Modern Microwave Cooking

Discussion in 'Ask ChitVish' started by Chitvish, Apr 29, 2006.

1. Chitvish

Dear Rathi,
    In that case, keep a tiny casserole exclusively for this & do the thalitham, partly covering it.

2. rajmiarun

rajmiarun Gold IL'ite

Dear Mrs. Chitra,
    I think this is OK for you. I cooked regular rice today morning instead of the regular 1:3 proportion I used 1:4.5. The rice came out really well(cooked it for 20 mins). So soft, fluffy and at the same time well cooked. Also tried Corn Pulav it too turned out good. Planning to make besan burfi, is it ok if I do it in a plastic container given along with the oven. Pls guide

3. Chitvish

Dear Rajmi,
    Excellent that rice cooked well !
    Please PM your mobile no: - when I called you, it did'nt connect at all! Or please call me.
    Please use only glass for sweets & definitely not plastic.

4. Chitvish

MW Lauki No-oil Kofta - Sumptuous for dieters !

For kofta:

Grated lauki or doodhi - 1 cup

Boiled & mashed potato - ½ cup

Powdered fried gram (pottu kadalai) - !/3 cup

Minced green chilli-ginger - 2 tsp

Salt

For gravy:

Red ripe tomatoes - 5, 6

Red chilli powder - 1-2 tsp

Dhaniya powder - 2 tsp

Haldi, salt, little sugar

Low fat milk - 1 cup

Wheat flour - 2 tsp

Blanche & liquidise tomatoes.

Add spice powders, salt, sugar, milk & wheat flour.

MW Hi for 5 mts, stirring once in the middle, till well cooked.

Squeeze the grated lauki &mix with all the kofta ingredients.

Shape into small patties.

Drop them in the hot gravy & MW med for 1 mte.

Serve hot, garnished with coriander leaves.

Goes well with chappathis & pulaos.

5. Chitvish

MW Mohanthal - a jiffy sweet !

Besan - 1/2 cup

Grated khova - 1/2 cup

Ghee - 1/2 cup

Sugar - 1 1/4 cup

Chopped cashew - 1 tbsp

Cardamom pdr - 1/2 tsp

Saffron - 1/4 tsp

Please read

http://www.indusladies.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2105&postcount=1

Mix besan and ghee and Micro Med for 2 mts.

In another bowl mix sugar and 1/2 cup water well.

Micro Hi for 5 - 6 mts till medium string stage.

Remove add besan mixture and khova blending with a hand beater.

Micro Hi for 7 - 8 mts till soft ball stage.

Add all spices and cashew . Cool and cut.

6. Chitvish

MW Museli Bars - Makes a perfect dessert, served with ice cream !

Cooking chocolate 200gms ( 50 + 150 )

Butter 1 tbsp

Honey 3 tbsp

Museli 200 gms

Melt 50 gms cooking chocolate, butter & honey on Hi for 3 mts.

Remove, to that add museli, mix very well & spread on a greased plate.

Melt the remaining 150 gms chocolate in microwave – 2 mts on Hi.

Remove, spread over the mixture , cool & cut.

The entire procedure is done very fast.

Serve with ice cream.

7. anupama

anupama New IL'ite

Dear Chithra Mam,
    This is the first time i am posting a response in ur thread... i had serious dialemma about buying a MW as i thought i might not use it much and will stay in the kitchen as show piece.. but after i went through ur modern microwave cooking tips - yesterday i went and bought one samsung c1031 yesterday itself... with the confidence that u are there to help me use it to max..
    I am a full time working women and a mother of two(one is 4yrs and otherone 4 months).. can u post some easy and fast to make sabjis and breakfast with mw.. ofcourse i hav gone through all 16 pages copied all the recipies jus hav to align and print it out.
    mam , i really don't find words to praise you , what are u made of mam sweets.. so many recipies... my god... looks like it will take my total life time to try all these even once..how did u manage to learn...
    you are really great about one more thing , you are sharing what ever u know with all of us... really really great.. not many do that....
    and your collection jus great... you have a very good taste.. your taste resembles the way my mom use to buy things .. very careful and dedicated selection.
    looking forward to know more about u in future..
    Thank you and best regards,
    Anupama

9 people like this.
  8. Chitvish

Dear Anupama,
    Welcome to I L & to this forum.
    Your words touch the very core of my heart. Don't you think that I am an extraordinary person ! No, no, not at all. I am a typicaal South Indian housewife. I take pleasure in sharing whatever I have learnt over the years with others. Thats all.
    Milk can beboiled, all vegs can be cooked in the MW. All upmas, after tempering etc & adding water can be transferred to the MW & cooked. I have given MW rasam.
    You please go through my MW thread in detail - you will get all the tips. You are welcome to ask me, any specific doubt, you get.
    Happy Micro Cooking !

9. anupama

anupama New IL'ite

boiling milk in MW

Dear Chithra mam,
    I have started using my microwave a lot especially for boiling veggies for my littleone.. making rava porridge.. etc..
    i hav also done a good investment in getting glass vessels from currimbouys...
    i tried boiling milk yesterday in MW i hav bought a glass kettle to do that , mine is 900W and i tried boiling it for 15 min.. the milk didn't comeup as it does in stove so i hav got a silly doubt whether it will.. i was little worried about trying it more, hence stopped my experiment with that...:idontgetit:
    also i got one more doubt.. if the milk boils and comes out and we switch off the oven but due to the heat in the oven will it not overflow....
    Kindly help me out in this...

aprom one more thing.. may be not related to this section but i tried your kadappa recipe yesterday.. came out well except that it was little spicy , but very nice flavour and got nostalgic about RAMA CAFE a hotel in trichy(my hometown) from were we use to buy idly on wednessday jus for this kadapa sambar that they make on wednessday..:)
    Thanks you so much mam for your recipes
    Anupama

10. Chitvish

Re: boiling milk in MW

Dear Anupama,
    A very sweet F b from you, thanks.
    Yes, investing in glass, rather MW ware is a necessary expenditure !
    Mine is 800 watts. I keep 1 litre of milk for 10 mts Hi & 10 mts Lo. It will not come up & overflow. But do not worry.
    I am so glad that Kadappa made you feel so nostalgic! In Madurai, I have never heard of Kadappah at all !
    Keep in touch, Anupama !