|  | | 
30th March 2009, 09:03 AM
|  | Gold ILite Private Message User Local Champion Forum Moderator | | Join Date: Mar 2008 City: Hyderabad State: AP Country: India
| | Re: “Andhra Paris” i.e. Nellore !
Hi Divija,
Glad to see your post about Nellore  you have described very well about the place.. I can see your love toward your native place and your anguish to let other people know about Nlr..
Hmmm what to say about this particular place where i have grown up. I can only say i just love being here but sad that i no more belong to this place  but still my school, my college and my friends i miss them all badly..!
You have almost covered all points, the food here is very delicious that we cant even taste that in Hyderabad and this is for sure. Not only non-veg but also veg is mouth watering in places like Komalvillas.. I love that pappulla podi and ghee
The next i love here is fashion and style, yar i swear am not able to find one good tailor in Hyderabad or any other place like i have found in Nellore.
You wont beleive me if i say that after going to Hyderabd there tailors have copied few of my dress paterns which were stitched in Nlr  and they find little hard to understand and stitch the same bonk
To say more that guy used to sketch and show me how the dress pattern would look after stitching and also tell how to use the borders to neck part, he was just an ordinary tailor with lots of creativity... All this am telling to know that Nlr is cool place where fashion are introduced!
Cinema theaters, shopping, temples, most busy chinna bazar area, glittering embriodery work shops and all in one Nanda fancy, neat tidy beauty parlours and what not..
| 
30th March 2009, 09:20 AM
| | Senior ILite | | Join Date: Dec 2006 City: kakinada State: Andhra Pradesh Country: India
hi nellore nerajana - bhanu
nellore gurinchi naku asalu sariga teledu mi uru lo specialities anni baga chepavu i think ilage anni districts lo vallu il lo unna andhrites anta valla uru specials gurinchi chepte kalakshepam tho gyanam kuda perutundi anukonta
i will definetly write about my place so that you will know people will know about it
janavule nerajanavule ane pata nellore vallani batte vachinda??
30th March 2009, 10:05 AM
| | Silver ILite | | Join Date: Jan 2009 City: xxx State: xxx Country: United Kingdom
Hi Seno,
Thanq and I am very glad that you liked my post!
Yes, Nellore tailors are great, especially the patterns they make are really infallible. Nellore fashion is totally unbeatable. Chinna bazaar is ladies' heaven, I guess.
Keep posting!
| 
30th March 2009, 10:06 AM
| | Silver ILite | | Join Date: Jan 2009 City: xxx State: xxx Country: United Kingdom
Hi Radha,
Nice sense of humor. I liked it!
Na birth place nellore, so nellore ante picha pichi naaku. Antha kante ekkuva meaning vache word edhaina unte adhi kooda add cheskondi. May be, "janavule nerajanavule" ane song Nellore vallani choosi raasaru emo, Radha. Not sure. Thanq very much, anyway.
Meeru kakinada na? Please do let me know about your place!
Keep posting!
| 
30th March 2009, 10:50 AM
|  | Junior ILite | | Join Date: Dec 2008 City: Louisville State: Kentucky Country: United States
Hello Banu,
Mari konni naaku telisina Nellore visheshalu,
Nellore once known as Vikramasimhapuri . It is the place where the greatest of the Telugu poets, Tikkana Somayaji, translated the Mahabharata into Telugu (15 parvas) , who was the minister in the court of King Manumasiddi in the 13th century. Apart from Mahabharata , Tikkanna first wrote, Nirvachanoothara Ramayam. As we know Mahabharatha was translated into telugu, 1 Nanayya Adi Kavi -(21/2 parvas) 11th century under Chalukyan King Raja Raja Narendra -Rajahmundry. 2 Tikkanna -( 15 parvas) 13 century under king Manumasiddhi- Nellore 3 Yerra Praggada-(1/2 parva) Completed the Aranya parva left by Nannayya, is a poet in the court of Porlaya Vemareddy who ruled kondaveedu (consisting of Guntur, Nellore, Prakasam and Kurnool districts) in 13 th century . Even the first Poetess Molla was born in this place. World famous Lord Talpagiri Ranganathaswami near the river Penna.
This place was also under the rule of Satavahanas, Cholas, Pallavas, Telugu Chodas, Kakatiyas, Vijayanagara kings, Golkonda Nawabs and Britishers.
PATURU :
This village, situated at the centre of the triangle formed by Kovuru, Yellaya palem and Damarmadugu, is famous for its exquisite handloom sarees. This is also the birth place of the great Tikkanna Somayaji.
This Paturu (near Nellore) sari is distintive for its use of embroidered patterns throughout the body of the sari, and for its relatively unadorned pallu
VENKATAGIRI SAREES:
These sarees are special for its fine cotton unlike Kanchi,Pochampally and Gadwal. The threads are too fine and woven in extricately varied motifs with golden threads (zari). The main designs and patterns are flowers, animals and light borders. These are very good fro summer wear and look dignified.
Thanks for making us know more of the place.
__________________ Best Wishes, SeethaHari. "Happiness is when what you think, what you say and what you do are in harmony." - Mahatma Gandhi
Last edited by SeethaHari; 30th March 2009 at 10:51 AM.
| 
30th March 2009, 10:55 AM
Dear Seetha,
Thanq very much for your valuable contribution.
Keep posting!
| 
30th March 2009, 01:33 PM
Hello friends,
Nellore derives its name from "nelli", tamil word for rice as paddy cultivation has been predominant occupation in this region.
