1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Marriage Is A Gamble

Discussion in 'Interesting Shares' started by GeetaKashyap, Nov 10, 2018.

1. GeetaKashyap

GeetaKashyap IL Hall of Fame

Hi,
    I came across this interesting article. I thought it is an eye-opener.

Marriage is a gamble

2. Deborah

Deborah Gold IL'ite

" Marriage is a gamble " - my mother's words . She always says this.That's what drew me to your post. And after being married myself and having seen other marriages , I totally believe this .
    The article is a true depiction of the institution of marriage in India. I used to work in a hospital in not so affluent region in India . Many women opened up during the course of the treatment . Most came from not - so " rich" families and neither were they highly educated . But having listened to them , I found that some were truly happy in their homes and others were not . And this article throws light on educated, career women who despite their elevated stays in life which comes with education and jobs still suffer abuses of different kinds.
    IMO, it's everything to do with " log Kya kahengey " thinking of India which is making women stay back . If only we can rise above that. Marriages were never perfect even in the earliest of times but then , women didn't have the means to support themselves either. Now ,when a man and woman are equal when it comes to education and career , why do women still get held back in a sorry marriage is beyond me.Things are changing but not at a pace appreciable .

pbindu, GeetaKashyap and Mistt like this.
  3. shravs3

shravs3 IL Hall of Fame

True. I have seen some cases where woman don’t get to decide what she needs to do with her money, inspite of her financial dependence. What to do in such cases? If she goes against her husband then she will be tortured physically / emotionally. Separation may not be the option always, especially if they have kids

4. Amulet

Amulet IL Hall of Fame