Go Back   IndusLadies > Good to Read / Write > Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)

Old 24th August 2007, 05:04 PM
Forum Moderator

City: Charleston
State: West Virginia
Default Re: The Temples Etched in my Memory

thanks Twinsmom for the list. They have added to their list.
Sriniketan

Old 15th July 2008, 03:48 PM

City: Phoenix
State: Arizona

Originally Posted by twinsmom View Post
Do tell them to visit Horanadu and Sringeri, Mookambika ( kollooru) temples in Karnataka....also Subramanya and Dharmasthala.... Beautiful temples!
Hi twinsmom,

I had the good fortune to visit these temples last summer during my visit to India. It was good to read their history as written by you.
Here is a link to my post

South Karnataka tour
Old 15th July 2008, 05:26 PM

City: DC
State: W-DC

Dear all,

Thanks for sharing your experiences and enjoyed reading, with beautiful narration.

Wished to share my experiences...I spent my 20 years of my life in Trichy District.

On daily basis, I used to go to Thiruvanaikovil (Goddess Akilandeswari+Lord Jambukeswarar) Temple. In my early childhood, I used to amaze why water is coming out daily near the main diety (Jambukeswarar- Suyambu Lingam) . They used to pump out water from that place in Spring/rainy season. As Akilandeswari worshipped Lord Shiva in this temple, even today at noon the 'Archakar' (priest) dresses like a female and does Pooja to Lord Shiva and 'Ko Maatha' (Cow). This noon pooja is very famous and pilgrims wait for this pooja every day. For the purpose of this pooja the temple is growing a 'Karam Pasu' (complete black color cow). Annabhishekam to Lingam (Abishekam with cooked rice) is a daily ritual at Thiruvanaikoil. We used to enjoy a lot witnessing many kutcheries of many great artists during Navarathri and function like Aadi velli (Fridays, in the month of Aadi), Sivarathri, Panja prakaram (Temple dieties will go around 5 prakarams with Veda Parayanam behind them), etc..

Once in a month, we used to go to Srirangam temple . Srirangam is bounded by the Kaveri (also known as Cauvery river) on one side, and the Kaveri distributary Kollidam (Coleroon) on the other side. We never missed a Vaikunda Ekadesi, we used to go to the temple which is hardly 10-15mins from our place, and enjoyed a lot. I remember, we were standing on the top terrace (Mottai Maadi) of somebody's house and witnessed Samprokshanam for the Rajagopuram (Kumbabishekam) by their Jeeyar Swamigal.

To me, (Kan kanda Deivam) is Samayapuram Mariyamman. Every weekend, I used to go there and enjoy seeing aarti, return back with puffed rice (Poori) and at times, I used to do Anga pradashan (Rolling around the Sanctum Santorum ). Awesome experience. I could not explain you all in words. It is believed by the devotees that the Goddess has enormous powers over curing illnesses, which is a proven fact in my life.

As everybody knows, Uchi Pillaiyar kovil (Rockfort temple) in Tirchy is a wonderful place. The temple complex is composed of two parts - A shiva temple (Thayumanaswamy) carved in the middle of the rock and a Pillayar (Ganesha)temple at the top portion of the rock.We used go there with our college friends, sometimes with relatives, sometimes with family on Pillayar Chaturthi. Enjoyed climbing the steps, everytime. Whenever, we go for shopping for Diwali with family, we used to go there and had a glimpse of Ganesha, who is in bottom of the rock and start our shopping.

Missing a lot.. my people,my place .... everything !! Thanking you a lot... for allowing me to share...

Success is Sweet, but it's Secret is Sweat

Old 5th September 2008, 11:15 AM

City: mumbai
State: maharashtra

dear twinsmom,your post abt temples take me to my childhood days when family trips meant visits to famous as well as village temples.my dad makes it a point to visit thirumala every summer holidays.back then the atmoshere was entirely different,with some sanctity.now it has become more of a sight seeing with famous temples being heavely commercialised.eventhough we do go to temples now but i feel the aura of those days are missing.
Old 13th September 2008, 05:14 AM

City: Navi Mumbai
State: Maharashtra

Hi Twinsmom,

How easily you have etched your temple memories. Those tongue twisting names of places and the shrines have made me hold my post only to my heart till date on "My visit to navagraha temples in South".

I just lost the count of which temple I visited first and which the last!

I need to go and check the names of the temples too, I forgot their names too.

I have visited Guruvayoor Temple and the elephants there! The divine atmosphere in Guruvayoor cannot be felt everywhere though there are temples in every corner. It seems that the God is beckoning and we have to run to have a darshan!

The musics, the pictures and idols being sold outside, the city does not sleep at all, I could hear footsteps at 3.00 in the morning running towards for the first darshan!

I have visited temple of Tamil Nadu too, but the only temples I remember is Madurai Meenakshi and Thirachandur (a temple of Muruga). Beech wala sab bhool gaya! Mumbaiwale hain nah, south ka naam yaad karna mushkil hain yaar! Oh! how can I forget Annai Velankanni!