re: Milagu Rasam, Urulai Roast, Keerai Masiyal And Chutta Papdam

Dear sunkan mam,

Nice post with a twist at the end...mmmmmm

Hugs,
dg..

"BE POSITIVE, BE HAPPY " -- " MY MANTRA"

Old 17th June 2008, 02:49 AM

City: Bangalore
State: Karnataka

wow...the menu made me feel hungry and so me goin to cook the same...so what happened nexT????
Old 17th June 2008, 03:43 AM

State: Tamilnadu

Dear Sundari,
Many new brides get misled this way! You know, even now my mil feels I do not cook what my hubby likes after 24 years of our married life! she still thinks he is the same old kid that she brought up where as his tastes have changed! Once (when newly married) I tried what he used to eat in my sil's house. (He stayed there when he was a bachelor). You know what he said? I cannot ask food to be cooked as per my tastes in my sister's house where I was a guest! And he told me a list of what he liked and disliked and how he liked them to be cooked etc.!
That was a nice one with a twist in the end!
Rgds,
Malathi
Old 17th June 2008, 07:14 AM

Originally Posted by sathya View Post
hello akka

looks so much like athim
for his birthday
the eats he liked best
the chutta papadam esp...
runny through
beautiful memories....?

sathya
YEP u caught the culprit, and of course this is his birthday month and thought of this...akka
Old 17th June 2008, 07:16 AM

Originally Posted by maddie View Post
wow...the menu made me feel hungry and so me goin to cook the same...so what happened nexT????
she had to beg to be forgiven, next time the source now she knows she would verify rather than the manni to update his things, and he also said, it was his mistake he never told her what he liked because i had to hunt for the items from others and he did not want to hurt the new bride...
Old 17th June 2008, 07:18 AM

Originally Posted by Malathijagan View Post
Dear Sundari,
Many new brides get misled this way! You know, even now my mil feels I do not cook what my hubby likes after 24 years of our married life! she still thinks he is the same old kid that she brought up where as his tastes have changed! Once (when newly married) I tried what he used to eat in my sil's house. (He stayed there when he was a bachelor). You know what he said? I cannot ask food to be cooked as per my tastes in my sister's house where I was a guest! And he told me a list of what he liked and disliked and how he liked them to be cooked etc.!
That was a nice one with a twist in the end!
Rgds,
Malathi
very true malathi,
when my brother got married and when they served payathamparuppu kosmalli nalini his wife said no no dont serve he does not like this, now this is also another turn for us to know oh! my brother does not like this and we never knew about it...so young brides always start on a funny note to go on to become the best second half who do things the way the husband wants in the end. the men always say avalukku theriyum viden later....sunkan

Last edited by sunkan; 17th June 2008 at 07:19 AM.
Old 17th June 2008, 07:52 AM

State: TN

Dear Sunkan,
yummy menu!! I'm hungry now ..The story was good, but in my case, i told everything my Hubby liked almost correctly when his step mom told everytime, ohh i thought he will not eat this or that!

Sunkan, good post from you

Old 17th June 2008, 10:19 AM

City: Mumbai
State: maharastra

Dear sunkan maam,

Ur post reminded of my Mil who told me, Before Marriage that my hubby doesn't like sweets at all..... Since i am not at all sweet loving person... i was in turn very Happy, that i got a good Company.

But to my surprise when i got married, my Mil used to make diffn varieties of Sweets everyday for my husband and Feed him. When i asked her then, U told me that he doesn't like Sweets.... To that my Mil innocently says... "OOh he doesn't like Boondi Laddo u see.."

Good Post from u, with a Diffn twist at the End.

vaidehi