Nellore was previously referred to as Vikrama Simhapuri as it was under the reign of Vikramasimha Mahavir Manumasiddhi Maharaj. Simhapuri served as the capital at that time. It had flourished great deal in every field during his reign.
Nellore was also influenced by Ashoka in the third century BC. During the 6th century BC, it was ruled by the Pallava dynasty rulers. Nellore was once ruled by Nawabs of Arcot and Vijayanagara kings. In British regime, Nellore underwent several changes. Nellore, which was in Madras state became a part of Andhra in 1956.
Megastar Chiranjeevi seems to have great affinity with Nellore. His father K. Venkat Rao worked there for many years as Excise inspector. A.R. Rehman visits Mastan Vali dargah in Kasmur, Nellore. He has been visiting Kasmur for the last 20 years. It seems that he has even visited post-oscar awards.
Literacy rate of Nellore is 65% average out of which male literates cover 73% and female literates cover 56%. Pennar and Swarnamukhi are the principal rivers for Nellore.
Apart from cultivating rice, Nellore has also famous for aqua culture. Nellore also has strategic commercial importance as it lies between Vijayawada and Chennai. This district is blessed with minerals like mica and silica.
| 
30th March 2009, 01:51 PM
| | Re: “Andhra Paris” i.e. Nellore ! Places to visit in Nellore: 1. Sri Talpagiri Ranganadha swamy temple. 2. Sri Mulastaneswaraswamy temple. 3. Sri Venugopalaswamy temple. 4. Sri Erukalala parameswari temple. 5. Sri Raja rajeswari temple. 6. Ayyappa swamy temple. 7. Sri Mallikarjuna Kamak****hai temple at Jonnawada. 8. Sri Kodanda Ramaswamy temple at Buchi. 9. Vedagiri Lakshmi Narasimhaswamy temple at Narasimhakonda. 10. Penusila Narasimhaswamy temple at Penchalakona. 11. Siddeswaraswamy temple at Gandavaram. 12. Somalingeswaraswamy temple at Somasila. 13. Baghavan Sri Venkaiahswamy Mandiram at Golagamudi. 14. Jain Temple at Kakaturu. 15. Sri Siddeswaraswamy Temple at Gudali. 16. Sri Siddalaiahkona at Sydapuram. 17. Sri Alaghu Mallari Krishnaswamy Temple at Mannarpoluru. 18. Sri Chegalamma parameswari Temple at Sullurupet. 19. Kasiviswanatha Temple at Venkagiri. 20. Sri Subramanyaswamy Temple at Mallam. 21. Ramalingeswara Temple at Pantrangam. 22. Siddeswaralayam at Krishnapatnam. 23. Sri Prasanna Venkateswaraswamy Temple at Bitragunta. 24. Jwalamuki Temple at Varigonda. 25. Lord Siva & Perumallaswamy Temple at Prabhagiripatnam. 26. Sivalayam at Koti theeratham. 27. Muthyalamma Temple at East Kanupuru. 28. Stambhalkona at Dakkili. 29. Velanginimatha Church at Kotha Kodur. 30. Mastana vali Dargah at Kasumur. 31. Rahamathull Dargah at A.S.Pet. 32. Alla thatha Dargah at Venadu. 33. Nelapattu Bird Sanctuary at Nelapattu. 34. Pulicat Lake Bird Sanctuary at Sullurupet. 35. Sriharikota – SHAR. 36. Vedurupattu Bird Sanctuary at Vedurupattu. 37. Udayagiri Fort at Udayagiri. 38. Somasila Dam at Somasila. 39. Kandaleru Dam at Kandaleru. 40. Kanigiri Reservoir at Buchi. 41. Thupilapalem Beach. 42. Krishnapatnam Beach. 43. Kodur Beach. 44. Mypadu Beach. 45. Ramatheertham Beach.  all!
Last edited by banuabida; 30th March 2009 at 01:52 PM.
| 
31st March 2009, 05:30 AM
Hey Sadhana,
Thanq very much for the interest in Nellore! I am very glad that you liked my post. Definitely come over (come home) and I will be glad to show you every nook and corner of my birth place/home town. But, only when I am back to India.
We always buy our gold stuff in a shop called Gold Palace. Previously, this was located in Mandapala street if I am right, but recently it has been shifted to the main road. Now, it is exactly behind Murali Krishna restaurant. I never tried or never would want to try any other shops. You will know why once you visit that shop. There are many famous shops like Jain Silver Palace, New Andhra Jewellery, CMR, Silver Palace.... though.
Otherwise, I buy diamond jewellery at Tanishq (Bangalore), as my DH works for TCS. Loyal, aren't we?
My previous posts include the places to visit in Nellore, like temples, beaches and stuff like that. By road, it is 170 kms from Chennai (2 hrs drive by car and 4-5 hrs drive by bus) and 130 kms from Tirupathi.
Kodur beach is also famous, you know. Thats my in-laws' place and we are just a kilometer away from the beach.
By the way, where have you put up and what's your birth place?
D.
Last edited by banuabida; 31st March 2009 at 05:32 AM.
| 
31st March 2009, 10:39 PM
|  | Silver ILite | | Join Date: Feb 2009 City: chennai State: tamilnadu Country: India
dear divija,
i saw this thread when it was unreplied,, see, but today it is just crossing 3 pages!!!! wow amazing replies! congrats on that yaar!
thanks for your invitation & information. iam putup in adyar and my birthplace chennai only [ not a pucca telugu person ,50% - 50% ]
Last edited by sadhu72; 31st March 2009 at 10:45 PM.